Re: Indians prefer sons, snuff out girls
Those who are being the perfect example of subbornness…
Read again specially the bold letters or ask someone to translate it for you.
Those who are being the perfect example of subbornness…
Read again specially the bold letters or ask someone to translate it for you.
Does one really think that most of the Indians (am refering here to the more educated masses - the middle class onwards etc - the kind of folks like the ones on this site) actually support these crimes?? Of course there are people who are doing all this and there are huge number of Indians who denounce all this (just think - who made that movie??some Indians I guess...andwho released it...and where was it passed through the censors...So essentially its an aspect that Indians are NOT proud of...one is ashamed of it....But is it something that needs to be like shouted out about?
And why this obsession about trying to feel better about oneself by showing how bad the other one is??
At last...........someone really tried to denounce the act on this site.
Thats what we ALL should do and do everything to eliminate crimes againt humanity anywhere.
It’s sickening
‘Brothers are sharing the same woman’
Amrit Dhillon
A SPECTRE haunts India, the spectre of a society with a huge population of sexually frustrated bachelors preying on women because, after decades of female foeticide, there are not enough to go around. In northern India, where the practice of having an ultrasound test to determine the sex of the foetus and then opting for an abortion if it is a girl has been most pronounced, a crisis is developing. Young men are reaching their early thirties (over the hill by Indian standards) without finding brides. Feminists claim that the shortage of women will culminate inexorably in a surge of sexual violence against women. Social scientists say that India is missing 40 million girls, aborted en masse over the years by parents, rich and poor, who saw them as a liability, while boys are cherished for continuing the family line and providing economic security. All over India, since the 1980s when the country was flooded with cheap ultrasound technology, this mobile killing machine, wielded by doctors with no ethics, has been doing its lethal work. Villages may not have clean drinking water or electricity, but they have access to ultrasound tests. Some clinics in towns load the machine on to a van, along with a generator, and go to remote towns offering sex-selection services. In some villages no girl has been born for years. The Indian Medical Association estimates that five million female foetuses are aborted each year. As a result, the sex ratio in the 0 to 6 age group in some northern areas (where the craze for boys is at its worst) is amazingly skewed: 793 females for every 1,000 boys. In some areas it is 754, and in parts of Punjab and Haryana, the figure is about 600.
The 2001 census showed such a sharp drop in the sex ratio that it prompted the UN to urge India to take drastic measures. Some gynaecologists in Delhi are fed up with patients who keep wanting abortions after the foetus is shown to be a girl: “One woman, who is young and married, with no children, has terminated all her three pregnancies because it was a girl,” says Dr Rahul Manchanda, a gynaecologist. The law forbids doctors or technicians from revealing the sex of the foetus but it continues illegally. “Fearful of being caught, doctors use code phrases to convey the sex of the foetus — ‘the sky is blue’ or ‘your baby will play football’ or ‘your child is like a doll’,” says Dr Gautam Sehgal, of the Indian Healthcare Federation.The results are proving to be devastating. In Haryana a whole generation of young men is failing to find wives because a quarter of the female population has simply disappeared. In Punjab men who want to marry and raise families are growing desperate. “With no jobs or family responsibilities, young boys spend their time playing cards, drinking, harassing females and making a nuisance of themselves. We believe a boy gains adulthood at 18; he must be married by then. But these days, boys are entering their mid-thirties and not finding a girl,” says Balraj Singh, a farmer in Hoshiarpur in Punjab.
Ad hoc solutions to the bride famine are emerging. Women are allegedly being shared. Women’s groups are reporting cases of fraternal polyandry. Brothers are sharing the same woman, but keeping it discreet. “The young woman is formally married to only one brother. Neither she nor her parents have any idea of their real intentions. Later, her husband’s brothers also have sex with her,” says Ravinder Bhalla, a sociologist. These ménages can go badly wrong. Police in Uttar Pradesh say five cases of fratricide have been registered in the past year: murders provoked by sexual jealousy or rivalry. They also raise emotional and social issues. When children are born, who is “Daddy” and who is “Uncle”? Paternity, as it turns out, is rarely a big issue: since the brothers don’t marry different wives, they don’t go their separate ways — and thus don’t demand a division of the family land or property. In rural communities, where most families own only small plots, this is deemed a great blessing because it often means the difference between survival and ruination. With high unemployment in the north, the corollary of frustrated young men hanging around streets is more crimes against women. “Levels of sexual violence are rising, and will only get worse,” says Brinda Karat, of the All India Democratic Women’s Association.
Some people are taking action. A government official in Haryana, Dr B. S. Dahiya, sends decoys to clinics asking for sex-determination tests; the guilty doctors are then arrested. Says Dahiya: “Violence against women is rising. We’ll have more unnatural practices, such as brothers sharing a wife. In a few years, no woman will be safe. There will be abductions and rapes, even of minors. Even married women won’t be safe.”
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/newspaper/0,171-1153242,00.html
Female Infanticide in Tamil Nadu, India : From Recognition Back to Denial?
Sabu M George *
Female infanticide in Tamil Nadu, South India, has recently received widespread attention within India and abroad. The paper contains reflections based on over a decade of fieldwork and study of this phenomenon, and information gathered from NG0s, activists and officials. It discusses the recent history of the practice of female infanticide, and the circumstances, which forced the state government in 1992 to acknowledge its existence. Activities to prevent female infanticide, such as the ‘Girl Child Protection Scheme’ and coercive actions against those committing female infanticide, by the state government and non-governmental organizations are critically reviewed. The unwantedness of girl children manifests itself not only in female infanticide, but also in selective abortion of female fetuses and neglect of girl children, leading to excess female child mortality. Prevention and eradication of female infanticide calls for sustained and long-term efforts to ameliorate the subordinate status of women. Under the circumstances, the tendency of several governments to deny, the phenomenon, remain silent about it, or engage in interventions which stand little chance of succeeding, is cause for concern.
http://www.hsph.harvard.edu/Organizations/healthnet/SAsia/suchana/0225/george.html
U.N. decries female infanticide in India
http://quickstart.clari.net/qs_se/webnews/wed/am/Uindia-girls.R86e_DOT.html
Some time ago I saw a TV documentary about selective abortions and killings of newborn girls in India and it was really shocking.
They also showed a few clinics that make big money with ultra sound checkups as early as possible to determine whether the fetus will be a boy or girl. And if it's a girl, the abortion is included in their "fixed rate" of 500 Rupees. But the sickest thing was their advertisement:
"Pay 500 Rupees now and save 50,000 Rupees later."
pakistan thinks it does not have a problem atleast we think we have a problem
, 1994 and Crime Records Bureau, Home Ministry, Government of India 1994 ) Our countries also have the distinction of being two, of the few in the world where more women die due to the discrimination in access to food, and health care as reflected in the sex ratio - 92 women/100 men in India and 91 women/100 men in Pakistan in 1991.
http://www.sacw.net/i_aii/pag_a.html
In particular, Pakistan, ranks lowest in the region in most gender-related human development indicators. The statistics are disturbing and chilling: the country’s female literacy rate is only 23 percent; its combined female enrolment is 16 percent; its maternal mortality rate is as high as 340 per 100,000 live births; women’s share of top administrative and managerial jobs a mere three percent and in the national parliament, a mere 1.6 percent.
These statistics are a damning indictment of Pakistan’s treatment of women. It is a shame that not only is South Asia the worst place in the world for women in many ways, but that Pakistan seems to be leading the way in this crime called the mistreatment of women. The next generation of Pakistani and South Asian women cannot go missing as their sisters of the previous generation have
Well I guess any of us who feels that our respective country is free of all ills and its the other one that suffers from all evils, obviously stays in some paradise of his/her own. And I suppose it is some sort of 'escape from personal troubles' pleasure that we derive by putting down the other country - makes us feel better, doesn't it?
Is there any way we will ever get out of this rut?? I guess it begins with accepting the reality that the other one exists!! And I have heard and read that there is a perecption among Pakistanis that Indians have not been able to accept the 2 nation theory and they still dream of unified Bharat maata etc etc. As an Indian, I would like to definitely clear the air on this issue - except as some obscure thought in a redundant organsiation called RSS, I dont think (rather know for a fact) that Indians by and large have any thoughts on lines of not accepting the 2 nation theory and so on....
That is just one of the sickening acts of discrimination against females. Infanticide is also a major problem, where tens of millions of baby girls have been killed over many decades by parents so desperate for boys.
Sick, sick, sick.
Actually female infanticide is the outcome and not the problem itself - the problem is the sad reality of other evils like dowry or the financial burden of getting a girl married (since its generally the girl's family that has all the expenses!!!) and girls being seen as paraya dhan who cant contribute pr help their parents after marriage. So for all these poor parents, these messages of save 50000 later by spending 500 now has such acute relevance that we all from our perspective (rather the lack of it) just can never ever comprehend. So its important to address these aspects of the society if we want this pratcice to stop
I do condemn this. However, as PRNR explained, it would be wrong to assume that all Indians support this practice. In my analysis, two kinds of people (communities) resort to female infanticide:
Apart from these, most people these days do not prefer a boy so much as to kill/abort a girl child. And interestingly, many urban parents these days prefer girl children, because they feel that daughters take better care of their parents later on in life.
Generally, the more “modern” the outlook of a community, the less femal infanticide or abortion you will find there. For example, in the state of Kerela (which has nearly 100% literacy), women outnumber men.
So in summary, while this practice is deplorable, it is by no means a “norm” in India. I personally have many relatives who have only daughters (2, 3 and even 4).
P.S.: The government has banned pre-natal sex determination tests, and clinics who conduct these tests are doing so illegally.
Thank you Rohit. Until prior last few posts we all have been witnessing the clear cut blind attitude towards this horrible crime specially one member who keeps posting the numbers and stats (fingerpointing) while ignoring the real problem.
Its also gave indication that its OK for this person for these acts to occur in India as long as other country has some problems!!
Agree but despite the fact, the female infanticide is quite rampant in India. I’ll provide an estimate of this problem as quoted by Dr. Zakir Naik, in one of his speaches. Despite that, the population of India is uncontrolled.
Besides that and specifically, Ultrasound dating is being used to know the sex of the fetus and it is aborted if it is know to be a female fetus. A horrible crime
and this is basically undertaken by the middle and upper class. And I can assure you, not statistics can be made available public of this issue because this is clearly a human killing.
Nice effort to turn the table ![]()
Ahem My friend, don’t call for trouble here. I don’t want to open the treatment of women in India and its magnitude relative what you intend to show. I agree women are treated in the most nice way in India, that is why they are the leading population in the AIDs epidemic, that is why, India is ranked SECOND to South Africa in AIDs and expected to become # 1 in the year 2020
May be in some other thread, I’ll throw light on those issues, but here lets stick to the topic. ![]()
there we go bashing again... at the risk of sounding repetitive - no comfort for me if Pakistan has worse rates or same rates and similarly no discomfort if Pakistan actually has better statistics or better state of affairs on this aspect (rather I would be happier about it being good on this issue if at all I needed to have an opinion on it - and again I am not saying I would be happier because its better than India but just because it is doing good for itself)
And Lahore 981 - not debating the point you make on the stats of AIDs epidemic but those might be as leading population with AIDs (in total numbers). I guess one needs to look at such stats in terms of percentage of population with AIDs - India does have a large poulation so absolute numbers would be definitely high.
Besides that and specifically, Ultrasound dating is being used to know the sex of the fetus and it is aborted if it is know to be a female fetus. A horrible crime :( and this is basically undertaken by the middle and upper class. And I can assure you, not statistics can be made available public of this issue because this is clearly a human killing.
True - I stand corrected. It does happen in most upper of upper classes - just that theroot cause still is the same - the amount they need to spend becomes more like 50 lakhs or 5 crores or something - the issue is still the same. That is what needs to be addressed. BUt I hope you dont have this perception that this happens in every other house or something - it happens is sufficiently large numbers but its not like this is the most common occurence
@ PRNR
Thanks for agreeing with me. Whatever I posted is true and exactly what happens.
O naheen ji, no bashing bhai sahab. Just the right kind of info. I don’t wanna say anything about AIDs in India in this thread. may be sometimes later and you’d be amazed to see that stats. Its depressing. Pakistanis returning back after the recent cricket series between India and pakistan were screened for AIDs at the border before entering Pakistan
Thats the horror of AIDs in India…