Input would be appreciated :-)

*Originally posted by ~Sehar~: *
Baqi mod ban-nay ki qualifications aap admin se puuch liye jiye, and if you have any complaints with me, please zaroor bataiye ga. :-)

oooffff Sehar jii, mujhe aap se koi complain nahin hai. main sirf ye kahna chaah raha tha ke selecting a creation as the creation of the month should be done by someone who understands urdu poetry really well...If MOD is the right person to do, I have no objection at all...GO AHEAD.....

We can have total four or six pieces of the month in two categories with their archives.

I - apni shayre (you can be more creative with the name)
II- Intikhab

then we can have three pieces in each

i) Nazam of the Month
ii) Gazal of the Month
iii) Sher of the month (optional)

this way it wd be easy for the reader to identify and admire someone’s own creativity or the Intikhab.

Now comes the selection process. I have a rating model in my mind.

Give the user few options to rate the stuff from 1-10

options may be like
i) Theme (rate the poem by theme = 7 out of 10)
ii) Ilfaz ka chunayo ( // )
iii) feelings ( // )
iv) etc…

and the total worth of the thread can be calculated thru the weighted avg of all these options with respect to number of reviews like GPA system in colleges.

we can have a small rectangular box at the bottom of the add reply page above regular links asking user to rate the thread.
(In this system one can only rate a file once, next time that option will be disabled)

This model can benefit in two ways.

i) thread starter can get more realistic picture about the thread.

Like so far i have posted three poems

Tum Bohat Yaad Aatey ho

Parathna (Iltija)

Teri Yaad mein, Bin Piye, Mast hovey…

you can check i have got comments, nice, very nice, bohat ala, etc for each poem. yes this appreciation helps me, encourages me to write and share more stuff but it does not explain key which one is the best among three, which one has a poor selection of words which on ehas a better theme. etc… and i hope you will agree on it with me.

ii) no one will be having bad feelings about selection

I believe that poetry -most of the time- is done for the very own satisfaction of the poet or to share only with mehboob. but sometimes u get to share it with general public, may be just to get appreciated and to improve writing abilities, may be to get bit commercial, or may be to get lil fame. or what ever reason u have for it.

Here I would like to quote a reply by Dilsay

QUOTE]*Originally posted by Dilsay: *
I always did that but never was considered… :frowning: i will keep doing it may be in future you might like my writing… :slight_smile:

so if the selection power comes to the general public in a well defined and structured approach, everybody will be knowing all the weaknesses and streangths and will be happy with it. and I am sure it will be a lot more fun to share ur views, ideas, thoughts with others his way. think, while reviewing any thread you will be having options of rating instead of plain routine of saying “nice” very nice, ya bohat alla.

i hope it makes sense.

chodhry

also, isnt it better idea to have all the congrate messages in the selected gazal/poem thread. you get to switch over to congrate and read the poem/gazal.

just an idea. if its possible. what you ppl think abt it.

*Originally posted by Gadha: *

• mods are made mods because they deserve to be mods meaning they are capable of understanding fine pieces of poetry and at times when they find something is not appropriate they can take actions.

--- etc.

do U think so :D..:p

chohdry achi si neend laylo lagta hai aap kaye din kay jagay hoo!

bhai waisay hi yahan best nazam or ghazal of da month ki thread hai aab ap kia chahtay hoo!

chohdry take a chill pill ;)

Let me think What I want to say......BrB :)

Soch kay hi bataoon gi na....

*Originally posted by Koyal: *

do U think so :D..:p
absolutely:) aakhir pakistan kee qoumi assembly bhee tau graduate hay ;-)

chodhry sahib

All in all good suggestions, but hard to impliment. Members come here to read, and we've tried that people share their comments and criticism on personal poetry but simply it takes "too much work" for members to do it. All they want to do is read, and if they really like it, they comment on it. Otherwise they move on to the next one. As for the nazm/ghazal of the month, i think having one piece in each category for the whole month is a better idea than three pieces in each. We simply look for the all-rounder pieces and those are selected.

After reading each and every post, i came to the conclusion that

1. MOD wants help in selection, becuz its really difficult to go thruh all the threads and making decisions for selectin the ULTIMATE and the only nazam and Ghazal…

2. MOD wants suggestions of others WITHOUT doing much TECHNICAL work or changing the SYSTEM of GS and all…

3. Problem is, NOT everyone going to PM the MOD

4. Not everyone reads all the threads and can vote a NOT MUCH BETTER thread. and resulting in IGNORANCE of the best…

5. Not everyone Understand the Complexities of a GOOD POEM … so MOD has to be responsible for taking complexities in deciding the beauty of any POEM. .. but MOD also is HUMAN, can’t take much

i considered. MR. GADHA. MR CHODHRY.. ADHOORII ghazal…

** yaar KOI GAL HI NAHI … **
we can IMPLEMENT veto Power of MOD and VOTING power of MEMBERS together…

but here, IMPLEMENTATION of VETO power comes first and then the VOTING…

** le me explain **

selecting only ONE nazam and ONE ghazal from such a big collection is quite difficult for MOD.. but selecting 15 or 20 nazam and Ghazal would not be that difficult…

(1) SO , 1st MOD will SELECT THE BEST 15 or 20 GHAZALS and NAZAMS, just like selecting NOMINEES for the BEST NAZAM and BEST GHAZAL.

(2) then the MOD will start a THREAD posting his selection of 15 or 20 BEST NAZAM and GHAZAL.. ASKING MEMBERS to PM him/her for their choice among 15 or 20…

(3) Members will PM the MOD,.. CASTING their VOTE… and at the END of the MONTH , MOD will ANNOUNCE the WINNER considering the VOTES…

** In my opinion… it will resolve all the STATED problems **

(1) Now MOD dont have to select the ULTIMATE among all, but to select BEST 15 or 20 … this will release some BURDEN

(2) MOD will get SUGGESTIONS, and ppl will PM as the THREAD will be read (VOTING IS AN EXCITING THING AFTER ALL, MOST OF US WILL VOTE :k: )

(3) the Problem that EVERYONE will not read all the threads and vote a wrong thread will surely be eliminated as.. everyone can read 15 or 20 threads and why not if they are mentioned exclusively…

(4) The Complexities of Understanding a GOOD poem will remain in the HAND of MOD.. so no AMBIGUITY…

so PPL … PROBLEM SOLVED… :k:
** I told u… KOI GAL HI NAHI THI YAAAAAR **

I agree with what Amal said.:k:

i agreed with mr gadha.
saher u should follow the way u r following now

Ok ab kahaN se shuroo karooN.

Anyway, first of all thanks to sehar for inviting our opinion.

now as far as voting is concern, no sane person can deny the importance of the voting process. Having said that, Ghadha have some very good points in favour of MODs choosing the poem. But ....

I disagree with many things that people said earlier in this thread, for instance, I dont think going into gendres is a good Idea. Yes I know by saying that I am gonna be the target of all the criticism but I think, understanding poetic gendre is not that easy. How many of you know the exact definition of a Nazam or a Ghazal. And then there are Azad Nazam, the Jari Ghazal (continueous Ghazal) and other such gendres. So how many of you can distinguish a Jari Ghazal from a Nazam. So what you will do will be that you call it a Ghazal if it looks like one and you will call it a Nazam if you think its a Nazam. Sorry Sehar I am not doubting your capabilities but I dont know if all of us can understand these things.

And then there is another problem with that, maybe in a month there would be say 5 great Ghazalz and a few so so kind of Nazams, still you will choose just One Ghazal, leaving behind the others for a not so good nazam. (Ohh My God, I think I am babbling).

So what I am trying to say is that, instead of going into gendres you can point out three Posts of the Month, rating them First, Second and Third.
( I just hope you will understand what I mean, I am not good in explaining things)

Now who will choose these Posts of the Month? Thats the second problem that we have on our hands. So for that I think arfin99 have a good suggestion. (Wo kehtay haiN na, MooN ki cheen li) But he is getting a little bit too excited, choosing 15-20 peoms wont help at all, it will complicate thing even further. But lets make it Five.

Another suggesion is that you can give voting rights to, say 10-15 of the, senior Guuppies, who you think do know peotry well, they will cast the votes and not novices like us will do that.

:D :D I had so many points in my mind but forgot the other ones. I will read all the replies agian later. Maybe that will refresh my memmory.

Ye Now I remember. :smack:

The other thing I wanted to say was that there should be one “Guppy Poem of the Month”

To encourage the poet guppies, cuz competing the guppy poems with poems of great poets like Faraz, Ghalib and Iqbal etc is not even a little bit fair.

Regards

arif99 - Good job, lagta hai kaafi lambi neend se uthay haiN aap.

Black Mamba -

I think you haven't noticed, but the "poet guppies" are the ones that are selected for nazm/ghazal of the month. And i agree, comparing the great works of the likes of Ghalib, Faraz, etc. would be doing unjustice.

Now you've raised a good point about ratings, i will discuss it with DesiMunda and we'll see the pros and cons.

Giving voting powers to 15-20 guppies is unfair to the rest of the members and i don't want anyone to feel left out. :)

Agree with ~Nazish~ :k:
Coz not everyone gonna send PM to MOD, so open a thread and ask ppl to select the Nazam/Ghazal of the month.
And you can also ask senior poets (I personally think Amal is the best, so his opinion should also be considered, he is my choice more poets can also be in the panel) Like koi senior shair apna izhaar e khiyaal kerta hai.
Thats it no more arguments… Full Stop. :slight_smile:

Oh thanx Sehar… and if u like my opinion then i consider myself lucky…
jahan tak Neend ki baat hai to WAQAIII neend kuch lambi hogaii thi, but woh kehtay haina,… DER AAYE DURUST AAYE, i guess i believe in correctness even if it cost A LIFE TIME. :wink:

Yeah I think u r rite in makin 15-20 to five… but i just gave an Idea of the system and didnt considered the NUMBERS of Thread to be CONSIDERED ;)// thanx for pointing out …:k:

*Originally posted by ~Sehar~: *
Black Mamba -

I think you haven't noticed, but the "poet guppies" are the ones that are selected for nazm/ghazal of the month. And i agree, comparing the great works of the likes of Ghalib, Faraz, etc. would be doing unjustice.

Giving voting powers to 15-20 guppies is unfair to the rest of the members and i don't want anyone to feel left out. :)

For the first Part... :( yes I didnt notice that. Thanks for correcting me.

And for the second part, many greats of Political Science agree that, the best form of Government is not Democracy, but the mixture of Democracy and Monarchy. Still I agree you are not running a country here. That was just another option :)

*Originally posted by Lamhay: *
chohdry achi si neend laylo lagta hai aap kaye din kay jagay hoo!

bhai waisay hi yahan best nazam or ghazal of da month ki thread hai aab ap kia chahtay hoo!

chohdry take a chill pill ;)

Lamhay jee, aap key qemmty lamhee ju meri neend ki fiker mein lag gye, mein ney un ka pass rakhtey hovey achee se neend le hey. took 2 whole days off from office, je bher key sooya hoon, full time chill program. thankyou for your suggestion.

now coming back to my point. i wd like to thank all of the participants who have considered this matter again.

I am a newcomer, and as poet when i finally decided to sahre my stuff, i need appreciation and correction to improve myself and my expressions in more discrete sense. and i wanted to share my idea of having a selection system based on theme and wording to better evaluate the master piece .

I can see there's a thread marinating, Nazam/Gazal of the month, and i would love to have my stuff there as much as any other new/old comer but i had a very wage idea about the selection process. i thought its chosen by Mods as the only thread having this discussion is a normal thread (not like other Mod threads at the top) and its title is also not something giving any clue about the selection process. se being new at GS i was lil curious and thought to bring this matter up to help myself and all other new writers at GS to understand the system. anyways its good to see that you are reconsidering the system.

Generally I agree with arfin99 and the improvisation of his idea by Black Mamba and Sehar to have only 5 nominees and then finally one among them. but what ever you do plz don’t miss out on few points.

1) What ever selection methodology we choose, plz either make tht part of the guide-lines or have another mod thread for it (may be a closed thread to avoid further debate)

2) I think the original nazam/gazal thread is apt place to have congratulation msgs if it got selected for the title. you can make announcement thread a closed one. this way it will be less complicated for a newcomer and we can also have few more details abt the poem/poet in the announcement like numbers of pms and reviews and may be an index of his/her other poems.