International huq mehr

So I was with a friend a few days ago and we were talking about her marriage. She’s Iraqi so i was quite interested in knowing exactly what preparations they have for their weddings. The topic of Nikah came up and she very nonchalantly says to me, “oh yea, i asked for AED 10,000 in mehr plus a gold jewelery set”. The money alone was equivalent to $2800 plus the money he would spend on buying gold. And this isn’t some rich guy but your average Joe who has a regular job and a family to support.

Trying to not look too flabbergasted, i asked her if she thought she’d asked for too much. She scoffed at me and told me people ask for a lot more and she was being very kind buy only asking for this much. I then proceed to tell her how in Pakistani cultures some hardly even ask anything in mehr and some that do have a very reasonable amount. She scoffs at me again (i was very irritated by this point) and tells me here in UAE women ask for a lot more and she didnt know what world i live in. Apparently women go as high as AED 500,000 in money and the gifts are separate! She knows of a couple of friends who’d asked for such amounts.

I just shook my head at her and changed the topic, unable to grasp the information. I guess it might be an arab cultural thing because i checked in with other married arab friends (palestinians, jordanians, egyptians) and turns out asking for 10,000 in mehr is very normal. Albeit we pakistani’s spend a lot more money ON the wedding; 3 day event, hundreds of people, clothing etc, these guys spend on a one day function and keep the rest of the moolah for themselves. I’ve been to a few arab weddings too and i mean, it’s nothing special. Our weddings are way more extravagant. But again that’s their preference.

Lol, to the men out there i bet Pakistani women are looking great right now, aren’t they? lmao. :smiley: But in all seriousness, asking for that much money is absurd. Marriage is about spending ones life with one another, not about how much money and richness you can leech off of one another.

My question to the men is; if the woman was beyond gorgeous, everything from your dreams, personality and character wise etc but she asked for this kind of mehr.. would you opinions about her change? would you judge her for it/.

To the women; would you want such an amount for your mehr? What’s the thought process that you go into a marriage with? Does what he give you as mehr matter?

Re: International huq mehr

A girl from my dreams in terms of personality *and *character would be too selfless to make such demands.

.. However ..

I would not mind giving her part of my wealth when I already have given her all of my *heart.

*:)

Isnt a 3-5 day wedding absurd as well? Specially when the money spent on the wedding goes poof...while meher is probably gonna stay, and fulfil monetary needs for months/years to come?

Well said. Even the first comment. If she was straight out of your dreams, she wouldn't ask for all that. Money comes and goes, love stays?

I did talk about Pakistani's spending so much money on 3 day elaborate affairs.

How do you know if mehr will fulfill monetary needs for months or years? If she's demanding all that now, what makes you think she'll want to share it? If she wanted to share it, she'd have just assumed that what's yours is hers, as in most marriages, and there was never any initial need to demand such a thing. Isn't that the concept of how most pakistani parents get their daughters married by forgiving the meher or asking for just representative AED 100- that whatever is the husbands' will be the daughters too so there is no need to demand for all that money.

That aside, she's under no obligation to give or share her mehr. It is her gift and she gets to keep it. So again, there's no guarantee that it would fulfill monetary requirements. I'm just curious about if you'd judge her for making such a demand.

My ideal character wouldn't be so materialistic - although i wouldn't hesitate to give equivalent of 3 or 6 months sustenance at current living standard and prices for single person. This could be indexed to inflation too, but then i would have to apply discount and recalculate the NPV.

where was I? oh yeah..

the high price in arabland. its cultural thing probably.

but come to think of it, Arab girl ask much money, but then again, she don't make fuss if guy gets another girl. So thats the benefit for the guys.

anyhow, poor guys got no choice in all this.

If my math is correct, 10,000 AED converts to between 3000-4000 CAD. I've known girls to get more than that. Mehr Fatimi is approximately $1200 CAD with the conversion, so I don't think it's such a big deal. That amount seems quite reasonable to me. From what I've heard, and this could be unique to the people known to my circle and might not apply across the board, but desis tend to take mehr as a formality and never expect to actually pay the amount but expect to have it waived. But that's a separate topic.

if we have to rely on your hypothetical scenario i.e., the girl of my dream then believe me, she will be intelligent enough to play it smart. That being said, if she is what i ask for, I wouldn't mind. I always put myself in next persons shoes whenever they ask me for something and try to judge if that makes sense or not. if i put myself in her or her family's shoes then this is kind of security for them which i wouldn't mind providing as long as its in sensible range (subjectively)

btw, $2500 is nothing compared to Canada. I know where the haq-mahr was around $10,000+ ... and on the other hand. when my cousins got married (10 years ago) her haq mahr was 101PKR

She is talking USD… :hehe: $2,722

Kya mtlb....I will have to give my haq mehar....(Jo bhi hota hai ye)
Won't be in a demanding position....he will say and my mum papa will have to fulfill his open jholi.... And for my sister too....and frankly that's very low amount....girls be giving a lot more than that around here....

Ramzan food and this be the reason I want to be a Muslim sometimes.....

i guess you got it wrong. its the guy who gives it to the girl not the girl (or girl's family)

Gold set will probably be $6000-7000. Assuming it's that amount. Cash asked is around $3000. Total $10,000. It is 2-3 months of a guy's salary, or even a month salary. Not THAT bad. I know people who asked $10000 cash and got it.

You got it wrong qureshi sahb.... In our culture girl has to fill in.... In forms of dowry.... And a lot of it......
It ranges very heavy....

I want someone who will be honest, faithful, loyal and truthful - I'll settle for a 7 or 8 out of 10 rather then go for a 10/10.

My sister got married last week - I'd rate her a 9/10 in a non incestous way: georgous, good height, 26 making over £150K a year (so highly educated), brings multi 7 figure dowry/inheritance, from family who won't be interfering everyday, is all for equal rights WITH equal responsibilities, practicing, praised for her ikhlaaq etc. Guess what she got for her haq mehr? Saharai haq mehr on the insistence of my father.

Some girls and their families think that their daugthers have golden wotsits if you know what I mean.

How much Haq Meher did she get?

She got £550 - that's what the dude that did the nikkah said it was in today's money: how he came to this conclusion I have no idea.

Unfortunately, you hired wrong Nikkah Khuwan. This guy came in his car, used mobile phone for communication.

Why did not you ask him that all these stuff were not in old time? He should use camel ride for traveling.

Koi inflation hoti hia, koi currency ki value hoti hia...

Umm what? pakistani girls (family) don't ask for big haq mehrs? Are we living in the same century.

Of course, not all fingers are the same length. But that is saying that american girls don't have boyfriends before they get married.

Haq mehr to my sister is a religious custom that has to be observed for the nikkah process to be complete. My sister makes 3 times what her husband makes - she doesn't need her husbands money.