Re: Internet Addictions
In the future they will teach classes about the time people used to go out and visit one another and hang out and talk.
I'm guilty of this. But at some gatherings my phone is actually much more interesting than the conversations going on. So can't really help it.
If that happens while I am still alive...god damn it I may just kill Zuckerburg!
Before, I remember sitting down with people and playing board games, etc.
woah, you are that old - aunty?
yeh, cave men would have had this discussion over a fire, but here we are dissing the interwebz on le interwebz.
^^^
That’s so me ta (dunno why those four letters can’t be put together
)
It's really scary. And sometimes I hate my smart phone for this reason.
smart phones making people dumber ![]()
yesterday i was at the med lab, waiting terrified for blood to be drawn. this woman in a walker, just ahead of me, is busy taking pics of herself on the iphone, making duck faces and smiling and texting. and then she banged her head against the door frame and asked the nurse for ice.
yeh, cave men would have had this discussion over a fire, but here we are dissing the interwebz on le interwebz.
Reminded me of a Simpsons episode. It was a flashback scene, where young Moe, Lenny, Homer and Carl were sitting around a campfire
Carl: Hey, you know what I'm looking forward to? The future. Have you heard about this internet thing?
Lenny: Internet?
Carl: Yeah, it's the internetting they invented to line swim trunks. [holds up a pair of trunks caresses his face lining]*
I'm guilty of this. But at some gatherings my phone is actually much more interesting than the conversations going on. So can't really help it.
Only boring people get bored.
Must not let mum see this thread. :o
Well truthfully guys, yes it's ironic i'm complaining about this on the web, but where else am i gonna go complain about it?
I went to the mosque two nights ago, a place that has been arranged not only as a place of worship but also as a community center, and there were no women there, no children, and only 3 old bearded men in the men's section reading Quran. I thought we worship God 5 times a day, and originally mosques were meant as community centers, so isn't it sad that they're always empty?
When was the last time you introduced yourself to your neighbors? Do you know them all? Do you know what they do, or do you just wave to them out of courtesy at MOST?
When was the last time you made a new friend NOT from work?
If you've had to move to a new city, how easy has it been breaking into the desi crowd there? Into the muslim crowd? How many times have you had to go to facebook or meetup dot com or these sort of sites to find groups where muslims/pakistanis meet up and do fun activities together?
Do you make it a point to join in on organizations in the community - cultural and religious - to keep up your ties with the community? That's more of a question for people well past college, because in college, it's way easier to meet people through classes, etc.
shrugs I dunno about you, but I know a few young people here in dallas that i've met - met only through work, and on the internet.
That's it.
I rely on the web for friendships, how sad is that.
Well truthfully guys, yes it's ironic i'm complaining about this on the web, but where else am i gonna go complain about it?
I went to the mosque two nights ago, a place that has been arranged not only as a place of worship but also as a community center, and there were no women there, no children, and only 3 old bearded men in the men's section reading Quran. I thought we worship God 5 times a day, and originally mosques were meant as community centers, so isn't it sad that they're always empty?
When was the last time you introduced yourself to your neighbors? Do you know them all? Do you know what they do, or do you just wave to them out of courtesy at MOST?
When was the last time you made a new friend NOT from work?
If you've had to move to a new city, how easy has it been breaking into the desi crowd there? Into the muslim crowd? How many times have you had to go to facebook or meetup dot com or these sort of sites to find groups where muslims/pakistanis meet up and do fun activities together?
Do you make it a point to join in on organizations in the community - cultural and religious - to keep up your ties with the community? That's more of a question for people well past college, because in college, it's way easier to meet people through classes, etc.
shrugs I dunno about you, but I know a few young people here in dallas that i've met - met only through work, and on the internet.
That's it.
I rely on the web for friendships, how sad is that.
I hear you PCG, I hate cell, laptop and all other things start with "I".
People hooked to that stuff don;t know what they are missing. :)
That's right...they're missing THE MONK!
Socially awkward people have emotions too.Acha!
and awkwardly telling awkward....
This is exactly why I quit FB. I dont need to be a friend hog. If someone wants to contact me or I want to contact someone they have my email address. If its urgent they have my phone no.
Quitting FB was hard but on the flip side im not always on my phone reading other people's mundane lives nor am i sitting there thinking of something witty to update to my status with!
Quality of life has definitely improved!
ps my one guilty pleasure is an occassional jump onto Google+ but thats probably coz everyone I know isnt on there :)
love it:D