so im really insecure about not being gori. i know it sounds really stupid but everyone talks about beauty as being fair. My skin tone is wheatish, i personally like my skin tone, but like now my parents are looking for my rishta and its really coming to light that being fair is really important…its honestly making me insecure and making my mum go crazy buying me all these creams which i really dont want to use because i dont know what the hell is in them.
It really annoys me that society is sooo superficial!
so im really insecure about not being gori. i know it sounds really stupid but everyone talks about beauty as being fair. My skin tone is wheatish, i personally like my skin tone, but like now my parents are looking for my rishta and its really coming to light that being fair is really important...its honestly making me insecure and making my mum go crazy buying me all these creams which i really dont want to use because i dont know what the hell is in them.
Don't use the creams. They're not going to lighten you up considerably....and they'll inhibit melanin production in your skin...thus making your skin more sensitive to the sun....which accelerates aging of the skin and increases risk of skin cancer. That said, do apply sunblock at least 15-30 minutes before going out during the day (in the event that you succumb to your mom's fears and decide to apply the creams) .
If you're confident about the way you look....it will reflect outwardly...and confidence is attractive. Skin color can't compensate for that. It's not just skin color....people will reject rishtas for other reasons as well. If someone turns you down...........that just clears your path to find a BETTER person.
I HATE GORI CHAMRI .. gori skin .. i duno woh are those people who say "if she is gori she is pretty" .. GOd .. . .sanwali rangat is way more hotter than gori .. believe me .. :$ .. ..
Thnakyou everyone for your replies they have honestly made me feel better :)
im just sick of rishtas asking 'larki gori hai?' no, hmmm ok we will call back...never call back, ive even heard that some rishtas turned me down because i wasnt gulabi gori.
so im really insecure about not being gori. i know it sounds really stupid but everyone talks about beauty as being fair. My skin tone is wheatish, i personally like my skin tone, but like now my parents are looking for my rishta and its really coming to light that being fair is really important...its honestly making me insecure and making my mum go crazy buying me all these creams which i really dont want to use because i dont know what the hell is in them.
real gorey love desi skin, any desi can confirm this.
so cheer up, and use fair n lovely .. can i call you "kaloo" ?
inspiron i really commend you for not using creams! good job! you have to be true to yourself and be ok with who you are :)
if your skin is wheatish thats great! who says wheatish cant be pretty?
what u need to do is find out what type of makeup suits you
i sometimes wish i was darker bc that way i can pull off the sun kissed look
you need to work with more warm colors and i really recommend using a bronzer, it will really make you shine the right way, blushes warm also and with lips u can do berries
no im saying instead of putting on CREAMS AND CHEMICALS
she should be comfortable with her skin and learn to work with what she has to enhance her looks
who doesnt put on makeup, esp when a rishta comes?? Shes doing the right thing of not damaging her skin, so why not put makeup on to compliment herself?
u know wat..ppl here will kill ,me 4 saying this but..theres nothing unsafe bout using fair n llovely..ppl been using it 4 so many years n they r prefectlky fine..it has vitamins in it and milk protein..good stuff..n it wont damage ur skin..it ll just mae it look nice n glowing like make up..so whats wrong if u just enhance ur looks?..
every girl wants to look cute..thers nothing wrong with that .. y do we comb our hair..wash our face...brush our teeth..grooom oursekves.get haircut?..to enhance our beauty..so wat big deal..we do it anyways..so y not for this?
Healhy glowing skin is incredibly attractive, regardless of color. So focus on keeping your skin healthy and moisturizer, and be proud of it. Ignore the ignorant.
Btw, I've said it before and will say again, parents become the worst during the rishta process. Otherwise seemingly sensible and kind people become obsessed with ridiculous things and hurt those they love most. Just try to remember that and don't let them get to you. They usually mean well, but that doesn't mean they're right.
ufff I have never understood this gori aur sawali phenomenon ! I agree with sadzz such people are not worth your time. Believe me so many friends of mine who did not come under that GORI category got married to wonderful guys , it's better for you that you don't end up with someone who is so much into skin colour.
What matters is that you have a healthy & glowing skin. Healthy skin makes you look beautiful regardless of its colour. Love yourself the way Allah has made you.
Women/girls with any shade of skin color can be very attractive.
Gori does not mean pretty, gori can be extremely ugly or un-attractive.
Hope I do not have to prove this by posting ugly gori women or prove darker women are also extemely attractive.
More importantly if the color is not to acceptable level, then education, background, personality and attitude does help.
Reality is that very fair skinned prefer darker partner and darker people prefer lighter skinned people to marry.
There are creams for very light skinned women to use so they could look darker. Tanning booths make lots of money on that also. Sun bathing is another proof even light skinned people are not happy with the color of their skin and willing to take chance of skin cancer to look darker.
Hope OP feels better now.
Yes. Good way to put it.
As a general advise: Don’t get carried away loving yourself.