India's mars mission countdown...

Just 8 more days left for a historic achievement .The whole of Asia can be proud of this because India (ISRO) will become the only 4th nation in the world to accomplish this great feat after Soviets,U.S.A and the European Space Agency. :slight_smile:

Despite all these technologies,we still do not have a Missile that can reach …

MOM Countdown: 9 Days Before Mangalyaan Completes Mars Mission

ndia’s Mars Orbiter Mission (MOM), more fondly called as “Mangalyaan”, is only nine days away from the Red Planet, and the India Space Research Organisation is already buckling up to prepare for the D-Day on 24 September when it is slated to enter the Martian atmosphere. If the mission is successful, India will be the first country to achieve its Mars mission on the first attempt.
ISRO, which has been continuously updating followers about Mangalyaan’s journey in space ever since its launch last year, put up a post on its Facebook page on Sunday that read - “10 days to Mars: Loading of time-tagged commands has just begun. It will take about 13 hours to load and verify all the commands required for Mars Orbit Insertion.”
Scientists at ISRO’s Telemetry Tracking and Command Network wing in Bangalore fired off a few commands to test-fire the liquid apogee motor (LAM) engine for four seconds, according to The Times of India.
MOM has completed almost 98% of its helio-centric journey to Mars travelling idle for nearly 300 days, and will undergo a crucial test on 22 September when it will enter the Red Planet’s sphere of influence.
“We have to see if the engine is in shape, hence the test,” ISRO chairman K Radhakrishnan told TOI.
[TABLE]

http://d8.zedo.com/jsc/images/inReadadsby.png

http://d8.zedo.com/jsc/images/inReadcloseicon.png

Related

The Mars mission project, India’s first space mission to Mars, was done on a ₹450-crore budget, said to be one of the most economical space missions in the world. It was launched from Sriharikota in Andhra Pradesh on 5 November 2013.
The cost-effective mission had prompted Prime Minister Narendra Modi to compare it to the sky-high budget of Hollywood movie “Gravity” during his speech at ISRO in June.
The United States had six attempts to get its Mars mission right, while Russia took 10 attempts to enter its spacecraft into Mar’s atmosphere. In fact, this feat, if achieved by India, will give the nation an one-upmanship over China, which is yet to get its vehicle on Mars.

Re: India's mars mission countdown...

great job ISRO...we are proud of you. :)

Re: India’s mars mission countdown…

Quite an achivement.

Six more days and it is going to be very crucial and decisive.

Four more days...

Decisive times coming up when the mission craft goes in to `safe mode'.

All the best.

India Mars per puhanch gya aur Pakistan traveled 40 years back into time. Thanks to our power hungry politicians.

Hey hey now...time travel is no minor feat. Pakistan zinda-baad!!!!

Tense moments .This timeless nation is eagerly looking for the success. May God help us to achieve it.

AN IMPORTANT YET A VERY CHEERFUL NEWS. :slight_smile:

India’s Mars Orbiter, Mangalyaan Clears Crucial Test

**India’s Mars orbiter satellite, which has been on an arduous nine-month-long journey to the Red Planet, cleared a crucial test today. The main rocket engine of the satellite, which has been lying dormant for this extended period, was successfully test-fired. **

The Indian Space Research organisation or ISRO confirmed that the engine had a "perfect burn’ and the trajectory has also been corrected. Now all systems are set for the big event on September 24, the day Mangalyaan is set to enter the Martian orbit. (Also Watch: Mangalyaan Healthy, Team Cool, says ISRO Chief to NDTV)

Launched on November 5 last year, Mangalyaan has been successfully braving the rough weather in space. The satellite carries one large rocket motor and eight smaller thrusters. (Watch the Video)

ISRO Chairman K Radhakrishnan had earlier told NDTV, “We have done a lot of ground simulations and hope that the four-second test will slow the satellite down and correct its trajectory as well in a two-in-one operation”. (Mangalyaan Faces Four-Second Trial by Fire)

The big rocket motor on board Mangalyaan had performed flawlessly in over two dozen earlier missions since 1992, and scientists were confident that this time too, things would go as per the plan.

“All commands have been uploaded and the satellite will perform the tasks automatically,” Mission controller B N Ramakrishna had said.

There were two parallel circuits to start up the larger rocket motor; ISRO had used these two paths sequentially as part of plan A and plan B. In case the trial had failed, the engineers even had a Plan C to fall back on; they would have used the tiny thrusters to slow down the satellite and still try to reach an orbit of Mars.

**The Mangalyaan is laced with eight small rockets and one big rocket. The bigger one had been on an extended slumber, one comparable to that of the sleeping demon ‘Kumbhakaran’. But now, it has been ‘woken up’ for a few seconds in a risky, but successful, operation by the ISRO.

Since when getting to a planet other than earth by human being became an achievement?

Really and seriously!

Shame on you. Especially RV on your post with sarcasm.

Extremely disappointing posts overall.

World resources wasted on getting on somewhere where not a single human resides. Is this really we want?

Sorry to be so blunt…but honest.

Great achievements are measured when human act like ‘human’, NOT by how many human can land and walk on other planets.**

[diwana]

Diwana, I was being facetious. It was a playful, tongue-in-cheek remark, I wasn't bashing Pakistan...as you seem to have taken it. Go drink some thanda pani. And bathe in it as well.

amen, man! good luck. :)

OK and fine. Thanks for clarifying.

There are ways to show if your are being playful right?

You want me to take bathe in cold water. Very nice. ;)

Anyhow, this is NO "achievement" or "success" by any means. Nothing to praise about, boast about or be envy about,.... regardless who does it, did it in past and will do it in future.

This does not help human and humanity in any ways.

Exactly. Mars tak jaanay se ziyada to time travel k faiday hain. Gets all worked up over nothing. :chai:

Please tell me that you are joking.

@diwana does quran/islam does not ask you to look around the world, to explore? *Thoray say angoor khattay hain shaiyad :)

oos bechaaray ke paas angoor hain nee nahi. Wo bair khaa ke guzaara ker rahaa hai

No I am not. :slight_smile:

Angoor bohat meethay hain yahan bhai. Aap Fikar na Karen. :hehe:

Please post anything which supports what you said about Quran/Islam and what you understood.