Haq mehr to my sister is a religious custom that has to be observed for the nikkah process to be complete. My sister makes 3 times what her husband makes - she doesn't need her husbands money.
This is not my point how much your sister or brother in law earn money.
I am exposing hypocrisy of Nikkah Khuwan.
My take on this haq e mehr issue is that..no value is too much or too little. At the end of the day... sincerity counts and holds much more value than this. And of course..we all know that. And i wouldn't mind giving her part of my wealth (If i had wealth)..if she was true friend and loving partner. Money comes and goes...lekin agar mohabbat and respect nahi hai relationship main..kuch bhi rishtay may baqi nahi rehta.
Arab women in general...ask for lot more than what your friend mentioned though.
Asking for extravagant Haq mehers is the same as greedy grooms and their families asking for dowry ! Haq mehr should not be too low of course but there should be a balance.
What exactly is the logic behind haq mehar? anyone?
i) Mehr is a basic cover for the woman and her rights so as she may have a substantial amount to support herself in case of any emergency.
ii) By instituting Mehr, a man is made solicitous, therefore those who intend to play abuse face a financial loss upon themselves.
iii) Islam is a code of life, whereby all monetary responsibilities are stowed upon the man in a marriage. The Mehr is but a token, one that signifies commitment.
iv) Mehr upraises and honors the status of a woman, which may be compared to the Dahej system of the pagans, wherein the woman and her family have to endow the man to marry her.
I have only attended weddings outside of Pakistan and I would never ask people how much mehr they got exactly. Too weird. However, I know even among Pakistanis, that concept exists - the more mehr a girl gets, the better.
IMO, it should be according to the guy’s own financial status, a reasonable amount. So, I would not expect Hamza Sharif to put $10 as mehr for his wife but I’d be more lenient on a guy working at a tandoor.
Still, I would judge the guy I was picking for myself. If a lady is happy with a billionaire putting $10 as mehr for her. Well, I guess she is a better person than I am.