Introductions

Re: Introductions

^^

Victoria Uni and Monash Uni - my schools too

Wow!! Info overload...How does one dig up these old grave threads and put em back...amaziing...a window to the past!!

geeez.. it has been a while since i have been on here…

as for another update… I am still with the Environment Agency… but now as a technical specialist for flood risk management… wooohooo

looks like i’m becoming a lifer in the EA!!.. i used to laugh at all the old timers.. and here I am .. since 98..

what is flood risk management exactly? And have you ever been sent to Bangladesh or to any other state on assignment that face the wrath of seasonal and annual floods from time to time.

dang this is old.

after my stint at Keybank, I briefly was in the world of dotcom, paper multi millionaire..as if anyone else in dotcom world wasn't
went into big 5 consulting for a few years. went back into industry with a multinational for about 4 years in the area of corporate strategy, launched a global product. Left that company in 2005 and joined a multinational powerhouse of marketing services in the area of business planning.

das me.

Wow! This was ages ago! :eek: So much has changed in the meantime.

I’ll continue the bullets after my promotion from Staff Consultant to Senior Consultant in September 2002:

• December 2004: Made a company-internal move and became a License Management Consultant for Oracle Austria covering 2 countries: Austria and Switzerland
  • June 2006: Moved from Austria to the UAE to join Oracle Systems Ltd. in Dubai as a Senior License Management Consultant, ie got promoted as part of the move. In this role I am covering a total of 10 countries: Bahrain, Egypt, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, UAE and Yemen
    *]Today: Adding the time at Oracle Austria and at Oracle Systems in Dubai I have been with ORACLE for almost 9 years now. :eek:

Fraudz: I am planning on doing an MBA what school would u recommend would be best. I live in California. I was thinking abt Michigan Ross School of Business. Also do u know of any place my husband can get a job. He just came from PK and has a degree in Accounting. He is currently studing for the CFA. His first exam is in June. And I want to help him find a job...but he is kind of scared to get a job cuz he isn't confident in his english speaking. Any recommendations for him?

pyaari

as far as your school of choice, do make sure you move to a place which has employment opportunity for your husband as well.

I am not very knowledgeable in the accounting area. but if english is an issue, maybe he should take some courses to help him build his confidence level up.

Faisal wmay be able to guide u better since he has an accounting background.

do you want him to get a job before or after his CFA? btw I dont check this thread often and if the discussion is better suited privately do PM me, and I can give u my email address.

I'm busy starting and dropping out of grad schools in London. This yr I'll stick with it.

I also play lots of club cricket.

Depends on what kind of accounting experience, if any, he has. Since you mentioned he is studying for CFA, so I am assuming he does not have public accounting background. Job market for experienced accountants is fantastic pretty much all over the United States, but if he has no prior experience it may be a bit of a challenge.

There are, I believe, courses offered to improve english accent. Again, I am assuming it just the accent that is the problem, and not that he needs to learn the entire language.

^ Thanks for all ur help first of all. I really appreciate it. He does not have any work experience at all. So it is a bit of a challenge for me to help him find a job. I was wondering if there is anything u can suggest as to where he can start so that by the time he is done with CFA he can get a decent job.
He can read and write English really good but he just feels a little shy talking in English. He can also speak and understand it, but not fluently like me. Like I can talk to him in english and sometimes when I talk fast he can't understand. He is working towards fixing his English, inshallah he will get there. Do u have any suggestions as to where to start???

Even though I am in the Accounting profession for many many years, this whole CFA thing is frankly a big mystery for me. Muniya also talked about this in another thread and I couldn't reply there either. I always think of CFA as one of those tertiary qualifications that you tag on in addition to a good core qualification, as this helps increase the number of accronyms following your name, and make people think you are more aalim faazil than you really are. May be I am wrong and CFA really preps you up for a great new career. I just don't know.

If your husband is an accountant by education with zero work experience, my advice will be to go into the proper CPA career track. Get his education quals evaluated to see how many course hours he needs to sit for his CPA exams. More than likely he will need to join a college (Devry etc) to make up for course hours deficiency. Getting into some kind of college life, limited as it may be, will expose him to other resources in terms of career counselling and how to go about hunting for jobs more effectively.

While he is getting ready for his CPA, he can brush up on his english language skills (Google some local english language learning and accent training centers). That way, by the time he ready with his CPA, he will be a good candidate in the job market with less baggage than he is likely carrying right now.

^ I am not sure if I mentioned it but he is taking english classes at an adult school. He got into that the second week he came....and mashallah he is more confident than he was before. he is planning on taking the CFA part 1 exam in June and the CPA exam in September. I was just asking if there are any jobs that u might be able to suggest that he can do until his exams r over in June...something with an opportunity to advance. or something that will help him get a good job in the future. I wanted to stay away from local jobs that high school students do....I wanted something more, is there anything u think he can do?

wow dat seemz like agez ago, nice way 2 keep track of life :slight_smile:
khair guzisshtaa say pewistaa
I got my M.B.A in finance from IBA even if IBA regrets it :shoaby: ,
After working for the bank for 4 yrs got interested in Islamic Banking and joined Meezan Bank,
got PMP certified,
got MCP.NET certified,
then after working for 1 yr realized that it’s not islamic so joined Fergusons,
got CISA certification,
moved 2 U.S on H1 in 2006,
worked with Chase Bank as a Project Manager for 3 months,
joined a multinational in manhattan as an IS Auditor,
cleared ITIL Foundation
cleared CIA certification
moved towards Internal Auditing in the same firm

persuing for CBA currently, will go for CFA afterwards insha Allah
persuing for ITSM on other side

My only regret was not going for the M.S I dreamed, planned, got admission, and won an scholarship for :frowning: but khair hay kabhi na kabhi tau i’ll do it insha Allah

Nice to know that you worked for Oracle for 9 year. I have been with Oracle for 6 years now. I started as an application engineer and now I am Sr. Manager working on Fusion Apps at HQ. Let me know if you tavel to HQ at Redoowd Shores, California.

Education: Bachelor in Engineering(Mechanical) & MBA
Prior Work Experience:

• 4 Years as Software Engineer for Tata Group in India.
    *]1.5 years as System Consultant for CitiGroup at Bombay and NYC.

moved from business planning back into product innovation and global strategy area on May 1. Recently promoted, as of 2 weeks ago to manage global product launches, product portfolio, thought leadership etc.

some new areas for me especially the thought leadership mgmt part, but exciting regardless.

All you high flyers.

Insha-Allah I am scheduled to start my MA this October 1st, and then I dont know.

Is there any scope for jobs in the US or Canada with an undergrad in History (focus US) and a MA in Intl Relations (focus probably deterence theory).

Please advise. :)

Graduated from university here in Toronto with a degree in Accounting and now going to be starting work at a Big 4 accounting firm in September and hopefully completing my CA designation.Pretty excited.

Duniya kitni choti hai. :)

I haven't been to HQ yet, but you never know, I might end up visiting some day. Btw, if you ever visit the Dubai office or just happen to be in Dubai on the way to India, let me know.