International food day

at my younger son’s nursery , they r aranging an international food day !
everyone is asked to bring some food of his/her country

i want some ideas as what to prepare …i thought dehi bhallay n gulab jaman …then i thought pakoray …then gaajar ka halwa …but well i can’t decide !

help me decide please …!!!

thanx

Re: International food day

Whichever is quickest and easiest for you to make.

I wouldn't go with anything sticky!!

Stick with finger food … I’m sure achar sandwiches will go down a treat :k:

Never thought of preserving fingers as achar, certainly would free up a lot of fridge space for other body parts1

Sobi you're a god send, get into that life2 forum and let it all hang out.

Afia baji i think shami kababs sandwiches will be a good idea or just shami kababs

also chollay will be a good idea

take some baklava everyone will be happy

Dont bring the dahi bullay, stick with gajar halwa or tandori chicken, anything with curry or yogurt I have noticedthat gora's sort of proceed with caution. My kids school had the same festival in NY and we made tandoori chicken (gone in a minute) and daal (came back with us untouched) halwa all gone before the chicken

aray logo ....the reason i was asking it here wasn't that i need to save time or something

i asked it because i wanted to take with me whatever represents our cuisine ....n infact i don't want to leave anything but thats not possible .....

verizon got it somewhat right ....
i want something without meat .....so no tandoori chicken .
but halwa yesssss!!!!

maj....i'm sure the arab fella of my son will bring bakhlava ....:)
i need to take pakistani food!

irem ....chollay ...yum !!

samose

why no meat? vegetarians?

Pakistani cuisine is mostly meat, i tink, so it wudn’t make sense to leave it out…

I’d go with chicken pulao, or chicken tikka, n kababs..

u can make shami kababs (dno if theres meat in em??), pakoras, samosas, etc. :yummy:

small samose ... easy to eat...everybody likes them

Afia baji yes i think this should be it!

shami kababs

and

small samosay…u can make them with those pastry puff thingies…and put desi/chinese style filling of chicken&veggies mix

As Verizon bhai said tandoori chicken is great too but i think it will be too much hassle if u wana make so much tandoori chicken…for everyone u’ll have to make a lot…and it might take too much effort :smiley:

but u said no meat..hmmm…

then i guess shami kabab idea is out too??

hmmm…then hmmm..make veggie spring rolls and alloo k pakoray with ketchup or small samosay of aaloo :k:

Sara shami kabab does have meat
its made with a mix of chanay ki daal and ground beef (but some ppl these days use chicken instead of beef)

Afia baji dont make halwa, make kheer (without ilaichi) i think it would go well with western tastebuds

hai hai .....iäm going crazy!

yesterday i was only thinking of snacks waghera ....today i wake up thinking why not haleem or biryani or pulao or zarda......:D

asked hubby ...he's of no help either ....he's naming each n every thing he himself is missing being away.....

ah well, .....if i think the best thing i like ....its gonna be paratha with raat ka bacha hua salan...!

irem n the rest .... keep ur ideas coming ....please!!!

When we have IF day at my office, naan, tandoori chicken and ras malai vanish quickly. People also like the palak paneer.

I thought you said no meat before? If you've changed your mind then pullao is a good idea. When I have my goray friends to dinner, I make chicken qeema with macaroni for the less adventurous among them.

Afia, go with what son likes :) I think you mentioned that your kids don't have a taste for desi food, so whatever desi stuff they do like will probably be liked by non-Pakistanis as well. I have yet to come across a kid who has liked hard-core desi khanay (like haleem / biryani etc).

My roommate spent hours and hours making kheer for an event at her workplace and brought it back nearly full! Then she tried parathay and the same thing happened. And kids are even pickier than adults about what they eat!

Save your kid the embarassment of going to school smelling like can of corolli cooking oil. Just do a black forest cake with a paki flag on it.

Make some Haleem :yummy:

thank you all!:)

sarah ....my kids do enjoy desi food ....specially biryaani etc.n the elder one actually has the statistics on his finger tips about how long ago i made haleem for him last time ...:D
its only that they don't like the amount of chillies what we consider as normal ....specially they have a thing for curries ....:)

i actually talked to a teacher today who has been to india n knows about our cuisine too .....she recommended finger food as its easier for children to munch on .....
n i actually got to know her favourites among desi food ....its pakoray n gulab jaaman

n the son in the nursery is soooo fond of home made gulab jamans ....he won't let anyone else near the gulab jamans :D

anyway ....decided now !
its gonna be pakoray with mint chutney ....n gulab jaman :)