Infrastructure & Development Projects: Pakistan

Re: PM directs to commence work on Diamer-Bhasha Dam

Possible... Although if they wanted another vanity project, wouldnt they have built it in Lahore?

Re: Infrastructure & Development Projects: Pakistan

abay keerachi ko kuch nae bolna, samjha?
bohat muqaddas sarzameen ha ye :p
most defensive people on earth.

My Grandparents have lived through the the rise of Bhutto, and they say there was a time in Punjab when even if you put a pole in Bhutto's name, the pole would get elected.

Do you see a non Muhajir/Non Sindhi getting that level of acclaim and acceptance (or even slightly less so) in Karachi/Sindh the way Punjab embraced the Sindhi Bhuttos, Muhajir Musharraf and Pashtun Ayub Khan?

PS: Bhutto was no Prophet or Saint or Promised Messiah. He, for his time was just a very capable individual.

Bhutto got support in Punjab, because PPP had gross root worker / presence in Punjab. If he was just another charismatic leader, then I don't think that he would have got that success. There were more charismatic leaders (one can think and find their names), who did tried but could not succeed in Pakistani politics (not limited to Punjab).

Further, those were quite different times than today and people were looking for the kind of agenda PPP brought. Over the time PPP lost its relevance in Punjab (due to over used Roti, KapRa , Makan naara with no solid performance). After Zia Regime (Its been more than 30 years), Punjab's politics is all about Biradri system. Correct me if you think otherwise. We have seen Shah Mehmood Qureshi winning both from PPP and PTI seats.

If we can rejoice Punjab's backing of PPP some 40 years ago, then why not we go a little farther into political history of Sindh, where Sindhis voted for Muslim League (not a Sindhi party) leading to making of Pakistan. Muslim League has been popular in Sindh even after independence and before PPP for whatever little opportunity of elections country observed during those times.

How did Bhutto get such organised and loyal workers in the age without the cable channels and the social media? Yes the point is, he was more than just a charismatic leader, he had really interesting ideas and people of Punjab forgot about his ethnic background and connected with him over an ideology and personal trust in his abilities. Can a decent non Sindhi/non Muhajir connect to locals of Karachi and Sindh over a basis of sound ideology and personal credibility? It's an impossible task.

It is not just Bhuttos that Punjab had been kind to, Punjab had embraced leaders from every ethnic background, be it in uniforms or in waistcoats.

The Bridari system you are describing is a prominent trend in rural Punjab. In urban Punjab, there's always been a strong tradition of tough political competition. Forget about SMQ's rural constituency, how about the way old timer Hashmi was defeated in by elections in Multan? But if Pakistan's self proclaimed all urban, all educated commercial city's voting behaviour is happily at par with how people in undeveloped villages of Punjab vote, then I rest my case.

There is nothing positive that you have to say about karachi?.

I wonder how people can compare karachi with punjab. Social media is full of MQMers racist messages for non-muhajirs. Its karachi ( not establishment) that votes for MQM. A little girl singing song with lyrics "shehar ko lashon se paat dalo". another girl says "tum ne shuhada se ghaddari ki hai, muahjiro ko pata hai onhain kia krna aur kia manzil hai". Another mqmer on winning LB elections, "PPP, plmn, PTI aur jamation ab karachi ko ikhtiyar do". lolz, at PTI aur Jamtio. Ironically, Musta kamal's main concern is muahjir votes went to PTI. I can write so many things coming from karachi but let them sow what they are already reaping. Also I couldnt see a punjabi chanting "jag punjabi jag" even when PPP was in center.

I had followed the LB elections so closely in Pakistan, it got ugly and violent everywhere but the only place it got racist was Karachi where the population constantly boasts about being so urban and educated. How can you possibly elect a Mayor who racially abused Karachi's second largest demographic - Pashtuns and the largest population group of the country - Punjabis? One day, Imran used to get abused for being a Pathan. Second day, he used to get abused for being a Punjabi, and this is how MQM's election campaign went on, and it was a great success! How many people in Karachi condemned such racism? How many Karachi based posters on this forum condemned such racism? Yes you only see non Karachiites pointing this out because people who live there are perhaps just so immune to it.

The kind of anger and disgust I have seen for an 'outside' party PTI who committed the cardinal sin of competing in Karachi was unbelievable. People on this forum were so angry that 'haan haan humare shehar me aaye, humara vote maanga tou manga kyoon'. *Such attitude is totally unacceptable, you must acknowledge the racial xenophobia and condemn it. *You cannot quote the circumstances of 1950s to make racism of 2016 look so poetic and justified.

You can argue that only 30% of Karachi voted for MQM, but it also shows that rest of the 70% doesn't think there's anything wrong with having a racist party MQM at helm, hence didn't vote against them.

The Bridari system you are describing is a prominent trend in rural Punjab. In urban Punjab, there's always been a strong tradition of tough political competition. Forget about SMQ's rural constituency, how about the way old timer Hashmi was defeated in by elections in Multan? But if Pakistan's self proclaimed all urban, all educated commercial city's voting behaviour is happily at par with how people in undeveloped villages of Punjab vote, then I rest my case.

I had followed the LB elections so closely in Pakistan, it got ugly and violent everywhere but the only place it got racist was Karachi where the population constantly boasts about being so urban and educated. How can you possibly elect a Mayor who racially abused Karachi's second largest demographic - Pashtuns and the largest population group of the country - Punjabis?

Karachi's population is not homogeneous (only Muhajirs). You might know the demographic figures of mini Pakistan and thats how you are stating who is second large ethnicity in Karachi. If Karachi votes on racist lines, then just don't call Muhajirs racist. Other communities living in Karachi are same racist, which eventually make whole Pakistan racist.

BTW, its same Karachi where they got Nabeel Gabol (not a Muhajir) selected from 90 constituency. Same Karachi elect PTI's MNA and same Karachi has voted for PTI to make it no.2 party as far as total votes are concerned.

The kind of propaganda being fed to people of Punjab against Karachi (the fear in their mind.. the lines that other communities will have to wait in Tandoor lines to get roti) says how much they about Karachi.

I just replied to DB for his genralisation of the city as garbage based on limited knowledge of the localities and then playing with this old 'outsider' game. I don't want to indulge in such discussions, as I know such discussion are just waste of time. None of us will change his / her stance on these matters.

Even if I give one hundred examples, you would would be like main na manon.
There is hell of difference between voter thinking of punjab and karachi. In punjab people may vote for corrupt parties like PPPand PMLn, but in karachi majority vote for killers/racists. You cannot even imagine pmln getting votes from Sindh.

Never wanted to address you but lets burst your bubble. PMLN is killer of Model Town people and still getting votes in Punjab. Same city and probably same constituency.

Now PMLN not getting votes Sindh, just go through the links below:

PML-N wins seats in Sindh after 11 years - Newspaper - DAWN.COM

Your homework: Go get check LG polls result in Sindh and report back with PMLN seats.

You can call all of Pakistan racist for sake of Karachi. But it is not a coincidence that the only place in Pakistan where racism proudly meets politics is Karachi. Are you really going to deny that MQM's racist election campaigns that always does the trick? It is also not a coincidence that the only place where political competition is vehemently and violently opposed on racial and territorial line is Karachi. Of course KPK and Punjab too are also part of the same Pakistan and are more rural, more tribal, more backward with high illiteracy rate than Karachi. So its self explanatory that people there do indeed vote along the lines of tribalism, but both provinces despite their inherent shortcomings has a long tradition of accepting political competition and embracing leaders belonging to different ethnic groups - that reflects their ultimate potential to rise above ethnic slogans. Imran is a Punjab resident who doesn't speak a word of Pashto, but I have never seen him get racially abused in KPK no matter how nasty ANP gets in their opposition. But the only place where he was racially abused in front of a roaring crowd is Karachi. I know you hate Imran, but do you condemn the racist and xenophobic opposition he receives in Karachi? (yes I know people in Karachi come out to see him as well)

Interesting that you mentioned Nabeel Gabol. Do you know who Nabeel Gabol gives credit to to his win - MQM's thappa mafia! In his own words, he doesn't know how he got that many votes, MQM told him to go to sleep, and leave everything on them, and he'll wake up as the winner in the morning. These are Nabeel Gabol's own words. But what about the thrashing PTI's non Muhajir Imran Ismail got in NA246 just when Saulat Mirza and Baldia Town confessions were pouring in? The recent elections in NA246 has to be the fairest elections in the history of Pakistan where Rangers were standing on every nook and corner of that area.

I don't know how racist are some of other communities in Karachi, but the only party ruling Karachi with a iron fist is a Muhajir party. They only acknowledge and appeal to their Muhajir vote bank, and whoever wins that Muhajir vote bank rules Karachi. The ANP in the name of ethnicity did get more seats than PTI, and that just shows, had PTI bothered selling the chooran of Muhajirpan or Pashunism - they too would've been in a much better position. But the party and it leader are vehemently hated or just simply ignored in Karachi because they are non violent and have no ethnic slogans to sell to appeal to any particular community except Defence/Clifton 'burgers'.

As with NA250 seat of PTI. That was a win after a long struggled recount. PTI in the process lost one of its founding members and innocent workers before getting that seat back - that's the price they had to pay to get their foot in Karachi. Defence/Clifton doesn't even represent 5% of Karachi.

Muqqawwee, I'm so sorry to say that but even you accused Imran Khan of calling the entire Muhajir race 'zinda laashain' when he in fact referred to Rabita Committee members listening to totally drunk Altaf Hussain's speeches/abuses at 3am in the morning. Don't deny the fact that ethnic propaganda is never used against 'outside' people who try to politically compete in Karachi, and how convenient and easy it is for people to turn anything against MQM = anti Muhajir or anti Karachi. Does such practice exist in KPK or Punjab?

Why is that Imran Khan can put PMLN on blast everyday, but his opposition to PMLN is never seen as an attack on Punjabi race?

I am no supporter of PMLn but they dont need to kill supporters of irrelevant qadri who cannot challenge even a single candidate of PMLn. magar dil ke behlanay ko ghalib khyal acha hai.
For PMLn vote bank in sindh, I meant rural sindh where PPP has stronghold. Also the candidate won in Karachi was strong enough to win even as independent candidate so that is not PMLn vote.

Anybody can win 90 as long as he gets support of MQM. It would be impossible for Nabeel Gabol to win against MQM, instead. Even a sector in-charge can win from 90 against IK if he contest.

muqawwee pai jaan aap tau bura maan gye … hmesha shaant rhna aapki parampara h … :smokin:

Nobody questions about Karachi being the growth engine of Pak, but this thriving city certainly not deserve what its is facing for past 40 years. My simple question is why people of Karachi & Sindh 've been left with only 2 options MQM or PPP ? why not PTI , why not PML-N , why not ANP or why not any other party ? As @Chaudry](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/members/chaudry/) **sahab **already mentioned in one of the thread that Nawaz Sharif is not a Punjabi at all, he is basically a Kashmiri Muhajir, real Punjabis (Jat,Chaudry,Arain,Rana Rajpoot,Bhatti,Chattas) are actually in PML-Q but in Punjab they are now part of history’s dustbin in Punjab Politics… When will Sindhis/Karachi walas do the same to MQM & PPPP ? One is raping Sindh in the name of Democracy & Dead Bodies for past 40 years, Other is harping tunes of Muhajir despite being born in Pakistan ? The biggest Hijrat occured in Punjab where 5 Rivers turned into Red with worst bloodshed of human history ! UP or MP to Karachi Hijrat was mostly peaceful via special trains & planes with minimum bloodshed. Still in Punjab hardly anyone call himself as Muhajir. My Nana migrated from Tehsil Batala District Gurdaspur in 1947 but never ever call himself Muhajir neither we declare us Muhajirs and demand some special treatment should be given to us …

Agree with that ... footpaths really lack in Pak

ANP is not an option for Karachi at all. They proved be just as bad as MQM with their violence laden ethno-nationalism.

I just responded for your generalization of the city I live in and obviously have an attachment. Otherwise, the way discussion has moved forward now is what I don’t want to indulge in, as this has been discussed to death and probably we are unable to understand each others point of view.

You can carry with your picture posting.

China’s Shangdong province to build industrial Park in Pakistan

March 09, 2016, 3:11 pm

**INP

**BEIJING: East China’s Shandong province that reported strong economic growth in the 12th Five-Year Plan period (2011-15) has announced its foreign development plan that included setting up an industrial park in Pakistan.

The province’s Governor Guo Shuqing, who is here to attend the o going National People’s Congress’s session said they will be coming up with heavy investment in Pakistan during next five year. “ We attach great to our relations with Pakistan, ”, he added.

According to the Chinese media’s reports, Shandong’s GDP reached $962 billion last year. The average annual growth rate over the five years was 9.4 percent.

Shandong currently has 13 national high-tech industrial zones, 1,427 provincial-level or above company-owned technology centers and 35 engineering research centers.

According to statistics from the Shandong provincial department of commerce, China built 13 State-level overseas economic and trade cooperation zones by the end of the year, three of which are backed by Shandong.

More than 6,800 foreign-invested projects were launched in Shandong in the past five years. The province’s total used foreign capital was $69.1 billion, about 1.5 times more than the previous five years. Shandong is looking for a pioneer role on the international stage by seizing the opportunities associated with the Belt and Road Initiative.

The Chinese government’s action plan on building the Silk Road Economic Belt and the 21st Century Maritime Silk Road released last year listed Shandong’s two coastal cities, Yantaiand Qingdao, among 15 key Chinese cities along the Belt and Road.

Last year Shandong signed $6.14 billion in contracts with countries along the Belt and Road, according to the provincial department of commerce.
Pakistan, Iran to sign 3,000MW power supply deals

By Zafar Bhutta
Published: March 10, 2016

http://i1.tribune.com.pk/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/1062677-IranianPresidentsvisitZafarsstorycopy-1457546769-481-640x480.jpg

ISLAMABAD:** Pakistan and Iran are set to sign deals for supply of over 3,000 megawatts of electricity to meet energy needs of the former during Iranian President Hasan Rouhani’s visit to Islamabad, beginning March 25.**

“Three power import deals are expected to be inked by the two countries including supply of 100MW, 75MW and 1,000MW,” a diplomatic source said while talking to The Express Tribune. The
1,000MW agreement could be extended to 3,000MW of electricity.

Pakistan is already importing 73MW to meet the requirement of Gwadar but payments could not be made since 2011. Now that sanctions have been removed from Iran, officials believe banking channels will be opened, paving the way for payment of outstanding bills.

http://i1.tribune.com.pk/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/73MW.jpg

The schedule of Iranian head of state’s two-day trip was disclosed during a meeting between Water and Power Minister Khawaja Muhammad Asif and Iranian Ambassador Mehdi Honardoost on Wednesday.

Rouhani’s arrival here holds great significance in the backdrop of lifting of global restrictions and current visit of Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif and Army Chief General Raheel Sharif to Saudi Arabia, which has tense relations with Iran. According to a statement issued by the Ministry of Water and Power, Minister Khawaja Asif assured the Iranian envoy that Pakistan would play a positive role in bringing peace in the region.

The two dignitaries discussed all areas of mutual interest and bilateral cooperation in the field of energy, trade, business and defence. They agreed that due to lack of economic activities in the region, incidents of terrorism were growing.

Stressing that Pakistan and Iran were enjoying close and cordial relations in different fields, Asif said Pakistan was looking forward to the visit of Iranian president with great interest in the hope that it would lead to further deepening of bilateral ties.

CPEC participation**
Asif also highlighted the significance of the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC), saying it was the most important artery in the region and all countries in the area should draw up plans for extracting maximum benefits out of the project.
According to officials, Pakistan will formally offer Iran during Rouhani’s visit to participate in the CPEC programme, which would bring peace and ensure vital connections among regional states.
The Iranian envoy pointed out that as curbs had been withdrawn, Tehran had a great potential for attracting investment and priority would be given to the neighbouring nations.

IP gas pipeline**

The ambassador insisted that friendship between Islamabad and Tehran would be reflected in joint projects and the Iran-Pakistan (IP) gas pipeline was one of the best schemes in this regard.
Officials of the Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Resources said the Iranian president would push Pakistan to implement the IP pipeline project, which had earlier been stalled by the sanctions on Tehran.

The pipeline was to start running in December 2014 but work could not kick off. Pakistan had tried to engage China and Russia to help implement and finance the pipeline but to no avail. Even Iran offered to finance the project but after formation of the new government there the plan was shelved.

Now, hopes are high that the two countries will be able to press on with the plan. Pakistan has already awarded a contract for laying a liquefied natural gas pipeline and building a terminal in Gwadar to a Chinese company. This pipeline will be extended to the Iranian border to connect to the IP pipeline.

Officials said the Iranian president would take up the issue with Pakistan as the government had earlier given a commitment to starting work on the project after removal of sanctions.
If Pakistan did not push ahead with the project, it would have to pay penalties running into millions of dollars, which could strain ties between the two countries.
Published in The Express Tribune, March 10[SUP]th[/SUP], 2016.*