Indian Soaps and Pakistani Youth

Back in 90s when PTV was producing good dramas, satellite introduced and referred as “Dish”. I remember one of our neighbor once offered us cable connection so we could also enjoy the same programming content as they were. But idea was rejected due to too much khula dulla mahool of those channel.

Now, cable is common in each household of Pakistan. Cable operators run different Indian channel specially Star Plus and Sony, consider premium channels and cable operator are obliged to pay subscription cost of each consumer.

No wonder, those channels have targeted our female population. Girls in universities are crazy about Piyosh, Mehir. Arman etc. Girls in those soaps go all crazy and that is the problem because it is effecting the young and innocent brains of our Girls. Furthermore, back in 90s there were less saas bhau tussle, but now due to Indian media, it forced them to think like those ladies in soaps. I also read one news when I was in Pakistan that these dramas are promoting Indian jewelries, clothes in big cities of Pakistan. those items are referred as Tulsi Jhumka, Tulsi Sari. I have no hate against India, but accepting culture like that is not a good example. :nahi:

Re: Indian Soaps and Pakistani Youth

Times are changing. Guess this is what globalization is all about. The glitzy, sparkly glamorous cultures taking over the dull ones. Pakistani channels understand this and they're fighting back. Pakistani dramas are pretty popular too, most of them except the ones aired on PTV. Haven't seen the channel in years.

What is portrayed on the big screen or in the soaps is no way how a typical desi (family) behaves. As long as the youth have a good head upon their shoulder and the fine sense to use it, there is no harm in enjoying yourselves. Care must be taken that basic human decency and core human values are not comprised. Having said that, there is nothing wrong in liking a style of clothes or jewelry if it looks pleasing. I am sure many Indians like the cut and designs Pakistani clothes.

very true. I'm sure that a sensible Indian family must be different than that shown in these soaps where women of the house go to bed in full make and do cooking with all their zevars. Moreover, it is considered that Naach gana is the important part of Indian society and there parties where women and men dance together and drink is a acceptable norm in all Indians. I hope this is also not true.

You guys are missing important point. Clothes and jewelries are not big issues, but young minds specially girls.

STA how o you see the impact of Pakistani serials like 'ZIP - Bus chup raho' and 'Dreamers' on Pakistani youth?

what was wrong with Dreamers?

Romance and extra freedom was shown just like any ordinary Indian soap? Girls were also affected by your favourite Ashar-Khirad romance in Humsafar. If I remember correctly, a girl tried to suicide for Fawad Khan :bummer:

No fear. We certainly dont break into a song and dance for every small thing :D. We don't have segregation as part of our religion or culture i.e in temples or weddings. Everybody in the extended families celebrates together. Drinking is not easily accepted. Though there is no religious ban against alchohol, I am sure families dont sit and indulge in social drinking together casually. Even adult children will not drink in front of their parents. Alcohol is not a taboo. But drinking is not something easily accepted either.

That what I was thinking and showing characters offering Rs 500 crores just for getting a couple divorced in beyond reality and people should know the fakeness behind it :D Star Plus never give you a picture of a normal middle class Indian family.