you are still incorrect. woman does not have to embrace islam sooner or later. again I will let u figure out the specifics here.
and lastly its not the logic that the husband’s religion “should” previal, you are reading that incorrect.
its that husband’s religion “would” or “could” prevail therefore to ensure that the offspring are still muslim the husband has to be muslim, since most of not all cultures are heavily patriarchal
we have kinda not adressed the issue of Instant love, where a person does not even know teh basics about the other person before falling in love. it does not add up. In reality ppl make a decision fully knowing the issues with being involved with someone of a diff faith.
hell, I mean forget love, I knew the basics about anyone I ever 'dated', way before anything like love can appear.
Najim bhai, i have come to a few conclusions with my limited undertsanding about this issue.
Muslims today consider it okay to marry "people of the book" *but how do you define "people of the book" *? I believe the real "people of the book" are the people who were the real and true followers of Hazrat Isa (AS) and Hazrat Musa (AS). Jews and Christians today cannot be considered "People of the Book" because they have deviated heavily (according to muslims) from the original teachings of Hazrat Isa and Hazrat Musa. Just because they call themselves Christians and Jews doesnt mean we have to take their word for it.
If we use the same thinking above, then sunni muslims should have no problem marrying shia's, ismaili's, ahmadis, bohris etc because each sect considers itself muslim and are People of the Book.
It is the prevailing hypocricy among desi muslim men that they have conveniently allowed themselves to marry christian and jew women without going through the inconvenience of asking them to convert. If you can marry someone who considers Hazrat Isa a son of Allah (naoozubillah), you shouldnt have any problems marrying into another sect within Islam.
My conclusion is that People of the Book do not exist today. So dont even bother thinking of marrying a non-muslim (doesnt matter if youre a guy or a girl).
Women cannot marry non-muslims? Why not? If a man can marry a non-muslim and allow his spouse to stay non-muslim, a woman should be allowed to do the same. I believe this is a desi muslim concoction in an effort to be over protective. Can someone please find me the verse in the Quran that states women cannot marry non-muslims while men can. If there is no verse then how about a strong Hadith.
I do believe that a muslim man or woman cannot marry a non-muslim without satisfying a few conditions. The conditions are
The non-muslim person accepts Islam and they both live as muslims
OR
]The muslim person leaves Islam (*there is no compulsion in religion) and they both continue living as non muslims
Thanks
I personally discourage inter-religion marraiges...it might make life difficult unless you are willing to abondon your parents and society...and of course much depends upon how conservative your parents are!
Faith in God is definately not a problem...at least for Sanatan Dharma it's totally personal thing...your accumulated "karma" will either lead to "Moksha" or repeated cycles of "birth" and "death" in the form of materialistic manifestations only for you and not for anyone else..
since God Realization is more like "Self-Realization" for those who pursue for this path while still living in this body, Love, lust, attachemnt, sensual pleasure and sense gratification etc. are of NO importance for such individuals....
Some of the points regarding God in Hinduism I have tried to explain by quoting the verses of SrimadbhagavdGita in the thread "Is Hindusim a Universal Religion"..
^ ^ ^
for Sanatan Dharma there is No term like "Religion" for those who follow it in true sense! as long as the partner is not a Cow slaughter is eligible for "Moksha" or "Liberation" in the same very "Birth"...all depends on individual!
First of all you tell me for what reason you are asking for inter-religious marraiges...are you also seeking a path "God-Realization" and "marriage" is coming in the way?
Before that you have to tell from which faith you belong to?
I will try and explain you within my capacity of limited knowldeg in simple words after that!
good...Not only you in fact whole Universe is His manifetsation..and through our "senses" we know only limited!
I think you can marry..with any one..regardless of what is her belief! (but again as I said previously parents, society and culture all these you have to endure)
Further apart from marriage if you follow sanatan dharma for "liberation" in this birth itself then definately marriage will not be in your mind as renounciation for worldly things is what one looks for!
Continuing in a marraige and living in Family (Grihasthashrama as it is called) is also one way...but liberation is possible only after death depending upon Karma (deeds)
I think you can marry..with any one..regardless of what is her belief! (but again as I said previously parents, society and culture all these you have to endure)
Further apart from marriage if you follow sanatan dharma for "liberation" in this birth itself then definately marriage will not be in your mind as renounciation for worldly things is what one looks for!
Continuing in a marraige and living in Family (Grihasthashrama as it is called) is also one way...but liberation is possible only after death depending upon Karma (deeds)
*Yes, you are absolutely right. *
But what is your opinion about Case1 and Case2 in a real life perspective ?
if you will refer the reply for that question (case 1 case 2), I have mentioned there is no term like "religion" in Vedic Sanatan Dharma.
There are several "practices" in modern time, which people term as "Religion", the sole purpose of these is "self-realization" or "knowledge of absulte truth, the God and His cosmic Nature" or "Enlightenment" whatever one may call it depending upon their own "practice".
But "Religion" is one of the several ways and NOT the only way and as I said it all depends on Individual...rest is just the "karma" in this bodily existence...so what's the problem from spiritual point of view...political and social aspects of inter-faith marriage can be considered seperately through your own judgement of your society.
Are you an Indian muslim or a Hindu? You should've asked her to convert before marriage.. Its like in India.. Man, you speak with any Muslim scholar in Pakistan and they'll tell you that marriage between a muslim and a non-muslim without conversion is an act of zena.. Allah aapko aqal de!
Well since we r in religion forum and from that point Islam main b4 marriage love shuv/dating/courtship etc ka koi concept nahi.Jo Islam ko follow kerna chahy he knows what to decide.
But i do know some ppl where a non-muslim guy actually turned to Islam just for the sake of gal and one lady she married this pak guy n turned muslim and these newly converted are more God fearing and religious than their already muslim partners.
[quote=Fraudz]
could you please show me where this is written and in what context. thnk you
Well Mr.Fraudiay these r lil facts all muslim should know and if u r interested then why not do some search on the subject urself.
Surah 33 Ayah 32. O Consorts of the Prophet! Ye are not like any of the (other) women: if ye do fear ((Allah)), be not too complacent of speech, lest one in whose heart is a disease should be moved with desire: but speak ye a speech (that is) just.
To this you will say, well, the Quran is addressing the wives of the Holy Prophet :saw: and not regular women…
You will obviously look for a logical answer that you can grasp for you do not accept anything, even the words of God, at face value…
Well, the logical answer is that the Holy Prophet :saw: was a man…When Allah :swt: wanted to address women in particular, He addressed the wives of the Holy Prophet :saw: and when He wanted to address men in particular, He would address the Holy Prophet :saw: as ‘O Prophet’ or a couple of times even by name…But the ruling applied to us, the Muslim men, even though we are not prophets of Allah :swt: