Indian space rocket prepares to blast-off with two satellites

SRIHARIKOTA: An Indian space rocket is scheduled to blast off this week to put two satellites into orbit that will help the country’s map makers and amateur radio operators, an official said Monday.

The 44-metre Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle will lift-off Thursday and release a remote sensing satellite and one for home radio operators, project director N. Narayanamoorthy of the Indian Space Research Organisation said. It would be the country’s first effort to carry two satellites in a single launch, Narayanamoorthy said.

The 1.5-ton CARTOSAT-1 will be released 18 minutes after the rocket takes off at 10:19 am on Thursday, Narayanamoorthy said, adding that the smaller 42.5-kilogram (100-pound) HAMSAT will be put at a lower altitude.

CARTOSAT-1 will be India’s 11th remote-sensing satellite and is expected to provide high-resolution pictures to make more accurate maps, Narayanamoorthy said.

http://dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=story_3-5-2005_pg4_20

Where would Hindustan be today if it hadn’t been for the Muslim Mr. Kalam Sahib to provide all the know-how to Hindus on rocket building?

Re: Indian space rocket prepares to blast-off with two satellites

thats not a right assumption mate...he is an indian also

who'd have thought green and white was a fan of secularism. thanks for posting. :)

missile technology is not new to india

As a young rocket engineer of the Indian Committee for Space Research, Abdul Kalam was visiting Wallops Flight Facility, Virginia, USA. There he “saw a painting displayed in the reception lobby. It depicted a battle scene with a few rockets flying in the background………It turned out to be Tipu Sultan’s army fighting the British”. In his autobiography Dr. Kalam further says “The painting depicted a fact forgotten in Tipu’s own country, but commemorated here on the other side of the planet. I was happy to see an Indian glorified by NASA as a hero of warfare rocketry”.

History tells us that rockets were first used as a war weapon as early as in the 13th century by the Chinese. In India it is recorded they were first used by Mohammed V, the Sultan of Delhi against the invading forces of Timor in1399. From then on they were regularly used in wars amongst factions of Mughals, Marathas, the East India Company and so on. They were, however, nothing more than ‘fire arrows’. Rocketry took a decisive turn to arrive at where it is today during the time of Hyder Ali, and later his Son Tipu Sultan- the rulers of Mysore in the eighteenth century.
http://www.deccanherald.com/deccanherald/feb182005/os3.asp

G&W - you're such a hypocrite. Now all of a sudden Kalam is not a stooge put their by BJP to project an image of secularism. You lost any miniscule credibility you had.

Lets also take a moment to applaude both the Uncles, India has had as sugar daddies.......American and Russian help in Indian space program's development cannot be ignored and is quite evident in the design of India's Agni ballistic missile, which is a ditto of the american Scout booster rockets, which incidently Abdul Kalam was closely associated with while training in America....

chegu ko bhi koi unkal raaket laake de, allah mian.. bohut rondu hai saala lalukheti..

Che, go fok yourself when you can’t contain your jealousy. What do you want, India also go steal stuff like your A.Q.Khan did?

this reminds me of that Indian kid who supposedly topped the NASA exam :rotfl:

Hai hai, bhartion ko seedhi dil par laggi :hehe:

:bukbuk: it’s good comedy here…hearing a couple of pakistanis talking about technology, weaponry and stealing!

Dr. Kalam has made tremendous contributions to India's space programmes. But he is remembered more for his project management skills and the ability to get the best out of his people than for his scientific or technological skills

hey skhan…that was a kid who got punished for lying.

now tell me what you guys did to that crook AQKhan who stole and then proliferated, thus shaming his country to no end and endangering the whole world?

what happened to arjun?

^ ppk, religious philosophy is discussed elsewhere...go check the Bhagvat Gita thread and you will find your answer.

No wonder poor arjun is unable to move. Seems like you are trying to use religious philosophy as fuel. By the way arjun is the tank that India is making for the last many years. (in reference to your techonology and Pakistani comment)

what a rebuttal from proudpaki :hehe:

And queer said something without bringing bangladesh in it. Aaj suraj ultay side say nikla hoo ga.

aw PP, i bring the bengali genocide up only in threads where pakistanis are busy whining about gujarat. which is pretty much every thread on india. :)

wow…nice justification for the gujrat genocide.