Re: Indian Modesty is different from Pakistani modesty
Historically, that may have been the case but I think that may be changing. Many of the foreign dramas/series that are now watched in Pakistan have a higher level of exposure than Bollywood and these are still popular. For instance, Aşk-ı memnu, a Turkish series about a 25-year-old woman who marries an older man and then has an affair with said man's nephew, did extremely well in Pakistan. This series is set in contemporary Istanbul, which is much less conservative than Pakistan, and has many racy scenes. It was viewed by 90 million people and even had to be retelecast because of its popularity.
There is big difference between Paki and Indian Modesty... I do not need to explain cz everybody knws it.. Both countries have different values and laws... India is a secular country.... Pakistanies are closer to arabs.... For example , Veena's father disowned her in a Live show. That telz u the story
TS jaan, have you seen some of the scenes in Aşk-ı memnu? Passionate kissing and certain..um..activities on kitchen table. Given that the plot was about infidelity and sexual tension, such scenes were rather hard to miss. :sid:
While Turkish series don’t explicitly depict nudity, they do have some racy scenes.
For over a century courts have tried thousands for the offence of “outraging the modesty” of a woman without a precise definition of what constitutes a woman’s ‘modesty’. And now, the Supreme Court has finally defined modesty. Its definition: **“The essence of a woman’s modesty is her sex.” **
Historically, that may have been the case but I think that may be changing. Many of the foreign dramas/series that are now watched in Pakistan have a higher level of exposure than Bollywood and these are still popular. For instance, Aşk-ı memnu, a Turkish series about a 25-year-old woman who marries an older man and then has an affair with said man's nephew, did extremely well in Pakistan. This series is set in contemporary Istanbul, which is much less conservative than Pakistan, and has many racy scenes. It was viewed by 90 million people in Pakistan and even had to be retelecast because of its popularity.
lets agree to disagree, u are giving only one example. Such stories are being shown in india everyday in their own dramas since 80s or 90s. We had nt Produced ishq e Mamnu. But Indians shows such stories daily in their dramas. Big dif.
some moves and actions at start 9childhood) tells how the person will be in future.
These same families do watch Indian stuff without getting offended. They had accepted Helen decades ago, when Zia regime banned telecasting Pakistani movies.
Issi liyay to kehtay hain keh kharboozay ko daikh kar kharbooza rang badalta hai.
Aur baRay booRhay kehtay hain keh too much filmon say iqhlaaq kharaab hota hai.
However, as far as I know even in the eighties, the bad parts of Indian movies were forwarded on VCR as nobody wanted to be exposed to vulgarities in a public setting.
Let alone being force fed all kinds of vulgarities and indecency in an environment where you don't have any control.
lets agree to disagree, u are giving only one example. Such stories are being shown in india everyday in their own dramas since 80s or 90s. We had nt Produced ishq e Mamnu. But Indians shows such stories daily in their dramas. Big dif.
and Pakistani consume these extra marital affairs flicks (Preran ki bajaj se talaq kara do to 500 crore ka inam mile ga) for so many years. If they are more modest than Indian viewers, why cablewalas got life threats from ghar ki khawateen when government banned Indian channels?
But you (well, not you, specifically) certainly watched it and apparently, liked it enough that it had to be show twice. Another example is that Emran Hashmi's movies are also popular in Pakistan and they are usually rather crass.
As far as Pakistani's being closer to Arabs, please google Haifa Wehbe and other Arabic actresses and look at the type of clothing they wear and photoshoots that they do. Do tell what the reaction would be if a Pakistani actress did the same.