Inzimam might not be selected for TEST squad in future

Inzamam unlikely to retain Test spot](The News International: Latest News Breaking, World, Entertainment, Royal News)

By Khalid Hussain

KARACHI: National cricket officials are unlikely to allow former captain Inzamam-ul-Haq extend his Test career when Pakistan will host South Africa for a full series this fall.

A Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) official confided in ‘The News’ that it has almost been decided in principle not to retain Inzamam in Pakistan’s Test squad, a move that would be a signal for the veteran batsman that he should just let go. “The people forming the PCB think-tank are more or less convinced that Inzamam should not be a part of Pakistan’s Test squad,” the official said on the condition of anonymity.

Inzamam, 37, resigned as captain and announced his retirement from one-day cricket after leading Pakistan’s disastrous World Cup campaign in the Caribbean last month when they lost to the West Indies and minnows Ireland and were knocked out of the contest’s opening round.

The master batsman, however, kept alive his hope of extending his Test career by saying that he still feels good enough to play the longer version of the game.

Top Board officials, however, do not agree.

They believe Inzamam is now over-the-hill and also blame him for Pakistan’s humiliating World Cup performance. The Board and the members of the newly-appointed national selection committee believe that it is time Pakistan brought in new faces in a bid to rebuild the squad for the 2011 World Cup to be played in Pakistan, India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. Inzamam is easily one of the most accomplished Pakistani batsmen of all time having scored 8813 runs from 119 Test appearances at a handsome average of 50.07 with the help of 25 tons and 46 fifties. His one-day career spanned over 378 games in which he scored 11739 runs with ten centuries and 83 fifties.

But in recent times, Inzamam had cut a sorry figure on the field, having lost his golden form that had made him one of the most prolific batsmen in international cricket. A chronic back problem had added to the woes of a player who has always been a below average fielder and a bad runner between the wickets.

Off the field, Inzamam was blamed by his critics for his unimpressive leadership skills while several others believed he had become an autocratic captain. He did play a domineering role in team selection and is blamed for including under-performers like all-rounder Azhar Mahmood in Pakistan’s World Cup squad.

Sentimentalists, however, want a swansong for Inzamam during the home Test series against South Africa during Sep-Oct this year. They argue that Inzamam has achieved a lot during his illustrious career and deserves to bow out of Test cricket in style.

But the PCB official pointed out that at this juncture, Pakistan cricket needs to look beyond individuals and take decisions in the best interest of the team.

“We need to work for collective interest because personal milestones mean nothing when it comes to the future of our team,” he said.

The official said that Inzamam should have taken a bold decision like West Indian great Brian Lara, who announced his retirement from international cricket after failing to take his team into the World Cup semifinals.

“Lara was a great player and he could have still played for one more year. But he knew that it was time that the West Indies moved forward without him and decided to make way for a youngster. Inzamam should have done the same,” the official added.

I think this would be a decision that will be criticized. He is a valuable test player.

Re: Inzimam might not be selected for TEST squad in future

I was under the impression that he quit international cricket, didnt he?

I guess next they will drop Yousuf, Shoaib and than we will loose to Zim. It comes all cricle with Pakistan cricket.

Even if they are going to do it. They should to talk to Inzi and get him in confidence and may be give him a Farewell test ( Is possible in his hometown) and then move on.
He has earned that much.

yes i agree

it will be a little obvious tho if he retires considering he just announced that he would to play test cricket

If true, then they will do the same what they did to the senior players after WC03. I think they should let Inzi play for 1 year so they can find a suitable replacement.

agreed.

What is this huge fixation about building teams for a tournament that is 4 years away? Here, we are talking about our test team, whereas, as we all know WC 2011 is a one day cricket tournament. If Inzi plays a couple of series later this year, how does that hamper the ability of anyone to prepare a youngster for a world cup that is still 4 years away? Right after '03, PCB was yapping 24/7 about building the team for WC 2007. We all saw how plans of men and mice got executed then.

I agree we should groom youngsters to take over from aging seniors. But if a player still has a lot to offer to the national you don’t kick him out just because he may not last 4 more years. This is stupidity. Inzi may not be the best fielder (neither is Yousaf) and he may have been his own worst enemy in terms of on and off the field leadership, but as a test batsman, the guy is a masterpiece. I think he still has a lot to offer to our test team. And its not like we have a bunch of super-cricketers just waiting in the wings and Inzi is holding them back. Anyone who comes in will struggle. At least with Inzi you know what you are getting. And he is such a cool customer :k:

I personally think that Inzi (8813) would have retired from all cricket had he managed to surpass Javed Miandad's record aggregate of 8832 runs for Pakistan in tests in SA earlier this year. He had a great chance to do that after his 92* in the first innings of the second test (which we won) but then failed in his subsequent three innings and fell just short of Miandad's aggregate. So he has partly himself to blame for not having achieved it already.

He deserves to bow out in style and the PCB should atleast let him play in the home series against SA in Sept. 07

And I agree with Faisal that you don't kick a senior player out just because he may not last until the next world cup. This fixation with world cups must go. They are two different games altogether

Hence I also did not agree with Lara's (11,953 runs) decision to quit test cricket (whether he quit himself because the WICB had decided to remove him from captaincy or was pushed out) esp. when he performed so well in the last test series in Pakistan scoring two brilliant hundreds.

Why do we prepare youngsters by playing them Internationl Cricket? They should come prepared and ready to take over.

Faisel,

Give it up already, this fixation with Inzi is not healthy for Pak cricket or this forum.

Brian Lara has exited gracefully and will now coach SCHOOL going youngsters, no bright lights, no hanging around even though West Indies needs him desperately. Great players come with high standards of professionalism, love of the game, self-restraint, pride and lead by example even in times of adversity or when they are leaving the stage.

Inzi may have a few more years of cricket, but its time to go now, let the light shine on someone else.

I think its a logical move. Inzamam is 37, a former captain and his best playing days are behind him. He should have retired from both forms of the game as Lara did but no...Inzy still wants to play test cricket.

I dont see why he should be given a farewell game - did Imran get one, Or Saeed, Or the W's? Inzamam should read the writing on the wall, and announce his retirement gracefully.

The next time the Pakistan team plays in Multan - they can hold a benefit game for him and honor him in front of his home fans. Beyond that, its time to look ahead and not back.

The only reason why Inzi (8813 test runs) did not announce his retirement from test cricket as well is because he desperately wants to score those 20 runs that will take him past Miandad's 8832. Unfortunately that's how most sub-continental players (except Imran Khan) think.

After scoring that 92* in the first innings of the second test, Miandad's record was well within his reach but he failed miserably in his subsequent three innings in SA. He must now be saying to himself ' kaash mein SA mein hee Miandad se aage nikkal jaata toh iss kee ab nobat hee na aati"

Malik (i.e. power ego) ne aate hee apni man maani aur dada giri shuroo kar dee kya? :smokin2: I would be glad to be proved wrong in the coming months. Wait for Inzi to break his silence if that’s indeed the case and let the latest twist in this ongoing drama serial i.e. PCB fully unfold in the next few months leading upto the home test series against SA in Sept. 2007

^ Why do you say that?

Inzy is a legend but I think its best for the future of Pakistan team that Inzy will retire form test cricket as well...

It will be a shame if they won't allow him to play test cricket anymore. Firstly he still has to offer alot to Pakistan cricket for atleast one more season as a batsman and secondly he should be allowed to retire from test cricket gracefully.

For once I want to see a Pakistani great leaving the field of cricket like Steve Waugh, Shane Warne or Mcgrath and for once I want the stupid PCB dopeheads to realize that how important it is to tell these greats about their worth and value. They hold the responsibility of telling public that greats like Miandad, Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis, Inzi worth more than they realize. So far they have done a pathetic job, but hopefully they'll do a good job this time and after few years fans don't have to search in Cricinfo' Stats guru to find out that Inzi without even realizing played his last Test in South Africa in January 2007.

The fewer seniors and the fewer ex-captains/vice-captains in the team the better for him....apni dhons jamane mein aasani hogi me thinks

but wait till they get hammered in Abu Dhabi esp. if SLA win the final tomorrow. As much as I would like PAK to do well, I would be very surprised if they manage to win even one of those three games. Then they will surely realise Inzi's value to the team.

Let's face it SLA's present one-day side is a lot better than us in every department. No Younis and no Inzi in one-day team means more pathetic batting displays atleast initially

Dhons jamane wali baat nahin hai yaar - if the selectors dont look to the future now - after all thats happened - then when will they? As it is...we've gone through 2 successive under-19 world cup wins without any of those young players being drafted into the national team. Half of the young talented players in Pakistan havent been able to get a look into the national team, thanks to these seniors who refuse to let their places go to anyone else. After the dismal performances against South Africa and now in the World Cup...it is long over due to bring in young players...fresh legs. Those cricketers who have won under 19 world cups and have been scoring runs left right and centre for the last few seasons deserve a chance to play for Pakistan.

Inzamam has had his day - if he cant have the grace to retire without being kicked out...then tough luck for him.