Internet Explorer hijacked

Re: Internet Explorer hijacked

One likely cause of IE6 and OE6 not functioning properly is a corrupted file. Microsoft says this is the “most” likely cause, but I think that’s wishful thinking. To run a check on the files and see if one or more is corrupted use the System File Checker that is included with Windows XP.

Click [Start] [Run] and type sfc /scannow in the [Open] box.
(Note that there is a space between sfc and /scannow)

In all likelihood you will be prompted to insert the Windows XP CD ROM. If you don’t have it available there is no point in continuing unless you have the files available on your hard drive and have changed the location of the XP installation files in the registry. If you do have the files copied to the hard drive, the default install location may be modified using the registry edit shown below.

[Start] [Run] [Regedit]
Registry Key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Setup
Modify/Create the Value Data Type(s) and Value Name(s) as detailed below.
Data Type: REG_SZ (String Value) // Value Name: SourcePath
Setting for Value Data: [Set using the path to the installation files, i.e. G:\WXPCCP_EN]
Exit Registry and Reboot

Running System File Checker is not a fast process. Expect much longer times if you run from the CD. Once the System File Checker has finished, reboot and test to see if the problem has been resolved. If the problem still exists you have three choices.

In-place upgrade of Windows XP
Repair Windows XP
Reinstall Windows XP

The second method to try and correct the problem involves editing the registry and reinstalling Internet Explorer 6.

[Start] [Run] [Regedit]
Registry Key: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components{89820200-ECBD-11cf-8B85-00AA005B4383}
Modify/Create the Value Data Type(s) and Value Name(s) as detailed below.
Data Type: DWORD // Value Name: IsInstalled
Setting for Value Data: [Change the Value from 1 to 0]
Exit Registry

Once you have made the appropriate registry changes use the link below to download and install Internet Explorer 6. The Internet Explorer 6 download includes Outlook Express 6. Reboot and test for proper operation.
Download Internet Explorer 6**

Sh3ry bhai, thank you for posting the same article I provided the link for. :)

if you know that your system was working gr8 on some date, then restore it to that date… It will work…

After the restore, the files may be in your system, but they won’t run in the memory, therefore it won’t effect your system … And if they are not running, they can be taken out by adaware deep scan that 5abi mentioned. so here is the to do list.

-restore system to “point in time when you were in peace”
-install adaware and update definitions
-run deep scan
-create a system restore point when all is good. so next time, u come to this restore point.

lol sleepy.

:google:

Ok don't mock me now, kaleem I should look on the C drive right? But under what folder? program files?

Yes in the C:\ drive. If you have it it will be in the root of the C: drive..i.e. not under any other folder.

If you dont have access to the CD or I386 folder, do what Mr. Genious suggested....I will caution you though, when you do that your system will revert to the settings and applications of the date you select to revert back to. You may lose any new settings or programs installed after that selcted date.

uffffff, when u said key word is may i thought i need to find a file with may in it or something :mad: ok so I found the I386 file by simply going thru search :halo: so now how does this folder help me not putting in the windows cd?

FF... I am sorry but I cannot help myself(dont worry I am just smiling :) not mocking you. This reminds me of another incident when I had just started in this filed. I advised a user to type F:\ and then login and then his login ID. Guess what he typed...yep exactly what I said. Anyway, FF make sure its a folder and has other folders like LANG, SYSTEM32 and bunch of files.
How will it help you? When you run that command Sfc /scannow ...and if it finds any corrupted or missing files, it will prompt you for the CD or the location where the file can be retrieved from. At this point you will have to select the location of this I386 folder.

It has the following items in the folder
drive
http
mrxsmb
ntkrnlmp
ntkrnlpa
ntkrpamp
ntoskrnl
sp2

all of it looks like crap and not what i shold have,

found under C:\windows\driver cache

nope, that is not the folder we are looking for.

Go for what Genious said.

Hate to disagree with your AQ but lately MS is receiving money in exchange of dropping the severity level for threats. One of the example is GAIN. MS Anti-Spyware actually indirectly promoting spyware.

AQ must have missed this Todd :slight_smile:

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showpost.php?p=3375451&postcount=16

I am a big supporter of McAfee anti Spyware and Microsoft Anti spyware doesnt come close to it. And I am not just saying it because I work for Mcafeee :snooty:

sweeping as I type. Lets see.

:(
and uninstalled

Wierd... i have the same problem..my IE stopped working one day out of no where. Had to download firefox through FTP.

It still doesn't wana seem to work, IE that is. Its not showing up in my add/remove programs so I know i have to uninstall service pack and then unsintall IE which is a lot of work for me. FIrefox it is for now :)

Kaleeeeeeeeem I got the disc. Am following ur instructions now :hula:

im going to put up the list in a bit hopefully. Make urself available please.

FF, I am here...Where should I send the bill?

its not fixed YET kaleem, hold ur horses.

SO i did the thing and a window popped up saying it was checking to see if all the files were intact blablabla and it took forever to do its check and then the blue bar got to the end and it disappeared and no list came up and im left with that black screen thing on my screen :mad: ye kya budtameezi hei?

Maybe I am the one who should be sending out a bill, hmmmmm.