Interview series: Unplugged with ........ ALI_SYED

Ladies & Gentleman, as you know we’d been having a series of unplugged chat with our seniors. I think all of PA posters are aware of Ali bhai (Ali_Syed). He’s a vetern, a very respectable poster and a popular contributor. He’d been a successful mod for both both PA and WA forums.

Please feel free to ask any casual question which he may address at his disposal.

Following are some of the questions that he answered to begin with:

1. What is your full name?

ALI_SYED: My nick gives away my name.

1. Where were you born and raised?

ALI_SYED:I was born in Libya and raised in Pakistan.

1. Have you visited anywhere other than Pakistan? Which place impressed you most?

ALI_SYED:Yes I have been to Australia. I think Pakistan is blessed with natural beauty, but it pains me when ever I go up North. Everything has been run down, the filth etc. I think we need a lot of work to do in maintaining our environment and historical sites.

1. Pakistan has been going through so many problems, which problem is the biggest of all?

ALI_SYED:Terrorism is a big problem, but for the people the main issue is economy (inflation) and shortage of basic necessities (Electricity, Gas, Petrol, Clean drinking water, pollution, Health and Education etc).

1. Which form of gov t is most benefecial and suited for Pakistan? Presidential form, PM form, Army rule, techno govt etc?

ALI_SYED:I think democracy is well suited. The election process needs to be made more transparent though.

1. Have you voted in Pakistani elections before? Are you satisifed with the choice you made?

ALI_SYED:Yes I have voted in the past three elections. In 2008, I voted for PMLN and regretted in 2010. I voted PTI in the previous elections, primarily as I am fed up with the other two. Although PTI is ruling KPK at the moment but I am not sure if we can judge IK for their performance or not.

1. Which politician have you liked most in your life?

ALI_SYED:For most of my life I have liked Nawaz Sharif. :hoonh:

1. Which political party you think has the most potential to fix country’s problems?

ALI_SYED:I am not sure, but definitely not those who have brought the country to where it is at the moment.

1. Do you believe IK’s dharnas/jalsas are going in the right direction?

ALI_SYED:I do NOT agree with the way how he started the long march and all extra constitutional things he has been talking about including sending remittances through illegal means, civil dis obedience, threats to Nawaz and Zardari etc. But on the other hand it seems as if he has been successful to some extent to take his message across.

1. Do you think NS’s govt will be removed in near future?

ALI_SYED:I am not sure, but if it is removed it would be due to Nawaz Sharif himself.

1. Are you in favor of more provinces?

ALI_SYED:Yes, i am in favour of more provinces but I do acknowledge that its a tricky subject.

1. If you become the head of state, what will be your first order of the day?

ALI_SYED:Have to think about this one.

1. How do you think Pakistan should keep its relations with India?

ALI_SYED:I think the relations should be friendly and on equal footing (not as subservient state).

1. What should we do to lessen religous extremism in country?

ALI_SYED:I think all of us can play our part in shunning the extremist activities and extremists. the government needs to monitor the maddrassahs/hate literature closely.

1. Do you think Pakistan will come out of its current problems one day, Inshallah, and how long do you think it’ll take to reach that stage?

ALI_SYED:Yes it will come out, but not sure when..

Re: Interview series: Unplugged with ........ ALI_SYED

You voted for PMLN? OMG :D

My question is 1) why are you supporting PTI now 2) what do you think are major flows in PTI's strategy?

Oh and...

Do you think election were badly rigged to the point PTI lost its mandate? In other words, if elections were not rigged would we have PM IK today instead of PM NS?

1) when it comes to involving in a politically charged thread, regardless of the political affiliation, which gs member do you think has the most value added arguments?

2) Who is the hottest, Ayla Malik, Hina Rabbani Khar, Sharmila Farooqi, or Bilawal Zardari?

3) One right wing leader of Pakistan that makes the most vsense to you?

4) your take on the blasphemy law?

Re: Interview series: Unplugged with … ALI_SYED

yes estranged PMLN voter. in fact I voted for them twice in 2002 and 2008. :) supported pti in the previous elections as frankly no other option available, we have seen the other two parties multiple times during the past 40 years. the country has only regressed during this period.

the major flaws I think revolve around extra constitutional steps that they have taken post long march.

i think that the elections were rigged to the extent of providing PMLN with simple majority and PPP the second slot. in free and fair elections I think PMLN would still have won the elections with pti a close second. the results have been managed in a way to prevent pti from even becoming the opposition leader.

1. the question itself is controversial :hoonh: I think I have learnt a lot from people here including ehsan bhai, muqawwee and even AP (at times)

2. Ayla Malik, Sharmila, HRK (if she remains quiet) and BZ :wink: in this order

3. in the past JI used to make sense to me, not now. frankly if by right wing leaders you mean religious political parties none of them make sense now.

4. this topic is very controversial. if the government does is under pressure to revoke it, at least they should ensure that justice is done. there should be punishment for false allegations too.

@Captain1 @Sachaydino @Sa1eem @mahool @muqawwee123 @mahool and others.. Any question for our guest??

Give me time. I will read thread and then ask question.

Loved your answers.

Do you think PTI will survive after Imran? Do you think without him the party might die the way PPP is right now?

To be very frank Pti is Imran khan, after him the party will die down. I like Asad Umar as we'll other than ik

1. How do you see usage of 'oye' language by IK? Does that make him more popular?

2. Who do you think is the neutral anchor?

3. Your favorite political talk show and anchor? The anchor you dislike most and reason for that?

4. What are your views about Balochistan issue? Why there is no / little coverage of that on national media?

5. Are you for teaching Punjabi at school level? or you consider it as an idea against Islam and Pakistan?

6. Who do you consider your hero from local lands?

7. Any steps that you think should be taken to tackle the sectarian hatred? government as well as masses level?

8. Do you read books? What is your favorite genre and who is your favorite writer?

9. Do you like listening to music? Your favorite DJ other than DJ Butt?

10. You said you followed Nawaz Sharif for a long time. I remember you mentioned in a thread that your family also had a soft corner for Zia and his death news was shocking for many family members. What were the reasons for following them and their ideologies and why change of heart afterwards?

11. Should religious parties have a role in politics? If yes, to what level? If not why not?

12. Your favorite place in Lahore (other than Metro Bus)?

Oh yea, sorry, I missed the interview… I hope, since my question is coming at last … ‘dair-ayed-durust-ayed’. :slight_smile:

I would surely like to ask brother Ali_Syed relative to the answers he gave.

Questions for Brother ALi_Syed:

You are right hat basic issue of people are necessities of life. But don’t you think that main issue is corruption and religious activism that is causing intolerance, terrorism, nepotism, biases and exploitation in society, hindering any chance of development and progress that can eliminate deprivations and shortages you mentioned?

I also believe that democracy is best form of government. Anyhow, I also believe that democracy is worst form of government in a society that is tribal and feudal, full of bias, nepotism based, having widespread religious and sectarian intolerances, discrimination on basis of provincialism and ethnicity is rife, and the society is medieval type feudal/tribal where people are mostly illiterate and dependent on big feudal lords or tribal leaders.

In my opinion, for such society, democracy can harm the country more than benefit the country. For such society, some sort of dictatorial rule is better, hopefully rule of a benevolent dictator, who can make the society grow out of the situation, so that society in time adopts democracy.

What do you think?

It is your choice, but I think even though PPP and PMLN, none of the two deserve to rule Pakistan, both have good and bad in them.

PPP: Corrupt to core, but is more tolerant than PMLN, less bias, less prone to nepotism at lower level (nepotism at high level is there), more caring for people (if corruption allows that), and least worried about development/progress of country.

PMLN: Corrupt to core, less tolerant, cruel, do not hesitate to lie, they least care for people, though they do think about development but here also their development is biased due to their biased attitude showing extreme nepotism. [Present government of Thug whenever chose a person for higher post, they make sure the person is from Lahore and surrounding areas, and today, almost all whom government of thugs appointed at high places, they are from Lahore and surrounding areas, as if Pakistan is just Lahore … and this attitude is causing more division and feeling of alienation in masses from other areas].

This is my opinion about PPP and PMLN. I think PPP is better option for average Pakistani and also for unity of the country than PMLN. Do you think, what I wrote is true about these two equally corrupt parties?

I hope you are not from Lahore or have close ties with NS? :slight_smile:

If not, than particularly what is there that make you like NS?

[Other than NS portray himself as religious, what I doubt if he is, but for some, that portrayal is good enough]

At national level, we have 3 political parties, PPP, PMLN, and PTI. Even though I believe you are right, but looking at options, I think if PTI would forms government, they would at least try to fix things better than PPP and PMLN.

What do you think?

If you do not agree with the way PTI adopted (after exhausting all venue to solve their grievances), than what better option they could have taken … especially when facing government of PMLN that has arrogances and lies as their trade mark (so their words cannot be easily trusted), and has arrogant person leading them who lies as habit, and once in power (by whatever means), thinks that he has no obligation to answer anyone, however justified other maybe?

BHai jaan aap bare farigh aadmi hain...arrr...i meant, bohot farigh hain aaj kel lagta hai.

I m not sure if this has been asked back up there or not, but what exactly made u change ur status and UN-MOD urself all of a sudden. If its pvt then please dont mind it.

Pakistan affairs is a very difficult forum to moderate. I was tired after moderating the forum for over two years. Most members do not recognise the efforts the mods here put in to make the forum the place it is.

No music, no books, no political shows… kon log ho tussi :snooty:

i think religious activism can be linked partly to our misplaced foreign and interior policies. Secondly economic issues and bad governance also provides opportunities to some elements to thrive.

I also believe that democracy is best form of government. Anyhow, I also believe that democracy is worst form of government in a society that is tribal and feudal, full of bias, nepotism based, having widespread religious and sectarian intolerances, discrimination on basis of provincialism and ethnicity is rife, and the society is medieval type feudal/tribal where people are mostly illiterate and dependent on big feudal lords or tribal leaders.

In my opinion, for such society, democracy can harm the country more than benefit the country. For such society, some sort of dictatorial rule is better, hopefully rule of a benevolent dictator, who can make the society grow out of the situation, so that society in time adopts democracy.

What do you think?

I think democracy is needed to keep a multi ethnic/sect people together. It should be tailored according to our society as western democracy in its totality might not be applicable to our situation.

It is your choice, but I think even though PPP and PMLN, none of the two deserve to rule Pakistan, both have good and bad in them.

Agreed. I was talking in reference to how the country has gone downwards during the past three decades when these parties have ruled.

PPP: Corrupt to core, but is more tolerant than PMLN, less bias, less prone to nepotism at lower level (nepotism at high level is there), more caring for people (if corruption allows that), and least worried about development/progress of country.

PMLN: Corrupt to core, less tolerant, cruel, do not hesitate to lie, they least care for people, though they do think about development but here also their development is biased due to their biased attitude showing extreme nepotism. [Present government of Thug whenever chose a person for higher post, they make sure the person is from Lahore and surrounding areas, and today, almost all whom government of thugs appointed at high places, they are from Lahore and surrounding areas, as if Pakistan is just Lahore … and this attitude is causing more division and feeling of alienation in masses from other areas].

This is my opinion about PPP and PMLN. I think PPP is better option for average Pakistani and also for unity of the country than PMLN. Do you think, what I wrote is true about these two equally corrupt parties?

I agree that PPP is more tolerant but the past five years have shown that they are least bothered to perform. That's another thing that killing and dumping of Baloch activists increased during the previous five years, not to forget Bhuttos operations in Baluchistan.

I hope you are not from Lahore or have close ties with NS? :)

I am from Lahore, but do not have ties with him. I hope all people who vote for mqm also don't have ties with AH. :)

If not, than particularly what is there that make you like NS?

i have answered this in my reply to muqawwee.

At national level, we have 3 political parties, PPP, PMLN, and PTI. Even though I believe you are right, but looking at options, I think if PTI would forms government, they would at least try to fix things better than PPP and PMLN.

What do you think?

I am not sure, the only thing is that Pti has not been tested while the others have been. There would be lots of expectations with Pti to perform due to the hype surrounding the party which could be good or bad only time will tell.

If you do not agree with the way PTI adopted (after exhausting all venue to solve their grievances), than what better option they could have taken … especially when facing government of PMLN that has arrogances and lies as their trade mark (so their words cannot be easily trusted), and has arrogant person leading them who lies as habit, and once in power (by whatever means), thinks that he has no obligation to answer anyone, however justified other maybe?

pti is adopting the same measures that we have been making fun of in the past (vis a vis mqm) and they have achieved nothing as a result so far. I'll reserve my judgement for now

I have read Imran khan’s autobiography in recent times. I have been watching these talk shows until recently, but found out belatedly that it only increases stress/anxiety levels. Happy to go without them. Don’t Mind music but not really into it.

ali bhai...no cricket, no books, no music, no tv shows.... ok fine laikan app fun kay layee kaya kartay hein sarkar?...unless you tell me you have a half a dozen girl friends ;)