Inferiority Complex

Inspired by Aisha’s ‘Complex’ thread. Do you think that folks who constantly talk about how much money they have and how they buy fancy expensive things are doing it because deep down they are trying to over compensating for some sort of inferiority complex or perceived weakness or are they just showing off?

Re: Inferiority Complex

both!

people who have an inferiority complex are the ones who feel the need to show-off..

OH YES! they try to prove themselves to u.even though they arent ****..and most of the time its if they're jealous of something you have...I've noticed ppl who see that u have confidence in whatever ur doing try to shoe off more in front of you

Absolutely yes!

not true .. at least not all the time .. maybe they are just proud of there achievments and the result of there hard work ..

why should we expect that people need only to talk about their miseries and weakness and not the blessings and strengths

JAHALAT!

a very good way of looking at it!

That's true for some people but not always...

I know many people who just show off because their parents can afford everything for them...Its not like they have achieved anything much in their lives theirselves....

There is someone getting married in my family...and she cant stop talking about how much gold she will be getting...or how she will get the best of everything....I mean mashAllah...may Allah give you more later in life too...but what's the point of showing off!! I am not sure if it's inferiorty complex everytime...there is such a thing as superiorty complex and it could be on the basis of ones looks, wealth, acheivements, etc.

Allah guide us all...any kinda complex can destroy people's lives...

Yes. And often because they've grown up in a community that really values it. Though America is certainly materialistic, I rarely feel this kind of pressure from other Americans. In fact, it's only been people from the Middle East who have emphasized this.

^^ Me Agree :chai:

Can it not be because they want others to get inspiration from their achievements and try to achieve what they have achieved ?
IMO , we should work hard to get to that level ourselves instead of brushing off achievements of others as show off or complex.
If someone has a BMW car how can they say that they have a khachar for transportation or if they live in a big house how can they post the picture of a shack instead.

Depends.

I don't think i brag very much, but someone once complained that i was bragging about how much stuff i had (jewelery) when I never ever ever had that intention. I wont even show pixs of it, like others post theirs, only b/c i'm afraid of being too proud or something.

In other things, sometimes i will brag... but only b/c its something i achieved and i am proud of, like a good grade or how little i paid for something :D

no not necessary ................ as others have replied ,this could be due u many factors not particularly the one's u've pointed out

I think we can make a better judgement when we see other qualities of the person as well. For instance, we have a friend who is very accomplished in his career, has a great family life, and when he talks about his achievements, it never comes across as arrogance. Maybe that's just his way, while there are others who are indeed boastful.

I also think that our reaction to someone's style of talking also shows a bit of who we are in terms of our complexes.

Inferiority complex goes hand in hand with the new bragging gene...it makes them feel important.....usually barey buzurg advise against showing off..for example they would say....dont open this or that in front of people..or dont discuss your promotion with everyone....
but now... I dont think people really care about that anymore...people change cars every year..brag about their salaries...compete with each other in terms of expenditures.... even if they are secretly regretting spending the money on something tasteless...they would buy it just to show it off.... seriously.. :)
modesty is out....bragging is IN!! why? because it makes the ego fatter.....although the complex..grows bigger and bigger....otherwise you d think that it would die after an X amount of money has been spent...

Mamo mami, i agree with both of you here. Just combine what both of you said and this is a really good way of looking at it. First of Sahar is right, for them it might not be bragging or anything like that because the society they are living in is structured this way. For other people who are different it might seem different and odd and might seem that they are suffering from a complex. It is not written anywhere that those people who are rich and have lots of things to brag about are not accomplished. Rich people have brains too, they work hard to gain their money(most of them) and when they achieve something through hardwork they like to tell about their achievements.

However what aahmed said is true to certain extents that SOME people do have complexes because some of them have certain weaknesses like physical weaknesses. Some people might be the ugliest people alive but because they are rich they feel that by bragging they can gain friends and relationships. People will like them for their money. Some people who are not thin like other people and are a bit weighty or chubby might feel if they have money and they show off they will gain friends but that is not true. I found out this does not work, people are there still who see what is in the heart and does not go for material gains from a person's friendship. But this is what they think and have in their mind, it is psychological. It can be eradicated with the help of friends around you etc ...

I sort of agree...like if I hear a girl saying that "omg I need this new chanel bag"..I get immediately repulsed, even though my own sister has a chanel bag. It just makes me think their priorities are much diff than mine.

On the other hand, reference point matters a lot. In Pakistan, I would say stuff innocently like "mummy can we go to arizona grill?" or "omg...this is only 1200 rupees!" and my cousins were ignoring me because they thought i was trying to show off. To them it sounded like i was trying to mention 'expensive' places or showoff my money, but i really was not. In fact I live more humbly in the US than my cousins in Pak. But they felt for a while kay show mar rahi hai, bari apne aap ko Amrikan samaj thi hai. So it is possible if the person is at a certain level, things that we may find luxurious are simply a fact of life for them. So if I see a person driving a 50K car, I don't immediately assume they are wasteful because I remember that even my simple Toyota might be considered a ripoff by someone else.

people who are always after brand names are Satan's brothers and sisters.

^ I always go after Dell, and not some unbranded computer!! I guess apun shaitaan ka bhai hai :devil: