What I have come to know that marriage between a muslim and non-muslim is not permitted. Is it specifically mentioned in scriptures or a whimsical decree by self styled custodians of faith ?
I have a friend in whose wife is a Muslim. Their was a lot of hue and cry from the two families but alliance ultimately became successful. They celebrate Hindu and Muslim festivals and live as Hindu-Muslim husband wife. Jab mian beevi raazi to kya karega kaazi.
As far as i know u can marry a book holder.... but personally i dont give a damn about it ...i dont have any problem with that wat so ever....my wife is christian *
*and there has never been an argument over religious views. She wants our kids to be raised as muslims and she on her own has searched muslim names for our kids .
*If she is willing to do that much for me....... mera demagh kharab houa hai tha i'll force her to convert. *
If I am not wrong, a muslim man can marry believers e.g Christians / Jews (she doesn't need to convert to islam) etc. But a woman cannot, woman must marry a muslim man, means that man must convert to Islam before they marry.
Love between a Servant and His Lord is greater :) Indeed, Allah puts love in our hearts but we are accountable for what we do with that love. Who do we prioritise? :) Allahu A'lam, He knows best what is truly in our hearts.
"This day are (all) things good and pure made lawful unto you. The food of the People of the Book is lawful unto you and yours is lawful unto them. (Lawful unto you in marriage) are (not only) chaste women who are believers but chaste women among the People of the Book revealed before your time when ye give them their due dowers and desire chastity not lewdness nor secret intrigues. IF anyone rejects faith fruitless is his work and in the Hereafter he will be in the ranks of those who have lost (all spiritual good)." The Holy Qur'an, 5:5
More often than not, the religion of the father is what defines the religion of the children. Hence, the clear injunctions are that a man may marry a good woman of the book (Jew, Christian, Muslim). However, a woman is permitted to only marry a Muslim.
The family is the foundation of Islamic society. The peace and security offered by a stable family unit is greatly valued, and seen as essential for the spiritual growth of its members. A harmonious social order is created by the existence of extended families; children are our treasure, the amanat of Allah, our responsibility- they rarely leave home until they marry. Although this is the classic, some of this may be debateable- except for one thing- children are our responsibility- they are the amanat of Allah in our care. This is not debateable, alhamdulillah.
Note that there is no constraint whatsoever on inter-racial marriages, and on the contrary, this is encouraged.
Agree with abeeramahmood.....nice reply...but when umar the great(ra) heard that people after conquering iraq....marrying more non-muslims than musllim womens ...he wrote a leeter to huzaifa(ra) , the commander that stop the people from doing that as there would be not inferiority complex in muslim women...so this is allowed but in extreme and essential cases only....... as there is a possiblity of dispute between wife and husband and furthermore between the children and parents over the religious matters....so a instituation of muslim family can be destroyed by this ....... but yet in some cases ..allah permits you...so that therewill be ease to you....
from wat i read is same as what abeeramahmood said.a man may marry jew/christian but its better if he turns them to muslims.however hindu/sikhs or any religions r not allowed.As for a muslim lady she can marry only muslim man.
I know serveral interfaith couples (not necessarily involving Muslims), and bar none, in the case where one spouse doesn't insist on their religion, the kids end up being 'spiritual' or agnostic.
yeah, who has time to find out any info about anyone before falling in love. you just like see the person and boom, love ho jata hai.. naam shaam, kucch naheen patah hota. exactly like it happens in movies etc. no need to talk to the person. I once fel in love with a girl on a traffic light, too bad it turned green soon afterwards
wonder how love happens in other places where inter caste marriages are friwned upon and shyt, plus agar love ho jaye aur mahoorat na niklat toh phir alag masla hota hai. and in some cases girls have ti marry trees before they can marry their dudes.
its all a littlr too much, everyone has to answer for themselves, let everyone do what they want to do.
wonder how love happens in other places where inter caste marriages are friwned upon and shyt, plus agar love ho jaye aur mahoorat na niklat toh phir alag masla hota hai. and in some cases girls have ti marry trees before they can marry their dudes.
its all a littlr too much, everyone has to answer for themselves, let everyone do what they want to do.
I know some cases of intercaste love marriages...all hell breaks loose. Recently in South India (a bit orthodox society), my former neighbour's daughter fell in love with a colleague who earns less and is less educated..
** par nahin laila-majnoon ki tarah ad gaye..shaadi ho ke rahi. Families from both sides had to accept that union.
** Ghulam farid jitthe akhiyaan lagiyaan kya gori te kya kaali ve...
i am not a hardcore Mullah or a taliban style guy… i am a very sinful creature ..but i must admit the basic principles of shariah..that is quran and hadees..although i strictly not follow them…in islami shariah…you cannot see a second glance on a woman ..nor a woman is allowed to do so as in sura noor of quran that lower your gaze…
And you will be ashtonished to hear that if a woman is necessarily to talk with a man (non-necessarily is not allowed) ..then in quran is written she should talk in a stiff voice so that the man cannot desire for something…even polite voice is not allowed…
In hadees it is written it is better for a man to insert a long nail of iron in his head than his shoulder intentinally touvhed with the shoulder of a woman…
She cannot o outside with scent whose fragrance spreads..she can go to mosque but in hadees the best namaz is at home inside the innermost room or place…now tell me..the religion which do not allow ..seeing,… hearing..touching etc.etc .. where is the possibility of falling in loves come…i again say i am not a good muslim but i can never ever negate the laws of shariah !!! and these things seem harsh in modern world…but yet thet prevent the society from more harshness…
A muslim man can marry a non-muslim woman...but she should convert.
A muslim woman can marry a non-muslim provided he embraces Islam before marriage. logically it is her hubby's religion which should be followed
first of all your initial statement is not completely true, I will let u try and figure out what the error there is.
secondly
I think the basis is that if the father is muslim the children would be muslim. so its looking at the offspring.
n other faiths the religion goes from mother’s side, I guess because that makes things easy for them rather than the paternal side being the one that is important. Much of it is historical baggage.
and then you have faiths that u have to be born into, and that has its own issues.
I think the basis is that if the father is muslim the children would be muslim. so its looking at the offspring.
n other faiths the religion goes from mother's side, I guess because that makes things easy for them rather than the paternal side being the one that is important. Much of it is historical baggage.
and then you have faiths that u have to be born into, and that has its own issues.
What I meant was that incase of Muslim (Man) and Non-Muslim (Woman)..Woman has to embrace Islam sooner or later.
** While in case of Muslim (W) and Non-Muslim (M)..Man should embrace her wife's religion.
** So in both the case it is Islam, but in latter case, the logic that husband's religion should prevail doesn't apply.