Since we have a very loyal audience to poetry, i wanted to know your opinion about ‘The nazm/ghazal of the Month’. Do you think it would be a better decision if you nominate a ghazal/nazm thru PM to me, and at towards the end of the month, whichever piece gets the most votes is declared the piece of the month. OR do you think that we should continue the way we have so far, that is that the mods of the forum select the piece?
I really dun think that asking the people is a good idea.
reasons? several.
not everyone will be sending u a PM... and believe me it is a fact.
not everyone can understand many good pieces of poetry thus can vote for the one that are not better than many others. That would be injustice to the relatively better contribution.
not everyone visits this forum on a regular basis.
not everyone reads every thread posted.
why should mod select? reasons are several again:
mods are responsible for reading every thread:~d (seriously)
mods are made mods because they deserve to be mods meaning they are capable of understanding fine pieces of poetry and at times when they find something is not appropriate they can take actions.
~Sehar~ I am glad that you opened this subject to public debate. Though I am for giving equal importance to every opinion, yet I think that Gadha has raised some very strong points. Even than it will be a bit thick to concentrate all the powers in one person. We may have to cobble two things together to get a proper result.
I support the idea that the members should vote their choice by PMs to the mod but the mod should have veto power. That way, votes will also be counted yet the decisive authority will remain with the mod. However, mod's decision shall be based upon the popular choice made by the members.
One more suggestion, since ghazal and nazm are two different things, they should stand independently for the contest.
They are supposed to:p and if they are not going there then very very bad:nono3:
well, I think Amal sahib has raised a good point too… VETO power:hehe: [like they dun have already:halo:]
seriously, mod should have an opinion which post is best and can see the votes and then compare the result with the one he/she chooses. At the end decide based solely on his/her understanding of the poetry:~)
50/50:D
PS:
sehar: guess how many ppl have replied so far here:~p that should tell you the upcoming fate of PM’s blush
Sehar, I think asking the members for the best piece of the month is a great idea.
Amal and Gadha raised some important points.
mods are made mods because they deserve to be mods meaning they are capable of understanding fine pieces of poetry and at times when they find something is not appropriate they can take actions.
Everyone has a different taste. Some people like the sad kind of poetry, some like love poems, etc. So what might be a fine piece to one person, someone else might not like it. Members should be given a chance to vote for their favorite piece.
not everyone will be sending u a PM… and believe me it is a fact.
I agree. May be we can open a thread by the end of every month and ask members to vote for their favorite piece.
**- not everyone visits this forum on a regular basis
not everyone reads every thread posted.**
I know not all the guppies visit this section but i think members who post in the section visit it often, and regular visitors of this section DO read every thread.
One more suggestion, since ghazal and nazm are two different things, they should stand independently for the contest.
I agree that not many people will be sending PMs. That's why I want the
decisive power to remain with the Mod. However, it should be made
clear to the seniors that it's not a reasonable attitude to stay away from
airing their voice in a thread like this. If they can find time to respond to
almost every post in Poetry, why they can't send one PM in one month?
Anyhow, even if mod gets one PM, it should be helpful and mod's decision
will get a more legal and democratic look.
First of all, I am not in favor of selecting a creation as a CREATION OF THE MONTH. It discourages the young learner poets like me.
However, if we have to select that it should not be on votes by the members but it should be decided by some expert of this field. I don't know what is the qualification/criteria to become MOD here, but if they are capable enough to understand the poems and really good enough to judge , they should go about it. Otherwise, such selection will not have any ture value.
mere khayal se members ko kaha jaye ke woh pore mahene mein 3 apni choice ki ghazal/nazam ap ko private msg mein bhejain aur at the end of the month, ap decide karo ke which ghazal/nazm is suitable to be selected as ghazal/nazm of the month.
i m not sure getting votes would be a good idea coz not all the ppl such as me have the "zouq" to appreciate good poetry.
i agree iwd amal's advice of seperate selection of ghazals and poems.
Ji, Sehar, Adab, after reading this thread and voices of different people,what I have concluded from this session is
A)- People are allowed to vote (excellent) in a PM to you, by the end of every month. Which is not a compulsion, just optional.
B)- You as a moderater have this huge responsibility on your shoulders to read them all, and select out of them. Here you are illegible to use your VITO POWER.
C)- There should be two nominees from each voter, one for GHAZAL and one for NAZAM.
This is what I precieved ??? If this is what is being suggested, I am all for it.
Ok so we have two things here: separate nazm and ghazal of the month, sounds like a good idea :) Thanks Amal.
So the voting issue is still hanging in the middle? I am not sure exactly what you guys want. It seems to me that everyone wants it to be the done the way it has been before, or are you guys willing to cooperate with me for PMing me your choice and we shall take a count and then decide?
Pramod ji - I have initiated this thread precisely for the reason that we are getting more members sharing their personal work and i'd like to be fair. I am handing over some the decision power to you guys after all i am a human and i could be biased. Baqi mod ban-nay ki qualifications aap admin se puuch liye jiye, and if you have any complaints with me, please zaroor bataiye ga. :-)
hmmm… I will be interested to know; iff it is decided to go for vote, how many total votes were casted and how many the winning piece of work actually received:-)
lil :topic:
let me help pramod :-d
Rule Number:
1- You need to be “mature” and the criterion of being one is based on Admin’s definition of “maturity”… *
2- You need to say good things about Admins, and agree with all their decisions in order to attain the attention *
3- Don’t make them angry
4- You don’t have to be old member; but sincere
PS:
A) Believe me whatever i said it is from a very valid and authenticated source:blush: