Pakistan captain Izamam ul Haq lambasted the media in a tearful adios to one-day cricket in a press conference held at the Gadaffi Stadium in Lahore on Saturday. Inzamam questioned the support he got from the media and Pakistani fans. He also added that Woolmer contributed a lot to the Pak team.
An angry Pakistan skipper said that Pakistan players are scared of losing because of the criticism that comes their way if they perform badly. Sounding caution to the media and fans he added that such behaviour would prevent Pakistan from winning any major tournament in the future.
Observing that Pakistan team needed more support than criticism at this critical juncture Inzamam said, “This is the worst part of Pakistan, people start threatening us after we loose a match and we feel insecure.” Inzamam also hit-back at the media and asked, “Who supported the Pakistan team? If we loose a match or two it doesn’t mean that we aren’t Pakistanis.”
Speaking on the defeat against minnows Ireland he said, “The wicket was tough to bat on because of which there was hardly a difference between two teams.” He added that all the wickets in the Caribbean for this World Cup are poor for batting. He said, “Toss was a decisive factor, team winning the toss was sure to win and the same happened when we lost the toss to Ireland.”
He also went on to say that the media has tarnished the image of the Pakistan team. He said, “When we win matches everything seems to go right and no one objects whereas as soon as we loose a match people come up with hundred things.”
He also cleared all speculations regarding the Pakistan team’s religious activities. He said, “Team did nothing more that praying together. Pakistan team didn’t indulge in any activity that would affect its cricket.”
He came down heavily on critics who questioned the appointment of Mustaq Ahmed as an assistant coach for the World Cup. He said, “Mushtaq was the assistant coach even during the England tour but no one questioned us that time.”
Pakistan could and should have won the world cup. Nobody wants to pay money to see their team lose. When sides lose it is natural to drop players, managers and try to reinvigorate the team. Inzi is asking for the impossible!
The point Inzi is making is that one loss and he has been trashed while his services over the years to Pakistani cricket are being ignored. he has a point. He has served Pakistani cricket very well since 1992 and the amount of time he saved Pakistan and won matches for them far out number the time he has failed.
WC loss is not his failure only, a lot of factors were to be blamed, the biggest being the two nutters who took drugs. Does anyone here really think that with those two in the team and the seaming track in WI that Ireland would have made 123 runs. Keep things in perspective. He did what he could in the circumstances. I hate it when people trash years and years of ones services and brilliance just to show their two cents worth of anger. Yes, I am hurt as well from our exit form the WC and wanted Inzi to retire but lets give him his due as well.
He was very right in saying that unless we change our attitude and some of our ex players stop criticising the team all the time we will not win anything because the players are so scared of the consequences of losing. So time for ex players maybe to offer help and shut their traps don't care whether it is Sarfraz or Imran.
Poor, very poor. Instead of being mature and accepting responsibility for this diseaster, Inxiwan has chosen to blame media and the general public. Why did he not refuse to accept all accolades by media and public? Mr Inxiwan, is a spoilt brat, it was his poor form and lack of leadership on the field has led to this debacle, there is no debate in my mind.
I have said this b4, Inzimam was setup ahead of the WC07. Had he done well, all Pcb and others wud have stood by him, and was he to screwup then all decsions made were his, thus the responsibility was his. Inxiwan becose of his narrow tunnel vision of life and hubris was unable to or chose to ignore that aspect and rode the great white horse of fame going into the Worldcup. Now that the going is tough he is looking for others to blame. Well, Mr Inxiwan, there is no point on crying wolf, his job was to perform in the WC which he failed this the criticism.
As for his excuse on Mushtaq being appointed for the England tour, well even then ppl challenged that decision but Mr Inxiwan was riding his high horse and chose to ignore those calls. Now everyone is talking baout it and Inxiwan has no Darrell Hair or other excuse to hide behind. On the contrary, he is being blamed squarely for this debacle.
The point Inzi is making is that one loss and he has been trashed while his services over the years to Pakistani cricket are being ignored. he has a point. He has served Pakistani cricket very well since 1992 and the amount of time he saved Pakistan and won matches for them far out number the time he has failed.
WC loss is not his failure only, a lot of factors were to be blamed, the biggest being the two nutters who took drugs. Does anyone here really think that with those two in the team and the seaming track in WI that Ireland would have made 123 runs. Keep things in perspective. He did what he could in the circumstances. I hate it when people trash years and years of ones services and brilliance just to show their two cents worth of anger. Yes, I am hurt as well from our exit form the WC and wanted Inzi to retire but lets give him his due as well.
He was very right in saying that unless we change our attitude and some of our ex players stop criticising the team all the time we will not win anything because the players are so scared of the consequences of losing. So time for ex players maybe to offer help and shut their traps don't care whether it is Sarfraz or Imran.
Kiun Ehsan Bhai, such karwa hotha hai tho accha naheen lagtha?
If players are such scare babies then they sud not play professional cricket, they sud choose a much more comfortable lifestyle away from the media lights and fame that comes from being part of the national side. When critics condemn bad performances, they are also instrumental in making heroes when some player delivers results. Has Inxiwan forgotten his own personal gains? It was Imran Khan who always supported him, its only recently that Imran has criticised Inxiwan and for good reasons as we all know.
By the way, no one has forgotten Inzimam contribution to cricket, right now we are discussing the worldcup debacle, how can we not do that without taking the captain to task?
I agree we should take him to task but not prepare a lynching party for him and hang him.
Plus when players know that every time they lose they are going to be criticised by these armchair critics to death than they have to take part of the blame for putting the team under pressure instead of supporting them. This blame culture has to stop together with this notion that Pakistan cannot lose a match unless it is fixed.
Our Pakistani people needs to grow up......seriously.....how long its gonna take us to hit maturity........ its a freaking game.....a sport.....we people are overly dramatic in every thing......... some one made a point here that "public doesnt pay to watch its team loose"... mere bachey ......now who is thinking like a mature person........is that a mature attitude.....
*Come on people get over with it. its not the end of the world *
Yea yea Inzi like we are not watching games of Australia, South Africa and other teams who are piling up 300+.
Speaking on the defeat against minnows Ireland he said, “The wicket was tough to bat on because of which there was hardly a difference between two teams.” He added that all the wickets in the Caribbean for this World Cup are poor for batting. He said, “Toss was a decisive factor, team winning the toss was sure to win and the same happened when we lost the toss to Ireland.”
”
Pakistan captain Izamam ul Haq lambasted the He added that all the wickets in the Caribbean for this World Cup are poor for batting. He said, “Toss was a decisive factor, team winning the toss was sure to win and the same happened when we lost the toss to Ireland.”
That must be why Pakistan was unable to chase a very gettable target against a mediocre WI attack?
Inzi has a very valid point about the pressure emanating from "fear of failure".
On a related note , Sangkarra made an interesting comment in his column on Cricinfo. He says Indians and Pakistanis should learn from the Sri Lankans. He says, in SL - people do love Cricket but understand that at the end of the day it is just a sport. He says that may be it is the hardships from decades of Civil War on the Island that has given them this perspective.
Having said that, I also agree with Counterpoint's comment above. At this level, players are expected to be mentally tough and be able to deal with any pressure. I mean, for example , you have the Brazilian soccer team who are followed by just as much passion as Indians/Pakistanis follow cricket. But I haven't seen the Brazilians succumbing under pressure.
Well the guy acknowledged his failure, took responsibility , apologised to the nation and resigned. Can anyone tell me what else can he do short of committing suicide. Leave him alone. We are such a ehsan faramosh nation.
Inzi has gone off the rocker. Fear of Failure? What if tomorrow I go to my work at 11am instead of 8, just sit idle, do a little chit-chat, surf the internet, and leave at 3pm to go play golf. Projects and deadlines be damned... no worries, no fear. How long do you think my job will last?
Pressure to perform? Well, if a player can't handle the pressue he shouldn't be playing international cricket.. and start playing Ludo instead. Inzi would make a good captain of the Pakistan National Ludo team.
What do you think Inzy did for last 15 years in International Cricket? Name any other player in last decade who has played more pressure inngs than Inzamam?
^ he wasn't talking about pressure to perform. Read what he is saying. he is talking about pressure of what will happen if the players fail to perform and the crowd and ex players baying for their blood. That instills fear. You only got to read GS and some of the comments in this forum to understand what he is saying. I was listening to Ejaz Ahmed on ARY today and he said the same thing that after the 1996 defeat against India in the world cup he escaped to another town and did not come out of his house for 20 days. Do we need to put our players under such pressure, of course it will affect their performance. This is like your boss telling you that you will be sacked if you don't complete your project on time. The pressure will drive you nuts and if that is the case every time you will either have a nervous breakdown or leave the job.
What do you think Inzy did for last 15 years in International Cricket? Name any other player in last decade who has played more pressure inngs than Inzamam?
Noone's questioning Inzi's record. He is the one who's blamed "fear of failure" and "pressure" for the players' inability to perform.