http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif
PUH-LEEEEEEEEEEZZZZzzz..!
nice joke..
Asma44
PUH-LEEEEEEEEEEZZZZzzz..!
Mehak,
It is racist to laugh at another community, specially when you know nothing about them. There are no Sikhs in Pakistan..why are you my community. There are lot more stupid muslims than Sikhs anyday.
People who want others to be tolerant are most intolerant and insenstive to others.
P.S. You would not able to post Jokes like this in any publication is US and get away with it.
[This message has been edited by Rani (edited January 09, 2001).]
Originally posted by Rani:
**Mehak,
It is racist to laugh at another community, specially when you know nothing about them. There are no Sikhs in Pakistan..why are you my community. There are lot more stupid muslims than Sikhs anyday.
People who want others to be tolerant are most intolerant and insenstive to others.
P.S. You would not able to post Jokes like this in any publication is US and get away with it.
[This message has been edited by Rani (edited January 09, 2001).]**
ummm...desis have sardar's to make fun of....white ppl got blondes....u never read blonde jokes???
"If u must make a mistake, make a new one each time"
Rani: Please stop making a religious post out of this, ok? I understand it, if you don't like the joke. But for God's sake (oops, now I'm getting religious here) could you just ignore it? Thanx.
Umer, the Pakistani Brain of Austria
Khawteen,
Blondes are part of community who is making blonde jokes. Sardars are not part of Paki community, i am sure other sardars will be very offended if they found out that Pakistanis are making Jokes about them.
Please make Jokes about your community. I am sure you are big hearted and secure enough to laugh at yourself.
Umer,
Sardar are racially no different than other punjabis or say 'Pakitani punjabis' when you make jokes about them you are putting their religion down, otherwise there is no need to mention "Sardar ji" in the Joke. It is racist and put-down.
Here in Holland We have such jokes about Turkish people, and I heard this joke with a Turk in it (a few years ago)... SO I don't know what Asma44 is talking about.. It's really hard to trace the origin of a joke..!?
Chill out Ms Rani .. its just a joke. You are showing your own insecurities by making such a big deal out of a small JOKE.
BTW, I have read this joke ages ago with Sadar replaced with Blonde. So, don’t believe it being an original one anyway.
PEACE! Please
ONE SARDAR JEE WENT TO A BEACH . A GIRL WALKED BY HIM AND SAID SARDAAR JEE ARE YOU RELAXING . SARDAR REPLIED OH! NO! NO! IM HERRY SINGH.
NOW RANI THIS JOKE WAS POSTED BY AND HINDU AND COPIED . NOW TELL ME YOU LIKE IT OR NOT.
Mehak,
I don't like the Joke and i will tell Hindu off just as told you off.
Just a question...why do you tell Sardar Jokes, when we don't live among you and most of us have never visited Pakistan. My family left Pakistan in 1947 and nobody has ever since gone back.
Who taught you about Sikhs, because most you would have no contact with Sikhs when in Pakistan and very little even in North America.
I don't think any Sikh should allow anybody to tell Jokes about them, it is racist and has a very negative impact on our youngsters.
Let me tell you that a weeks ago on an Indian forum, a hindu told a Sikh Joke and i told him off and all Hindus joined me in critizing him. I find it very strange that you are justifying telling a racist Joke about community you know nothing about.
ahmadjee....No i am not going to chill out...you chill out and stop telling racist Jokes.
I agree with Rani and I can understand how she must feel to read these Sardar Ji jokes on a “Pakistani forum”!
No Rani, no one should be allowed to make these kind of jokes, even about the people in their own community.
I’ve read enough “Khan/Pathan” jokes to know how you must feel. I seriously dont like it and would gladly slap the person telling such a racist joke.
There’s too much racism in Pakistan even without cracking these pathetic jokes. It’s a very bad way of taking out your own insecurity on some other race. Similarly, I would never make a racist joke on Punjabis/Sindhis/Baluchs because it’s a very pathetic thing to do (and I also think, our religion condemns racism very strictly).
Gizzy c’mon now, we’ve such intelligent and witty people on our forum. We should be honoured
Who says nothing is impossible? I’ve been doing nothing all my life!
Mehak,
I don't like the Joke and i will tell Hindu off just as told you off.
Just a question...why do you tell Sardar Jokes, when we don't live among you and most of us have never visited Pakistan. My family left Pakistan in 1947 and nobody has ever since gone back.
Who taught you about Sikhs, because most you would have no contact with Sikhs when in Pakistan and very little even in North America.
I don't think any Sikh should allow anybody to tell Jokes about them, it is racist and has a very negative impact on our youngsters.
Let me tell you that a weeks ago on an Indian forum, a hindu told a Sikh Joke and i told him off and all Hindus joined me in critizing him. I find it very strange that you are justifying telling a racist Joke about community you know nothing about.
ahmadjee....No i am not going to chill out...you chill out and stop telling racist Jokes.
_________________________________-
Rani
yaar if you dont like jokes then you should't come into joke forum , coz how many ppl are you gona stop .
so just relax chill chilll go sit on the ice.
rani, what do you know about u.s publications kindly inform us. from what i know when it comes to jokes everything goes. whites make fun of blacks and vice versa even on tv. non-blondes make fun of blondes and vice versa.
take some prozac.
Mundayaa,
You are wrong racist jokes are not permitted in US, Publications will be sued if they did that.
Knowing you i am sure you will be livid if i start telling Pakistani or muslim Jokes.
You take a course in intercultural sensitivity and decency.
Mehak....stop making racist Jokes because of Jokes like this my whole attitude towards Pakistani community is undergoing a change. I would love other Sardars to read Jokes on this forum and see for themselves how racists you guys are.
[This message has been edited by Rani (edited January 10, 2001).]
Mundayaa,
You are wrong racist jokes are not permitted in US, Publications will be sued if they did that.
Knowing you i am sure you will be livid if i start telling Pakistani or muslim Jokes.
You take a course in intercultural sensitivity and decency.
Rani yaar you have very limited knowledge ,
one way or the other. well i guess you dont watch TV then. have you ever seen any comedy show on tv. no one every sued them.
well for your kind info sardar's jokes are all over the world .
may be you could tell why they are famouse with 12.00pm , now how would i know coz my sardar friend told me this.
Rani i have read your post here i dont think this is the only reason you hate pakistani's
Mehak
may be you could tell why they are famouse with 12.00pm , now how would i know coz my sardar friend told me this.
With your great knowledge can you tell me of a show in which whites make fun of blacks, only blacks can make fun of black and Jews can fun make of Jews. It is okay to laugh at yourself but laugh at others is not acceptable anywhere it is called racist and bigoted. Everybody in North America is very aware of this i am surprised at your insentivity towards others.
You asked for 12:00 joke here it is, enjoy and this will also teach you something about the history of the subcontinent.
================================================
How the Sikh joke was born
Preetinder Singh
Hindus use the 12 o'clock joke to rib the Sikhs without quite knowing what it's about. In turn, the Sikh victims get infuriated without quite knowing why. The origins of the joke, now lost in the mists of time, were in dead earnest. If the Sikhs knew the real story, they would be proud to be alluded to as the `12 o'clock people', and the Hindus would regard them with a new respect.
To understand the joke, we have to go back to the time of Guru Gobind Singh. Then, Delhi was ruled by Aurangzeb, an autocrat who had a firm rein on his government and patrolled his borders well. There was little chance of an invasion, but the emperor's insistence on concentrating all power in his own hands -- for fear of meeting the same fate as he had inflicted upon his father Shah Jehan -- ultimately ensured the downfall of his line.
Aurangzeb did not allow even his own sons to acquire administrative experience for fear that they would get too powerful for him to handle. In the absence of compelling authority, the Mughal empire crumbled immediately after his death. Under Bahadur Shah, his successor, the centre refused to hold and the borders became vulnerable. In 1739 Nadir Shah, King of Persia, crossed the frontier and swept down towards the capital. He was the first invader who was here only to plunder and kill, with no intention of staying on. His troops reached Delhi, where they killed 1.5 lakh people, both Hindus and Muslims. He headed homewards almost immediately, taking back incredible loot gold, jewelry, elephants, horses, camels, skilled labourers and, as is usual in war, women.
The troops had to pass through Punjab and when the Sikhs heard of the enormous number of captured women, they decided to intervene. Without a strong military leader, they could not afford to make a frontal attack. They took to making midnight guerrilla raids on Nadir Shah's camp. Every night, small bands of Sikhs would strike with the sole intention of freeing as many of the captive women as possible and returning them to their homes before daybreak. These attacks became something of an institution later, after Nadir Shah had quit the country, when an increasing number of invaders began to come down into the Indian plains, drawn by its fabled riches.
Thus was the 12 o'clock joke born. Initially, instead of being grateful for their heroism, Hindus would say that the Sikhs are in their senses only at night. It was apparently futile to expect help from them at other times. Then they referred to midnight, for they didn't want to credit the Sikhs with sense for the duration of a whole night.
The Sikhs were naturally annoyed. They were trying to help the Hindus and were getting only derision in return. They were always armed, and did not hesitate to draw steel. To minimise personal risk, Hindus started referring to the relatively neutral 12 o'clock, rather than midnight, and even then they often ran for their lives. The final result was the safe, bald statement, `It is 12 o'clock,' shorn of all reference to its very interesting history.
When Hindus crack this joke, they are oblivious to the fact that had the Sikhs not intervened, their womenfolk would have been dishonoured and taken into exile. The Sikhs should be proud of the 12 o'clock incident. Because of them, the dignity of the Hindu community was restored after Nadir Shah's invasion, the most terrible act of war ever to be perpetrated in India.It hurts me most when a woman inflicts the 12 o'clock joke on me. It sets me wondering whether one of my forefathers had not rescued one of her foremothers. Had it not been for help from my community, perhaps, this woman might have been living in a foreign land, and in very different circumstances.
Copyright © 1998 Indian Express Newspapers (Bombay) Ltd.
[This message has been edited by Rani (edited January 10, 2001).]
With your great knowledge can you tell me of a show in which whites make fun of blacks, only blacks can make fun of black and Jews can fun make of Jews. It is okay to laugh at yourself but not at others.
Rani,I am absolutely agree with you.
I think these people here have to spend a little bit more time in learning about other culture, people and relgion, than in learning only from Quran.
With your great knowledge can you tell me of a show in which whites make fun of blacks, only blacks can make fun of black and Jews can fun make of Jews. It is okay to laugh at yourself but laugh at others is not acceptable anywhere it is called racist and bigoted. Everybody in North America is very aware of this i am surprised at your insentivity towards others.
EVER SEEN SAT NIGHT LIVE. MAD TV . SOUTH PARK. AND THERE ARE BUNCH OF MOVIES AS WELL.
Originally posted by Bijay:
Rani,I am absolutely agree with you.
I think these people here have to spend a little bit more time in learning about other culture, people and relgion, than in learning only from Quran.**
Thanks Bijay, they also have to learn to be senstive, respectful of others and be mature enough realize when they are doing something wrong.
rani if what you are saying is true then do you only laugh at sardar jokes given to you by other sardars? you dont read blonde jokes unless they are told by blondes?
"jokes" are there to make you laugh. ever watched seinfeld a program written by a jew? a Pakistani "babu butt" was depicted as a illiterate illegal moron? ever watched jay leno or any other late night comedy shows? dont tell me jay leno a itilian always makes fun of JUST italians. i can quote many other examples here.
see ppl are mature enuff to distinguish between a JOKE and racism.
Thanks Bijay, they also have to learn to be senstive, respectful of others and be mature enough realize when they are doing something wrong.<<<
mature? didnt you just put down all of muslims and insulted them after mehak posted a joke about sardars? so how are you being respectful or mature?
[This message has been edited by mundyaa (edited January 10, 2001).]