INTERESTING LIVES and INTERESTING FACTS

Re: INTERESTING LIVES and INTERESTING FACTS

*Rules and Regulations for Teachers in 1872 *

*(These were for real)
*-

1. Teachers each day will fill lamps, clean chimneys, and trim wicks.

1. Each teacher will bring a bucket of water and scuttle of coal for the day's sessions. -
  2. Make your pens carefully: you may whittle nibs to the individual taste of pupils. -
  3. Men teachers may take one evening each week for partying purposes, or two evenings a week if they go to church regularly. -
  4. After 10 hours in school, the teachers spend the remaining time reading the Bible or other good books. -
  5. Women teachers who marry or engage in unseemly conduct will be dismissed. -
  6. Each teacher should lay aside from each pay - a goodly sum of his earnings for his benefit during his declining years so that he will not become a burden on society. -
  7. Any teacher who smokes, uses liquor in any form, frequents pool or public halls, or get shaved in a barber shop will give good reason - to suspect his worth, intentions, integrity and honesty. -
  8. The teacher who performs his labors faithfully and without fault for five years will be given an increase of 25 cents per week in his pay, providing the Board of Education approves.

Take a TEST;

http://www.oldjoeblack.0nyx.com:80/thinktst.htm](Redirecting...)

plz read this link and then u will KNOW that this info abt 49 o is wrong…its in INDIAN CONSTITUTION not pakistani’s…
http://www.naitazi.com/2007/12/05/constitution-allows-i-vote-not-to-vote/
and uncle,aap tomujh se baat naa hi karain to behtar hai…main aap se sakht naraz hoon…

Kiyon bacchay…kiya hogaya…mein ne kiya keh diya! waisay se hee mujhe se kaafi loge naraz hein…abb tumm bhi cold shoulder kar rahee ho stone bunn karr…

RAJU UNCLE has become unpopular on GS…right!

---FIRST EVER RADIO BROADCAST----

On Christmas Eve 1906, Reginald Fessenden made history by
broadcasting music and speech from Massachusetts. His
broadcast was heard as far away as the West Indies. After
picking it up, the United Fruit Company purchased equipment
from Fressenden to communicate with its ships. During he
broadcast, Fressenden played 'O HOLY NIGHT' on the violin
and also played the first record to be played across the airwaves,
Handel's 'Largo' making him the world's first DJ.

THAT'S WHY WE NEED FRIENDS

We need friends for many reasons,
all throughout the four seasons.
We need friends to comfort us when we are sad,
and to have fun with us when we are glad.

We need friends to give us good advice.
We need someone we can count on to treat us nice.

We need friends because we are social in nature,
and having friends makes us feel secure.
We need friends to remember us once we have passed
sharing memories that will always last.

KHUSH RAHEIN...........

nahee uncle,aap bhala unpopular ho saktay hain kia? bus main aap se naraz hoon...cos main aap ko emails kartee hoon,aap koi reply nahee kartey,itnay PMs bhaije,koi reply nahee....aap WILCO walay threadpe bhi ab nahee aatay....ab main naraz naa hon to aur kiya hoon?
waise aaj apne reply kar diya to bus meri narazgi khatam!

Oye meri bacchee!!!!

Jo mail tum ne Humayun Saeed k leeay diya thaah about your views on WILCO..on my hotmail addy...wo mail Humayun ne parrha aur bohat khush hua. Woh email wegheira mein paidall hai...iss leeay..uski sis in law tumhein jawab deygi uski taraf se.......waisay he thanked you and soon you'll be hearing him talk to GS through someway....you'll soon know.

Chalo KUTTI khatam....mein bohat khush hua...aur aap bhi khush rahein...deejah beiti !!:)

Guoliang Tunnel

This tunnel is located in the Taihang Mountains which are situated in the Hunan Province of China.

**There is an interesting story behind its development. Before 1972, access to the nearby Guoliang village was limited to a very difficult path carved into the mountainside. The village was nestled in a valley surrounded by towering mountains. **

It was basically cut off from civilization. 1972, a group of desperate villagers decided to take matters into their own hands - they would carve a road right into the side of the mountain by themselves! Shen Mingxin was the head of the village. He insisted that the villagers needed to embrace this project.

So they sold goats and herbs to buy hammers and steel tools. Thirteen strong villagers began the project. It took them five years to finish the 1,200-metre- long tunnel (a little less than a mile) which is about 5 meters high (15 ft) and 4 meters (12 ft) wide.

Not only was the project arduous, it was also dangerous. Some of the villagers died in accidents during construction. Undaunted, the others continued. On May 1, 1977, the tunnel was opened to traffic.. .

There are more than thirty windows. One article suggested they carved windows mainly as a way to push the rubble out.

In the pictures you can see a rubble pile. Another reason for the windows might have been the need for light due to lack of electricity! After all, this was a remote village cut off from the world.

**Believe it or not, this story has a very happy ending. **
The villagers incredible gamble paid off in a big way. At the turn of the century, China began to open its borders to the rest of the world. It was decided the benefits of tourism outweighed the disruption of having outsiders tromping around the country. So government officials visited this area and decided it was a perfect tourist attraction. Suddenly the little village that had been cut off from the world had thousands of visitors from every part of the world!

***Here is a writeup from a Chinese Tourism Website: ***
Turning to the north, we came to Taihang Mountains in Huixian County. The local government has explored several scenic spots to develop tourism, among which the most attractive were Guoliang Cave with its red mountains (exposed red shale). Local villagers cut a tunnel road through the mountain and named it Guoliang Cave.
Before the construction of the tunnel, Guoliang Village was almost cut off from its surrounding towns and villages. A dangerous ladder on the side of a precipitous cliff was the only route in and out of the village.
Today the situation has totally changed. Guoliang Village has become a pearl of Taihang Mountains because of its unique scenery and stone buildings.guoliang tunnel 10a.jpgguoliang tunnel 11a.jpgGuoliang Tunnel 15.jpgMind you, this work was done by 13 untrained villagers who had to trade practically every animal they owned to buy modern tools.
They had no idea how their gamble would pay off. For five years, they labored. Nor could they tend to their farms very much while they worked. In poker terms, this is called “Going All In.” They literally bet the farm on this project!
I doubt seriously that Hollywood has ever heard of this place, but I can imagine the story would make for a very interesting movie.
Certainly hope they keep a close watch on traffic. Otherwise those tourists in the picture on the left would be toast. It isn’t like they have any place to hide from an oncoming car. I guess they would have to throw themselves against the side of the rock. Or maybe they could take their chances and jump off the side.

This Day in History, February 10

**On February 10th, 1863, the world-famous **
**dwarfs General Tom Thumb and Lavinia Warren **
**get married in New York City.

haey uncle,aap kitnay achay hain.....im sorry jo main aap se naraz rhi...uncle aik kaam karein ye mera nik name jo aap ne likh diya hai apni post me,is ko zara edit kar dein,plz plz plz...thanku...n im replying u in detail on ur hotmail id...ok?

NOW "HAIR YE…HAIR YE"

***Highlighting can add the illusion of depth, volume and texture to your hair. The process involves coloring some strands of your hair - making it lighter or darker, depending on your overall look (color of your skin, eyes, hair) and your desired look. Your highlights should compliment your natural color, not giving it an odd contrast or contrived color. Highlighting is also a great way to start if you have doubts in coloring or dying your hair.

**Three things to remember before highlighting: **

**1. Go light or go home **
**Usually, in using a color for highlights, you go two or three shades lighter than your original hair color. Going beyond three shades will look extremely unnatural and peculiar. **

**2. Condition your hair to avoid drying **
**Deep condition your hair or use a clarifying treatment at least three days before highlighting because some chemicals in hair color can seriously dry your hair. After coloring, some prefer to shampoo immediately after. But, it is better to shampoo your hair a day after - **
**this will help maintain the color. **

**3. Consider lowlights **
**You also have the option to have lowlights with your highlights which can give your hair more dimension. Lowlights make your hair darker in shade. It will make the top of your hair look heavier than the bottom. But, it is best to go to your professional stylist **
**when trying both highlights and lowlights. **

**Tips for hair highlighting **
**- Mix two or more colors. Experiment and be creative. Just remember to use the color mix once you combine them. **
**- If you bought a highlighting kit, you can observe that the brush they use don’t really give you much control. Flat acrylic brushes measuring ½ - ¼ inch, which can be bought at art supply or hardware stores, give you a better grip thus making the highlights look more natural. **
**- Always protect your skin from hair color because it contains chemicals that can be damaging. **
**- Use latex gloves and make sure they fit snugly. **
**- Apply highlights only to the top layer of your head to create that depth and dimension you want to achieve. **

**Streaking **
**Streaking is used for a sleeker and glossier effect. You can go for half-head or full-head. Half-head streaking gives your hair brighter effects done really close to the hairline. This is done through bleaching and wrapping small or thick strands of your hair in foil paper. **
**While whole-head streaking involves bleaching and coloring the entire head, thus producing a blonde effect. Darker streaks are placed closer to the hairline. Both procedures need a touch-up every six to eight weeks before growth of new hair becomes noticeable. **
**D-I-Y streaking is another method used for dry hair. Best results are seen for medium-brown to light-brown hair. A streaking kit is available at the shop, but it should include a rat-tail brush, toothbrush, a non-metal bowl for the bleach, foil paper and a couple of clips. **
**To do, part a thin portion of your hair at the top part of the head using the comb. Place a 5 cm foil strip under it. Take the toothbrush with bleach and swathe over the parted hair. Cover it with foil strip. Take another part of the hair about 1.25 cm below and continue the process until the desired effect is achieved. **
**Check the color of the wrapped hair - it should be golden. If not, reapply bleach and leave for a couple of minutes. While taking out the foil wraps, ask a friend to help you rinse with warm water to take off the bleach. Apply shampoo and conditioner after unveiling the wraps. **

**Finger painting **
**Finger painting is a method for a subtler effect. Run four fingers from your hairline to the back of the crown after dipping it in bleaching solution. Do it as if pushing back the hair from your face. Don’t forget to use gloves. Follow the instructions at the back of the carton, like how long to leave the hair before rinsing, shampooing and conditioning. **

**Shampoos **
**The most practical and cost effective way to extend the duration of your highlights is the use of color tinted shampoos. Since these are temporary, you just stop using a certain color of shampoo if you don’t like it or if you want to try other colors. **
You can even use them on their own, although the effect will be less.

Making of Eiffel Tower

The Eiffel Tower is an iron tower built on the Champ de Mars beside the River Seine in Paris. The tower has become a global icon of France and is one of the most recognizable structures in the world. The Parisian landmark is the tallest structure in Paris and one of the most recognized structures in the world and is named after its designer, engineer Gustave Eiffel.

The structure was built between 1887 and 1889 as the entrance arch for the Exposition Universelle, a World’s Fair marking the centennial celebration of the French Revolution. The structure of the Eiffel Tower weighs 7,300 tons. Depending on the ambient temperature the top of the tower may shift away from the sun by up to 18 cm (7 in) due to thermal expansion of the metal on the side facing the sun. The tower also sways 6-7 cm (2-3 in) in the wind.
The tower was inaugurated on 31 March 1889, and opened on 6 May. Three hundred workers joined together 18,038 pieces of puddled iron (a very pure form of structural iron), using two and a half million rivets, in a structural design by Maurice Koechlin.

The risk of accident was great, for unlike modern skyscrapers the tower is an open frame without any intermediate floors except the two platforms. Yet because Eiffel took safety precautions including use of movable stagings, guard-rails and screens, only one man died.
At the time the tower was built many people were shocked by its daring shape. Gustave Eiffel was criticised for the design and accused of trying to create something artistic, or inartistic according to the viewer, without regard to engineering. Eiffel and his engineers, as renowned bridge builders however, understood the importance of wind forces and knew that if they were going to build the tallest structure in the world they had to be certain it would withstand the wind.

Since the beginning of the 20th century, the tower has been used for radio transmission. Until the 1950s, an occasionally modified set of antenna wires ran from the summit to anchors on the Avenue de Suffren and Champ de Mars. They were connected to long-wave transmitters in small bunkers; in 1909, a permanent underground radio centre was built near the south pillar and still exists today.

On 20 November 1913 the Paris Observatory, using the Eiffel Tower as an antenna, exchanged sustained wireless signals with the United States Naval Observatory which used an antenna in Arlington, Virginia

HERE’S SOMETHING WE’LL NEVER SEE…AMAZING

***Suddenly the shoreline north of Sydney were transformed into the Cappuccino Coast . Foam swallowed an entire beach and half the nearby buildings, including the local lifeguards’ centre, in a freak display of nature at Yamba in New South Wales .
One minute a group of teenage surfers were waiting to catch a wave, the next they were swallowed up in a giant bubble bath. The foam was so light that they could puff it out of their hands and watch it float away. ***

***Boy in the bubble bath: Tom Woods, 12, emerges from the clouds of foam after deciding that surfing was not an option
It stretched for 30 miles out into the Pacific in a phenomenon not seen at the beach for more than three decades. Scientists explain that the foam is created by impurities in the ocean, such as salts, chemicals, dead plants, decomposed fish and excretions from seaweed. All are churned up together by powerful currents which cause the water to form bubbles. These bubbles stick to each other as they are carried below the surface by the current towards the shore. As a wave starts to form on the surface, the motion of the water causes the bubbles to swirl upwards and, massed together, they become foam.
The foam ‘surfs’ towards shore until the wave ‘crashes’, tossing the foam into the air. ***

Whitewash: The foam was so thick it came all the way up to the surf club ‘It’s the same effect you get when you whip up a milk shake in a blender,’ explains a marine expert. ‘The more powerful the swirl, the more foam you create on the surface and the lighter it becomes.’ In this case, storms off the New South Wales Coast and further north off Queensland had created a huge disturbance in the ocean, hitting a stretch of water where there was a particularly high amount of the substances which form into bubbles.

***As for 12-year-old beachgoer Tom Woods, who has been surfing since he was two, riding a wave was out of the question. ‘Me and my mates just spent the afternoon leaping about in that stuff,’ he said. ***

‘It was quite cool to touch and it was really weird. It was like clouds of air - you could hardly feel it.’ ***

IF YOU DONT REALLY BELIEVE IN WHATEVER YOUR ARE TO READ BELOW....TRY MEETING THE FORMER CSP/FEDERAL SECRETARY FINANCE AT THE GOVT.OF PAKISTAN..NOW...**RETIRED AND HAPPILY SETTLED IN KARACHI RESIDING AT SINDH CLUB, AFTAB AHMED KHAN ( MY DAD's COLLEGE-MATE FROM DEHLI ) WHO IS MORE POPULARLY KNOWN AS "AFTAB QEHQAHAA" ("Aftab Laughter").
* **AFTAB UNCLE'S NORMAL STYLE OF TALKING SHOWS HIM LITERALLY CONVERSE WHILE LAUGHING ... EVEN IF CONDOLING!!! **
***ONCE, THE FORMER COAS/PRESIDENT OF PAKISTAN GEN.ZIAUL HAQ..DURING A STATE DINNER AT PRESIDENCY IN HONOR OF SOME VISITING HEAD OF STATE... HEARD AFTAB UNCLE'S LAUGHTER FROM ONE OF THE GUEST TABLES...AND SUCH LOUD LAUGHTER SORT OF SURPRISED & BEWILDRED THE VISITING HEAD OF THE STATE/CHIEF GUEST ALSO... TO WHICH, ZIA, A GOOD DIPLOMAT HIMSELF, LAUGHINGLY SAID "OH...YOUR EXCELLENCY... THE LAUGHTER YOU JUST HEARD IS OF OUR SECRETARY FINANCE ...WHICH WE ARE QUITE USED TO..NOW..PLEASE DONT MIND THAT!!! Ha ha ha".

NOW READ ON...AND SEE WHAT LAUGHTER CAN DO.....AND HOW RIGHTLY IT FITS AFTAB UNCLE'S HEALTH ALSO..AT THIS AGE OF ALMOST 80 HE IS DEPUTY CHAIR OF URDU UNIVERSITY'S SYNDICATE. ***

=============

**Though it has long been axiomatic that laughter is the best medicine, it may now be scientific, too. Research shows that laughter boosts the immune system, increases the level of pain-killing chemicals in the brain, and provides a beneficial "workout" for the lungs, heart, chest, and abdomen. **

Laboratory studies at Western New England College in Springfield, Massachusetts have demonstrated that the levels of a kind of antibody known as IgA, found in saliva and in the mucous membranes of the lungs and intestinal track, measurably increase during laughter. The IgA antibody is known to lower a person's susceptibility to upper respiratory illness. Researchers also found that among the study subjects, the levels of this antibody were already higher in those who laugh with greater regularity and rely on humor to relieve stressful situations.

Laughter also aids in the functioning of the immune system by stimulating the release of interleukins, hormones that block the release of the hormone cortisol. When under stress or in physical danger, the body secretes cortisol to allow quick action and reaction. But high levels of cortisol in the cells act as an immuno suppressant, diminishing the body's ability to fight disease and infection.

**Research has shown that a bout of laughter triggers the release of a flood of beta endorphins, a morphine-like compound in the brain that can induce a sense of euphoria while blocking pain. Beta endorphins are one of the body's best natural painkillers. In his book Anatomy of an Illness, Norman Cousins describes how 10 minutes of laughter had allowed him two hours of pain-free sleep at a time when his body was fighting a painful degenerative disease. **

***Laughter had accomplished what medication could not.

I wonder if this was ever copied on GS?
ROFL…

http://www.youshare.com/view.php?file=Ash_in_an_Interview.WMV

CAN anyone GUESS the speed this bird twirls or rolls her head?
**BIRD BATH!

CLASSIC PUPPET SHOW!
http://www.youshare.com/view.php?file=Puppet.wmv

THRIFT

One hundred average men start their productive life at age 25.

At age 65 one is wealthy; four are well-to-do; 54 are not self-supporting; *36 have died.*

At age 75, 33 of the 100 are still living, and of these, three are
entirely self-supporting and thirty are dependent.

(U.S.Treasury Deptt Text Book of Thrift)

Interesting thread and Interesting facts. Keep it up :slight_smile:

What’s the answer?