Inzamam angry at Pak attitude

Re: Inzamam angry at Pak attitude

My SENTIMENTS EXACTLY!

Even though I'm obviously against folks who go out on the streets and start protesting the loss by burning effigies and what not, Pakistani team absolutely does deserve all the civil criticism that it has been receiving from the media and the public. Inzi is acting as if the nation's tremendous passion for the game of cricket does nothing but hurt their chances to win matches. Well, if that is the case, than why does he enjoy all the praises and duas that he receives when he actually performs well? Why doesn't he criticize the media and the public then? You can't have it both ways. If you win, you are going to be treated like gods. If you lose pathetically, you are going to be grilled endlessly. Sounds absolutely fair to me.

these r the days you feel ashamed of being a pakistani .... i saw inzi in that news conference... the guy was about to cry when he said something like "after losing, kia mein pakistani nahi raha" --- if this is the way we treat our heroes, may god help us. He was also right when he said that media was competing against each other to see who can put the most dirt on the team. We always question why Pakistan team is always defensive .... lemme ask you this... who in the right mindset would dare try new things when there is so much pressure of losing. I don't think the so called 'fans' know the very definition of being one....Your team is not always going to WIN!!!! Pakistan fought the ireland match as hard as they could, its just that it was our hard luck to get the not only the 'greenest' pitch of the tournament , bu the 'greenest' pitch in the history of that ground. Inzi won us countless games and gave us so much joy , yet we treat him like dirt. Some thankless morons we are.

Inzi has just led Pakistan to our most shameful performance in a world cup. So he should n't be so naive as to have expected to walk scot-free after such an embarrassing humiliation. He should have expected some criticism (and by that I don't mean shameful gestures like burning effigies, stepping on players' posters, displaying jootiyon keh haar etc.) However I agree that constant criticism by the media or bickering by ex-players helps noone. Inzi's main crime was that he was a timid leader. He never led from the front choosing instead to come down the order rather than getting stuck into the opponents like Ponting, Fleming and Smith. His team selections during the WC also left a lot to be desired. He failed to inspire the team with his body language or his batting

Just imagine what he would he have done if somebody had called him a 'Potato' during the press conference :D

anyone have a video of the press conference?

I am up for all crictisim and soul searching. But what I dont want to see are these stupid match-fixing allegations. And this is what really blew Inzi's head.

Ehsan Bhai,

Naach na janay, aangan tera? When these guys do well and are showered with millions, do they share their time in the sun with ex-cricketers? Answer is an emphatic NO, then they sud take this trashing on their own.

Lynching party? Ehsan Bhai, had there been a lynching party of sorts wud Inxiwan been able to hold a press conference, blame the media and ex-cricketers and get away with it? Inxiwan has never been able to take criticism in a civilized manner, thus the lashing out.

Ehsan Bhai, Naheen naheen, hum aapko kabhee naheen faramosh karsakthe...

on a serious note, all he had to do was just sit home and let time be the best medicine, but nooooooo, he had to come out show the world what hubris looks like.

it's just a sport. stupid fans need to understand that. i heard inzi say that it had effects on the families of the players, of course it would when these stupid fans do such acts. it's just a sport.

Iam sure u r talking about yourself, cause only a stupid cricket fan wud post such a stupid post.

Some say that it is just a game. I know from personal experience that people that take their games seriously and play at high level, for them the winning is everything! They train to win....they play to win...they hate defeat...they live and breathe the game. If that passion is not there... then you will never be above mediocre.

Agreed. Personally I think it was our lack of mental strength and our perennial inability to bat well under pressure that knocked us out of the tournament. I would hate to think that we lost any of our matches because of match-fixing but then I cannot be 100% sure. So what I would like to see is a thorough investigation into the reasons behind our WC debacle covering ALL angles incl. match-rigging (the suspicion is on Pak-WI match only) esp. so as both Inzi and Mushtaq Ahmed have been implicated in match fixing (and fined Rs 1 lac and Rs 3 lac respectively) in the past. Just because most of them are religious and all does n’t mean they could not have been involved in something like this AGAIN. bare bare khaleefah hain iss team main.

After hearing of the sad news of Woolmer’s death, my gut feeling was that he died from myocardial infarction/ heart attack (obese+diabetic+stress) following our embarrasing WC exit (keh bechaara sharam se hee mar gaya) only to be proved wrong two days later and it’s now widely believed (though nothing has been proven yet) that he may have been murdered by match-fixing mafia. I hate to say this but Sarfraz (who had been crying murder even before the autopsy result was known) was proved right (or so it seems) here.

When you say "fail"...you probably mean Brazil did not go all the way to win the finals of the Soccer World Cup. This is not the same as getting ousted from the World Cup after losing to minnow teams in the preliminary round (like India/Pak did in Cricket WC). And note that Soccer World Cup is far more competitive than Cricket WC.

I respect Inzi for his insurmountable service and all that he’s done for Cricket and also denounce those who’re coming up with unfounded accusations of match-fixing etc. but his talk about collapsing and under pressure is rather childish. He’s being rather self-indulgent by asking cricket fans to remain tacit at failures of horrendous proportions. The truth is that the team has let down the fans not by losing… but losing despicably. The nation’s pride has been hurt… and rightly so. Had we seen the team lose like SL did against SA, I’m sure all of us would be disappointed but at least contented that they tried.

It’s when you don’t give us any reason to believe that you tried that we’re going to scorn, question and criticize you. It’s a competitive sport for God sake – with a spirited fan following… no one who plays at this level and in a skipper’s capacity should be naïve to believe otherwise!

Inzi has been dutiful in taking the blame for the loss on behalf of the team, but I think it’s the entire team and management who should have shown a little more respect for the sentiments of the fans.

if you work for the govt sector... any country. you are set for life with that schedule. U may actually be askd by your colleagues to take it easy because your productivity is too high and making them look bad. :)

but the type of pressure where you know your house would be burnt if you dont do well is unwarranted, yes mental toughness is needed, but not concern or fear of danger to self, family or property.

I agree. No one should ever have to fear for his own and his family's safety.

But, that still does not excuse the fact that Pakistani failed miserably and deserve all the grilling (civil grilling that is) that they can get.

Noone's accusing Inzi or the Pakistan team of match-fixing here but because of their tainted history (both Inzi and Mushtaq fined by PCB in the past), it's only right that all aspects of our cricket (cricketing and other issues) are thoroughly investigated by the PCB and the ministry of sports while examining the reasons for our WC debacle

I know our pride is hurt, but think rationally. How many veterans we had in this tournament? Look at the injury list of past 5 months and our openers who have been the reason of our failure. The anger is unfair and holds no merit. Pakistani team has been performing mediocrity since our home ODI series against India. If you look in this manner, it comes at no surprise that we performed so poorly in the World Cup. There was zero planning by PCB and in last 4 years it is the big three who have been the reason of our victories. So, what happens when they fail to score in two consecutive games...?

Good post.