Inferiority Complex

Are there any unbranded computers?

Apki tabyat kuch sahi nahi hay aaj. I go for Tapal danay dar chai, Dove Soap, Crest Toothpaste etc etc.
How does it make me shaitan ka bhai ?
Where did you get your fatwa from ?

You are not alone as per hareem’s fatwa ,almost every Muslim who prefers to go for brand name even for staples , just for the sake of quality is doomed.
Lagta hay aaj ya to husband say larai hoi hay ya apni dawa khani bhool gain hain.

Chalen aap bhi uraa lain mazaaq. lolz

I meant Designer names/labels.

Yes! Theres a lot of stores in the neighborhood which sell them, and you can always build your own. But the thing is, branded material quite often is cheaper, more reliable, and backed up with a better warranty because the financially stronger company can take a hit at times, in order to maintain customer support. Sometimes they cost more, but hey quality costs money! Also, these days its becoming so common, people dont brag about it anymore.

My whole point is, theres nothing wrong with buying branded stuff.

Also, we have the right to be fazool-karch sometimes, with modesty ofcourse, I mean we dont bust our chops 9-5 to be zombies afterall.

What do you think about Junaid Jamshed’s designer shalwar kameez? :faizy:

Now, those are halaal for sure!

I’m not sure if it’s inferiority complex. Some people do that because they feel insecure about something (I know it sounds the same). Actually I can’t explain :hinna:

Re: Inferiority Complex

I buy branded/designers sunglasses in the beginning of every summer and lose them in the beginning of winter (it happens unintentionally but is happening for few years now :bummer.) Anyway, no I don't have any sort of inferiority complex nor I think it makes me satan's sister....lol... Most of the times quality of branded stuff is better then the non branded stuff and if one can afford quality stuff then they should go for it.
It is the same way that I will prefer Al-Karam lawn that lasts longer then some no name lawn from the thela in tariqroad that looks worn out after few times. Again buying Al-Karam lawn doesn't means I am satan's sister.

That was such a funny statement hareem. lol

Ive managed to hang on to my oaks since 2004, I paid a crapload of money for those polarized, uv resistant shades, but its paid off , 4 years and not a scratch on it!

I don’t know…I never bought it.

Lusi and Spock

Buying sunglasses once a year and wearing lawn kay kapray doesn't make you shaitan kay behan bhai.

I was talking about people who ALWAYS buy designer stuff for the sake of pretensiousness.

if someone spends money on himself and on his family he gets reward for that from Allah but on the other hand we've been told by Prohet(SAW) to spend modestly.

Point is that we should be known for what we are rather what we got.

:CareBear:

I buy branded goods too but people who constantly compare what they have with what you don't have seem to have some sort of complex and are basically obnoxious. I know one such person, I remember when I got married my hubby and I didn't have enough off days from work plus didn't have a lot of funds to go for honeymoon and this girl constantly asked if we are going somewhere, I said no honey we are temporarily broke and then she started mentioning one of her friends who recently got married and went to Hawai! Other times she'd just say things like 'oh my husband buys his jeans from this expensive store' or 'look, i just bought this $500 cellphone' ....sometimes it's hard to respond to her coz I so don''t feel jealous of what she has(kuch khaas hai bhi nahi iske paas) because alhumdulillah I'm blessed with everything I need or want and my hubby never refuses to fulfil my demands. This sort of behaviour leaves me just annoyed!

i think they are just pulling your leg.

we know what you mean.

there are people who would never buy anything that isn't 'designer', who look down on others who aren't the same as them. the kind of people who might like something but if they found out it wasn't a label, they wouldn't touch it with a barge pole.

I have a relative and she buys designer stuff for herself but when it comes to giving someone gift, she buys very cheap stuff for them.

She's got 100's of clothes in her wardrobe but she still gets jealous of others clothes.

But what do you think, if the people who buy his expensive as hell designer shalwar kameez are brothers of shaitaan as suggested by you, what does that make him?

p.s. i love his kurtaz! just got my 3rd in March ;)

If someone buys his expensive kurtas after every single day for himself then yes I'd call him satan's buddy.

here's the ayat...from chapter 17 of Qur'an

26. And render to the kindred their due rights, as (also) to those in want, and to the wayfarer: But squander not (your wealth) in the manner of a spendthrift. 27. Verily spendthrifts are brothers of the Evil Ones; and the Evil One is to his Lord (himself) ungrateful.

Now understand whatever you want to understand from them.

We have already concluded that the buyer is a shaitaan ka buddy/bhai, but what about the seller, aka JJ!

JJ is mera bhai.