Re: India’s mars mission countdown…
It’ll be a perfect statement if we break the word into two and change the pronoun to his!
Re: India's mars mission countdown...
tauba tauba, Sid je, kaise baataan karte ho mian. now question is who will report this first - diwanaji or Tanvir Singh. :\
On a more balanced note:
First of all - It is pointless comparing $73 Million dollars of cost of the India Mars mission with the cost of Gravity Hollywood film $100 Million, because the film was an investment that so far has returned back over $731 Million. The Mars mission is a cost without a tangible financial return.
Secondly, I can agree with diwana in the sense that these missions are a form of "showing off" - they do not serve immediate benefit to mankind or the planet and are done to compete with others much in a similar way as football, cricket and eurovision song contests are like this type of competitiveness for the sake of competition.
But looking more closely there is also something to be commended ... And the commendations are as so:
1) It demonstrates a high level of technical understanding - is being home grown in India - top capability is a sign for overall capability - the bar is now raised and people will strive to be at least as good, across the whole nation.
2) It demonstrates a good level of coordination and team work ... The maturity required in organising and pulling off a mission to a place like Mars is immense. People need to be trusted and several peers need to be constantly cross-examining and checking to see if they are right. This type of mentality until recently has not been visible in the Indians.
3) Many people who think at the corporeal level - the material level - see this as India doing this from money ... that anyone can do the same if they had money. As can be seen many more nations that are supposed to be more advanced could not achieve it. To some extent we must understand that Allah (SWT) enabled this feat to be possible and He bestowed the Indians with this gift of achievement. Why? Perhaps we need to study our neighbours a bit closer ... and stop watching their dramas and start learning from their scientists.
4) Although no immediate benefit can be seen here - long term benefits can result. In future other countries may want to work with Indians for other missions - sharing money and knowledge and there is a potential learning process that can be gained from this ... India are in the driving seat ... Just imagine some ancient scripture is found in Pakistan ... The Pakistanis will have first rights to have it analysed and interpreted and they can give the seconds and thirds to others afterwards ... Similar things will come from such Mars missions. I'm sure the Indians will have had a plan for sending their mission to Mars to be one of research and that research will be likely to bring some money back.
5) The morale of the Indians is increased and the success demonstrates an understanding of the natural phenomena of entry, re-entry, climate, space travel, gravity and so on ... India has previously been credited in technology and science ... I remember when I first learned about the Boson ... I learned about Satyendra Nath Bose ... who with Einstein worked out the theory behind exchange particles and Paul Dirac coined the phrase for the Boson after his own research. Among the scientific community and now whenever we hear the word "boson" we will be reminded of that Indian scientist. His memory lives on after 35 years and will do so for many more years - most people are forgotten, but his name will live on for a while.
Finally I want to confirm my agreement with diwana that all of this is not really that beneficial to humanity in the sense that it does not take us out of the dark ages we as a human race are getting ourselves in to ... So here is the challenge for Pakistan.
Let's not compete in the space race ... Let's start a humanitarian struggle, let's become the best nation at taking care of the environment, animals, humans - best at recycling, reusing, most advanced in alternative fuels and most hospitable people, best history preservers such that we can host visitors from outside tourists and researchers and show the world how good we can be ... Let's try to achieve that ... I must accept that your argument is good against India in terms of the money spent ... however, are we as yet in terms of Pakistan able to show the world that we are doing other great things that the world should be envious about? I don't think we can ... We can wag our finger at India for wasting money - but we have nothing to show for it ourselves ... Not yet. InshaAllah we will not spend money on these things - we will spend money on other things that helps humanity ... Is that right?
So what can we do to start this effort?
With a proper dedication and meaningful Co-ordinations,Pakistan can also achieve this great success.
All thevery best SUPARCO
2)This will lead to further audacious space odysseys and will prompt us to send more satellites in to space that will boost our communication networks for both Military and Civilian needs.Means more digitally networked India.Our friends can also benefit from this.Means a better co-ordinated friendly ties.This will safe guard our terrotories,will alert our people from catastrophic events like Tsunami,earthquake,cloud burst,Tornados,floods etc.Means we can save lives and properties in turn financial maintenance.Also it can safe guarentee our friendly nations and their people will also benefit from it.So it’s a huge mankind mission that we have undertaken. So it’s financial-socio-political implications are limitless.I would say,we have achieved this great feat not only for us but for the whole mankind,it’s generations to come and it’s civilization.
3)Our Chandrayan-1,that was launched in the year 2008,having achieved 95% mission ,though did not last long**, MADE A STUNNING AND AN IMPORTANT DISCOVERY OF PRESENCE OF WATER MOLECULES ON LUNAR SURFACE. Eventhough we had spent a big deal of money on that,we contributed this word with a very important information that was unknown to mankind.No knowledge is trivial.It has a priceless value.Now our generation(including me ,you, KKF Bhai, TLK Bhai,Waleed Bhai,esteemed Diwana and all others in this world)know that there is water presence on the moon. How we know that?Only because of India’s Chandrayan-1.So we do not mind our Government spending money on such missions.After all,it benefits people like Diwana** and mankind. .
We are happy to help all ![]()
4)Mangalyan will study and send photographs of Mars and it’s space and serious studies/researches are going to be done with them.So the mankind and the generations to come are going to benefit of them.No knowledge is trivial,my friends.
Also,a healthy and a meaningful competition in any field including space is necessary and is welcomed.
We have showed the world that,despite all the bans and embargos on technologies,how a nation with powerful thinkers with unabated positive thinking and confidence(Like Vi**d) can emerge out of nothing.This will be a huge morale booster for the mankind for centuries. I would say 24th of September 2014 is one of the glorious chapters in the history of mankind and the world as a whole.
May the Great Almighty God help us to explore and undertake more such missions.
We will do it for sure.
:indiaflag:
Tomorrow,if our esteemed member Diwana is taking part in any reality T.V competition and if he makes it to the final and the he gets the last question like this.
Which is the only maiden successful mission to Mars? He does not have to think further…He can say…**IT IS INDIA’S MANGALYAN **
He will win the sum
k: Ofcourse he will benefit out of India’s Mars mission… (An example of how the mankind will benefit of India’s Mars mission)
Tomorrow,if his child goes to him and asks… Papa is there life on Moon? He can think…India’s Chanrayan-1 and a myriad number of probes by other nations did not find any evidence .He can reply .No child.There is no life on the moon.
If his child asks him..PAPA ,if there is water presence on the Moon?He does not have to think even for a bit of second .Yes,my child .There is water presence on the moon.How do you know that PAPA ,the child asks. Then Diwana will say…
I KNOW IT BECAUSE INDIAN’S HAVE DISCOVERED IT. ![]()
Peace Arleitter
I already congratulated India's success ... Too much flag flying for India on a Pakistani forum is a sign that despite material and scientific advances ... As an Indian you are failing in advanced forms of courtesy, manners and humbleness.
I hope you can see that despite your "success" ... It is still you who chooses to visit a Pakistani forum (because of our cultural richness) and not the other way round. I apologise if this disturbs you, but quite frankly you should realise that yourself.
for once i agree with psyah. just plain terrible, aralittar. stop your public masturbation.
Peace Arleitter
I already congratulated India's success ... Too much flag flying for India on a Pakistani forum is a sign that despite material and scientific advances ... As an Indian you are failing in advanced forms of courtesy, manners and humbleness.
I hope you can see that despite your "success" ... It is still you who chooses to visit a Pakistani forum (because of our cultural richness) and not the other way round. I apologise if this disturbs you, but quite frankly you should realise that yourself.
Whatever that makes you peaceful.... :)
The way you brought in this site's name in this discussion is a mere reflection of your thoughts,Psyah.It looks so short of any professional standard.
Your failed attempt at supporting Diwana was making me disturbed.Thank you.
Peace to you Psyah..
Mars Mission sends it’s first photos…
India’s spacecraft beams back first Mars photos - World - DAWN.COM
BANGALORE: India's spacecraft has beamed back its first photos of Mars, showing its crater-marked surface, as the country glowed with pride Thursday after winning Asia's race to the Red Planet.
The Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) uploaded one of the photos to its Facebook page, showing an orange surface with dark holes, taken from a height of 7,300 kilometres (4,536 miles).
ISRO also posted the photo on Twitter, with the caption “The view is nice up here”.
The organisation’s senior scientist V. Koteswara Rao said the spacecraft, called the Mars Orbiter Mission, has taken a dozen photos and that everything was working well.
“The Mars colour camera on board started working soon after Orbiter stabilised in the elliptical orbit of Mars and has taken a dozen quality pictures of its surface and its surroundings,” Rao told AFP.
“The camera will also take images of the Red Planet’s two moons and beam them to our deep space network centre,” he added, referring to the base near the southern city of Bangalore.
Related: India over the moon as its spacecraft enters Mars orbit](http://www.dawn.com/news/1134205/india-over-the-moon-as-its-spacecraft-enters-mars-orbit)
“Health and other parameters of the spacecraft are fine and all the essential functions are performing normally." India became the first Asian country to reach Mars on Wednesday when the unmanned Mangalyaan spacecraft entered the planet’s orbit after a 10-month journey, all on a shoestring budget.
The mission, which is designed to search for evidence of life on the planet, is a huge source of national pride for India as it competes with Asian rivals for success in space.
[HR][/HR] Supremacy in Asia [HR][/HR] India became the first Asian country to reach Mars on Wednesday when the unmanned Mangalyaan spacecraft entered the planet’s orbit after a 10-month journey, all on a shoestring budget.
The mission, which is designed to search for evidence of life on the planet, is a huge source of national pride for India as it competes with Asian rivals for success in space.
India beat rival neighbour China, whose first attempt flopped in 2011 despite the Asian superpower pouring billions of dollars into its programme.
At just $74 million, India’s mission cost less than the estimated $100 million budget of the sci-fi blockbuster “Gravity”.
It also represents just a fraction of the cost of NASA’s $671 million MAVEN spacecraft, which successfully began orbiting the fourth planet from the sun on Sunday.
India now joins an elite club of the United States, Russia and Europe who can boast of reaching Mars. More than half of all missions to the planet have ended in failure.
No single nation had previously succeeded on its first go, although the European Space Agency, which represents a consortium of countries, pulled off the feat at its first attempt.
Scientists presented the Mars photos on Thursday to Prime Minister Narendra Modi who was on hand in the command centre to witness the achievement.
“The success of our space programme is a shining symbol of what we are capable of as a nation,” a jubilant Modi said on Wednesday.
The mission’s success received front-page coverage in Indian newspapers Thursday, with the Hindustan Times declaring “MARTIAN RACE WON” and the Times of India, “India enters super exclusive Mars club".
“Indians, from government ministers to office workers and cricketers poured onto Twitter to show their national pride, while school students celebrated by eating traditional Indian sweets."
“The space exploration arena is getting crowded and it is important to be ahead of your competition,” the Hindustan Times said in an editorial.
“India, by becoming the first Asian country to launch a successful Mars mission, has taken the wind out of the sails of nations like China, Japan and South Korea,” it said.
Critics of the programme say a country that struggles to feed its people adequately and where roughly half have no toilets should not be splurging on space travel.
ager tasweer hi khechni thi.. to google image say hi dekh laity intni investment kar kay Pakistan ki neendian kion haram kardian… ![]()
Whatever that makes you peaceful.... :)
The way you brought in this site's name in this discussion is a mere reflection of your thoughts,Psyah.It looks so short of any professional standard.
Your failed attempt at supporting Diwana was making me disturbed.Thank you.
Peace to you Psyah..
You're welcome
It'll be a perfect statement if we break the word into two and change the pronoun to his!
It's a shame when mods themselves indulge in personal and obscene insults and nobody has the decency or guts to object to it.
No wonder other members feel the urge to indulge in similar behaviour with impunity.
It's a shame when mods themselves indulge in personal and obscene insults and nobody has the decency or guts to object to it.
No wonder other members feel the urge to indulge in similar behaviour with impunity.
Mocho Gracias! You only read edited posts by some poster I was addressing so you've no clue what you are talking about.
Peace Arleitter
Flag flying for India on a predominantly Pakistani forum to celebrate good/positive news from India when it is not belittling Pakistan is NOT offensive. At least to me.
What is obviously offensive is when there are insults hurled directly at Pakistanis or Pakistan.
That would be tacky and uncivilized.
There are instance of that happening but I personally can't remember Arleitter indulging in that kind of mud-slinging.
I thought his post 46 was in good tongue-in-cheek fun.
Mocho Gracias! You only read edited posts by some poster I was addressing so you've no clue what you are talking about.
I have all the clue as does anybody else who read it.
The insult was directed at Diwana and it was pretty clear from the context.
There is no use denying it.
Chalo. Jaldi handshake ho jaye.
Did you guys know there is a new post in the Nuggets thread after 2 months break?
It'll be a perfect statement if we break the word into two and change the pronoun to his!
Million dollar question:
Why did YOU have to answer it the way it was intended?. ;)
Aaapas Ki baat hai....Sid yaar, you could have stayed quiet but you had to to break it down the 'word'....I mean the secret by being defensive.
Ahem ahem.
TS bhai, thanks. You are a gem. Seriously.
I didnt know you announce million dollar for such silly ones.. ![]()
I think I stayed quite enough on your earlier pre-edit posts cuz they werent worthy enough of my words .. Queer though said something sensible so i’d to extend it to make it more meaningful.
So ya now add this million dollar to the gem you have recognized and sell it on olx!
you know na Aadmi heera hai par..