Indian Punjabi Sikhs

Awesome people but there’s one thing that I dislike about the sikh community here in Ireland.

There is a HUGE amount of sexism in the community. The ladies are expected to follow the religious (and traditional) guidelines whereas the men couldn’t care less.

For example, ALL men drink like crazy whereas the women don’t go near alcohol. If a lady was to drink alcohol she would probably be given a bad name in the community. Almost all men eat meat and don’t wear a turban, don’t have beards etc. Yet, I have NEVER seen a sikh woman eat meat. Every time they come to our house, mum makes both vegetarian and meat dishes and the men eat both but the ladies stick to veggies.

ermm.. so yeah what’s the deal with that?

Re: Indian Punjabi Sikhs

Aren't those kind of things in every culture? If a girl does like 50000000000 guys, she's a gandi word but if a guy does the same amount of girls, he's beastly.

That's different. I'm talking about following the religious guidelines specifically.

In the Islamic community (at least from what I have observed) the same rules apply to everyone. Beta ho ya beti, you don't drink alcohol, you don't eat pork, and so on...

But that isn't the same in the sikh community... mommies will allow their sons to drink and joke about how he couldn't even speak he was so drunk, yet they wouldn't let their daughters drink alcohol or eat meat etc... ?

Ask a Sikh.

Sexism and double standards are prevalent in every desi culture.

I come from a Hindu Punjabi family who is very well knit with various Sikh Punjabi families. We have many Sikh relatives etc etc.. Hindu Punjabis and Sikhs have alwyas been like that. Anyway.. what I'm saying is that I know plenty of punjabi aunties (both hindu and sikh... and also including my own mother) who eat meat and also do enjoy the occasional drink (although not infront of their elders who would be 70-80 yrs old)

But BBCue, it's pretty common in our kind of people also. I've seen that women are more involved with rozas, nafl ibadats, even fardh for that matter. You'll see most women get up at a dawat to read namaz but just a handful of men do. YOu also see more women reading special wazifas and duas even for their own husbands. You hardly see the men do that...even for their mother's or wife's health.

sharabee: But if alcohol isn’t forbidden in sikhism, why is it a taboo for punjabi women to drink alcohol? :confused:

My family is the complete opposite.

Yes that is a topic in itself. Even my father isn't as close to religion as my mother is. But at least dad doesn't go around doing something haraam and then forbids it for my mother or me. y'know?

Well, you're dad's nice that way, but I'll give you an example of a family we know, and this is from a few years ago...they all went off to a theme park in the heat of July, the women all dressed head to toe in burqas while the guys wore shorts [above their knees] which technically isn't allowed [for praying namaz]. Now we can say that maybe the wives wanted it that way, but to the outside world, it is a display of double standards.

^ True.

hmmmm so can we conclude that the desi culture in general oppresses women? :nahi:

Yes. :hmmm:

Now close the thread.

Nahin.

We must bish about the men now. Aap shuru karein. :chilly:

^ This sounds funny for some reason. Like askjeeves.com, askasikh.com. Yeah, <— that made me laugh. :bummer:

LOL. You're so lame. I still love you though <3

LOL I know man :-/ I love you too <3

this world is stupid and so are its men.

I don’t think there is a very hard core no alcohol policy in Sikhism. I know the super religious Amritdhari Sikhs dont eat meat or consume alcohol.. similar to the few super religious Hindus.. but the fact is that a lot of Sikhs don’t follow the Amritdhari philosophy and drinking is VERY common amongsts punjabis.. both sikhs and hindus..

why is it a taboo for sikh woman to drink though? same ol sexism and double standards that exist in most desi cultures… the aunties are more involved taking care of the kids and making dinner while the uncles have their drinking session… thats how a LOT of my childhood family gettogethers went too.. but as i said more recently we see more and more indian hindu and sikh ladies or girls have a drink or two… specially when its a bunch of family friends hanging out without the elders.. on a recent trip to india i saw a lot of my relatives and family friends aat the weddings etc with open bar.. where the aunties and girls were having cocktails or vodka drinks.. no issues..

sharaabee, nice insight into the religious aspect.

Jafri and Jay, get a room you two. :vivo:

Phil: right on! =D

BBQ I have actually been pushing my mother to start having a drink or two in the last 3-4 years. I strongly believe it can help better her mood , give good company to dad and forget the janani nonsense that seems to bother her more than it should. After much effort she finally does have a drink or two now once a month.. but it has to be lemon based so that it doesnt taste too bitter.. hahaha... dad limits her to 2.. one time she had the 3rd and then her "mujhe neeend aa rahi hai" drama began hahahahhhahh .. soo funny!