Is it just me, or do you get annoyed when you see your favourite Pakistani singers selling out, and singing songs for Indian movies, like Atif Aslam did? On the radio the other day, I heard Ali Zafar’s Rangeen being sung with the words changed by an Indian…why do they do this? They ruin a perfectly good song. They do it with every good pakistani song. They did it to Shazia Manzoors song Aja Mahiya and changed it to “leja leja” for Kabi Khushi kabi ghum…I hate it when they do this…
Do pakistani songs have any kind of copywrite on them, and do these Indians get permission from the singers to copy the tunes of these songs…are these pakistani’s making money from this? SO ANNOYING…(can you tell i feel strongly about this…?)
Re: Indians copying Pakistani singer's songs for Bollywood Films
If I had a button I put a huge sea between 2 countries.
So there tv transmission wont get to pakistan. corrupting our ppl.
Their movies are being released in Pakistan, and they are making money from pakistani public going to see those movies in theatres.
Hence, I don't mind if Pakistani pop artists are going to India to release their albums, or are lending their songs to Indian movies. I am okay with it as long as the artist gets recognition, and is paid for his work. A good example would be Atif Aslam.
Ripping songs however, and copying them is an entirely different argument, and not may would agree with that.
And what exactly do you think of Pakistani artists/movies ripping off Indian Music? I think it's one problem on both sides... nothing you can do about it.
^^ The problem is mainly on the Indian side. The plagiarized tracks in Pakistani cinema mostly make it to two-bit films with a z-grade cast. However, their A-listers rip our tracks off. Its been happening for decades now. And if Bollywood films are supposed to so "better" than Pakistani ones, why do they feel to rip our stuff off?
Sargam and countless other Lahore-productions you guys never saw because you believe yourself to be oh-so-high-brow were actually ripped off across the border. They basically plagiarize everything -- Hollywood, Lollywood even Nigerian films I think. Some shots in Jodha-Akbar are totally lifted from Shoaib Mansoor's Anarkali video while Saqib Malik's Khamaj was the "inspiration" for Farah Khan's Om Shanti Om. Himesh Reshamiya bltantly rips of NFAK's style and no one overthere complains, while on our side they haven't spared Ali Zafar because he sounds like some Kishore Kumar!
And what exactly do you think of Pakistani artists/movies ripping off Indian Music? I think it's one problem on both sides... nothing you can do about it.
I have never come across a Pakistani singer ripping off Indian music....Indians copy music from all countries - even Arabic such as Ya Ghali by guitara (sp?) - they sang it as "ya ali........" hmm... and what about "pretty woman dekho dekho na, pretty woman" IN kal ho na ho? It seems no country is spared from them.
I think Pakistani singers are extremely talented and when i see Indians copying their music, I get very angry. They could at least use the real song, with the real singer rather than just copy..
Re: Indians copying Pakistani singer’s songs for Bollywood Films
I saw a video of Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan ripping off many songs by Shiv Kumar Batalvi.
Original
Copy by Nusrat
You would be surprised.. there are TONS of songs that are copied in Pakistan right from the Indian music.. I am not saying they have a right to do that but this copying music is a problem on both sides. It pissed me off when their musicians and that singer guy walked away with all the awards and acclamation for the najam shiraz's song in murder.. I know that they had seeked his permission beforehand but still.. same thing with their new movie Metro.. one of the main songs 'in dino' that went onto become such a huge hit was also lifted from Pak..
But as for the movies, come on- I don't think Farah Khan used a 5 min music video as an inspiration for her movie.. reincarnation runs in India.. there are TONS of movies made on the same theme.. she doesn't need to search across the border for a new story.
let them copy ![]()
naqal k leya bhi aqal cheye hoti hai!
Are indians ever really original? hello, every other movie is a ripoff of a Hollywood movie. sometimes so lazy they can't even change the title (hello Fight club). And their songs are just god-awful remixes.
I have never come across a Pakistani singer ripping off Indian music......
It proves u r not living in real world.
^^ The problem is mainly on the Indian side. The plagiarized tracks in Pakistani cinema mostly make it to two-bit films with a z-grade cast. However, their A-listers rip our tracks off. Its been happening for decades now. And if Bollywood films are supposed to so "better" than Pakistani ones, why do they feel to rip our stuff off?
Sargam and countless other Lahore-productions you guys never saw because you believe yourself to be oh-so-high-brow were actually ripped off across the border. They basically plagiarize everything -- Hollywood, Lollywood even Nigerian films I think. Some shots in Jodha-Akbar are totally lifted from Shoaib Mansoor's Anarkali video while Saqib Malik's Khamaj was the "inspiration" for Farah Khan's Om Shanti Om. Himesh Reshamiya bltantly rips of NFAK's style and no one overthere complains, while on our side they haven't spared Ali Zafar because he sounds like some Kishore Kumar!
Well said. I agree it happens on both side but much more on the Indian side it's just that we unfortunately dont watch much of lollywood movies to know that they are being copied, mostly the songs though. For example most don't know that Sangam was copied by the India's very best and my fave too (lol) SLB...And nobody mentioned that from their side. But if some song is copied from bollywood here...our own people go crazy and start badmouthing...lol...i admit i use to do that too but at that time i didnt that the indian entertainment industry copies much more.
And last time i watched Shafqat Amanat's interview on Causal and he said how an indian company really used them...and took advantage of a contract they signed and hence their songs were used in some films without their consent. Ali Zafar said the same that he declined to sing for Fight Club but they went ahead and used his song...lol and Jal's song "Aadat" has changed the whole mood of the indian music industry. So many songs that came after that are made on the same style and beats. The thing is inspiration is ok but copying is so bad especially whe the credit is not given.
IMITATION
they say,
IS THE SINCEREST FORM OF FLATTERY!
Its not yesterday...
Its been decades that the copy-cat theory
has been taking place....which,
I know for sure...started from
our side when our producers use
to specially visit KABUL to see INDIAN movies
and make out their own films..
Those were the days when we didn't have
VCRs or all that nonsense of cables etc...
INTERESTINGLY....INDIA has made it big
by copying HOLLYWOOD blockbusters
by transforming them into local scenario...and
I was much impressed to see the Indian Conversion
of my favorite Hollywood movie
"AN AFFAIR TO REMEMBER"
(1950)
Starring Cary Grant & Deborah Kerr
which has four re-makes in Hollywood itself
the last version being in 1998
titled
"LOVE AFFAIR"
Starring Warren Betty & his wife Annete Benning.
I forget the name of INDIAN version..
but it had Aamir Khan & Manisha Koirala
where they meet on a cruise trip and
decide to break their engagements
after giving some time....
but Manisha gets crippled and so on...the story...
that was exactly the story of
"Love affair"
So...no big deal....in copying...
INDIANS are just reciprocating to what WE did in yesteryears..
and which also means we are getting more popular :)
Khush Rahein...
IMITATION they say, IS THE SINCEREST FORM OF FLATTERY!
Its not yesterday... Its been decades that the copy-cat theory has been taking place....which, I know for sure...started from our side when our producers use to specially visit KABUL to see INDIAN movies and make out their own films.. Those were the days when we didn't have VCRs or all that nonsense of cables etc...
INTERESTINGLY....INDIA has made it big by copying HOLLYWOOD blockbusters by transforming them into local scenario...and I was much impressed to see the Indian Conversion of my favorite Hollywood movie "AN AFFAIR TO REMEMBER" (1950) Starring Cary Grant & Deborah Kerr which has four re-makes in Hollywood itself the last version being in 1998 titled "LOVE AFFAIR" Starring Warren Betty & his wife Annete Benning. I forget the name of INDIAN version.. but it had Aamir Khan & Manisha Koirala where they meet on a cruise trip and decide to break their engagements after giving some time.... but Manisha gets crippled and so on...the story... that was exactly the story of "Love affair"
So...no big deal....in copying... INDIANS are just reciprocating to what WE did in yesteryears.. and which also means we are getting more popular :)
Khush Rahein...
if bollywood has talent, why can't they produce music directors like khurhseed anwar ,playback singers like noor jahan ,lyricists like baba chisti , actors like waheed murad , and actresses like rani ?
Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery and the cheapest form of creativity.
Indian Fight club was totally diff from that of Hollywood…
I guess even Pakistanis (once) used Bollywood names
Khuda Janey ![]()
Border
etc…
Altaf Raja story of “Pehley tou kabhi kabhi gham tha” was most hilarious of them all … He said he listen to tht song in his dream ![]()
Imitation is the best form of flattery. Relax.
It also looks like everyone complaining here watch Indian movies regularly. Whether you do it for pleasure or to investigate, I'm sure Indian producers are going cha ching everytime
if they are untalented music directors then why half of your countryz population starts jumping on Indian musics, copy ke liye bhi **talent **aur **dimaag **ki zaroorat parti hai. Music directors who can’t use their brain or don’t know how to copy they remain infamous. By the way first time I’ve heard of these music directors what you’ve told :halo: where do they belong? ![]()
bolly survives on the ‘bakhshish’ of dubai wali sarkaar..hehehahhahaha.
Is it just me, or do you get annoyed when you see your favourite Pakistani singers selling out, and singing songs for Indian movies, like Atif Aslam did? On the radio the other day, I heard Ali Zafar's Rangeen being sung with the words changed by an Indian....why do they do this? They ruin a perfectly good song. They do it with every good pakistani song. They did it to Shazia Manzoors song Aja Mahiya and changed it to "leja leja" for Kabi Khushi kabi ghum....I hate it when they do this.... Do pakistani songs have any kind of copywrite on them, and do these Indians get permission from the singers to copy the tunes of these songs...are these pakistani's making money from this? SO ANNOYING....(can you tell i feel strongly about this....?)
Pakistan singers and lyrics writers sell their songs cheapely to indians to become famous
Copy rights means for desi it is right to copy