Indian Media on this horrible defeat

let us see what does Indian media has to say about this horrible defeat..please post all links here…thanks

http://cricket.expressindia.com/fulleistory.php?content_id=62267&pn=0

"That was a huge mistake, but Sachin made one too, albeit you could also blame the pitch for it. He was out to a delivery pitched outside off-stump that came in. Sachin had it covered, but he did not account for the altitude at which the ball was flying. It went under his bat to crash into the timber! The ball was so low it forced Sachin into the squat position in the follow-through. Tendulkar went for 26 (47). It has happened before to Sachin and he has done the same sit-in earlier. One wonders why he does it? The ball has passed and his exaggerated and theatrical stoop to floor is not required. He does not need to prove anything to anybody. He got out, period. The fault is his, the rest are excuses."*
:D:D

****"It took the prowess of former skipper Sourav Ganguly and the tyro that he promoted, who has nailed his Test spot, Yuvraj Singh to effect a tangible fightback. And, what an attack the two southpaws released! Smashing pace and spin alike to all parts of the ground in their fiery display, Team India marched to a more respectable score of 177/4 in 3 overs. *While Yuvraj posted a fine fifty, Dada was supreme on 37. Together they blasted 20 boundaries. "

still calling them team india..bhot hee besharam haan …some1 was a real Ghairat-mand person who jumped into GANGA RIVER last night and killed himself…he was the real hero

Re: Indian Media on this horrible defeat

http://ia.rediff.com/cricket/2006/feb/01india.htm?q=tp&file=.htm

***Forget the pitch. Don’t bother with the bowling. Don’t even mention the ‘mental fatigue’ of a grinding tour coming on top of a non-stop home season. The plain and simple fact is that on the day that called for mental fortitude, for determination and for pride, Team India went AWOL.

***and i loved this sentence…lagtha ha bhot chot lagiee ha…

Maybe it is time to remember that whoever fails, the final failure is that of the team – and the country.

Yaar, let the topic of "Team India" be faded, let them call whatever they want as long as they are not claiming number 1 spot in the world when they are not. Do you think Bengalis should drown their team because they are no strength/power in cricket world? If this is "their" best then let them call whatever they want. Remember US used to call themselves "world champion" sort in baseball/basketball without playing outside world, but then got humiliated by Japan?

Just my 2c :)

And why does being labeled as "Team India" (at the current moment) any different than their high morale and concentration pre-series, upon their arrival?

What does a victory and defeat in a game of sportsmanship has to do anything with being called "Team India"? Victories don't generally mean stamping the word "Team" before country. It is both acceptable sides of the equation (as it should be), and yes, even in the defeat such as this one, which doesn't (and shouldn't) necessarily force the word out of the scenery. If one supports a team through thick and thin, such an individual should have little to no problem in calling his/her National Team as "Team [xyz]". There is no shame in defeat, hence, the labels should remain where they belong. :)

Thanks Dhobi and Captain for putting it so nicely.
If you look at first 2 posts, PD doesnt seem to be happy in either case. If Indian called themselves 'Team India' then they are be-gairat and be-sharam. And if they called themselves incompetent then 'chot dil pe lagi gai'..
Hard to please irresponsible hate mongers because they will find some reason or other to bash you anyway.

Threads like these should be moved to trash as quickly as possible.

In all fairness I like this one the best ( coming from an Indian perspective)
http://www.hindustantimes.com/htcricket/7912_1613923,00160115.htm

:jhanda: :chai:

Some views of the common Indians...

Subbu said... Sachin has played for India but that was when he was young and when he hasn't seen praise and money. Now he is focussed on only driving ferrari, running hotel and modelling for ads. It is time he retires gracefully or he might be dropped and face the same humiliation as Sourav. But I doubt this too. The selectors might include his name in the 2019 World cup eventhough he is in crutches because 'He is a national icon'.

Forget the "Team India" issue (whats the issue there, by the way??), that ExpressIndia article is the most hilariously one-sided article I have ever had the misfortune to read. Check out the opening salvo... [My comments are in green font]

The dreadful Pakistani ploy [Hahaha.... ] of ordering dead pitches in Lahore and Faisalabad and then trying out a 1st day maverick pitch in Karachi has ensured that it did not lose, but till the third day's end they were still not sure! That they won finally was more to Pakistan's pitch ploys than anything else. [Hahaha.... Yeah, it was the pitch against the Indian team. Pakistan won because of 'pitch ploys'. Poor Indians!]

At the start of the 3rd Test, with Pakistan gambling on winning yet another toss, things had gone awry. But that was the only time in the series that Pakistan were not just worried they were in panic. [Yeah, huge panic on losing the toss!!!]

Dravid won the toss, bravely put in Pakistan to bat [Yeah, brave indeed. Miandad in his column calls it an act of cowardice, where Indian batsmen had a look at the pitch and decided they don't want to bat first on it], and reaped the reward.

What Dravid had not known was that the Pakistani think tank had ordered another docile pitch but for some unforeseen reasons it played truant. [Wah Wah, kiya baat hai Pakistan think tank ki. The author obviously has no clue about Karachi's weather that supports seam bowling and historical record at the NSK wicket] *However, to their relief it came back to saintly behaviour at a crucial juncture again and as a result Akmal scored a ton in first innings and almost every Pakistani batsman scored a fifty and Iqbal got his 100 in the second. *[Hahaha.... Everything is due to the pitch. Nothing is because of batsmen playing well or bowlers bowling well. Its all pitch, pitch, pitch]

To prove Pakistan's fears, and that this is actually the case, take into consideration that Pakistan refused to declare yesterday with a 500-plus lead. No one has chased that in history of cricket - ever. Fear ruled and skipper Younis Khan played safe. With his heart in his mouth, Pakistan captain Younis Khan finally decided to declare at 599/7 in 140.1 overs, a total lead of 606 runs, some one hour before the lunch break. [Hahaha.... Man, this dude has a seriously over-active imagination. What a sore loser!

So much for the "Highest paid Crickiters" I tell you "paisa insaan ka dimagh aur ankhoun ka focus dono kharab ker daita hai,,,,

tangon (legs) ka focus bee kharab ho jata ha and you end up falling on the wicket.......

LOL , ^ Faisal. So they found out about the little people (Gremlins) under the pitch pulling and pushing the ball from underneath the picth with their 1st jocker played on Irfan Pathan! :dixsi:

LOL, I dont want to be a prick but was the Indian media watching the same Test match as I was??
Except for 1 hour on teh first morning, Pakistan kicked India from pillar to post in this match, it was never a contest (talking bout the 1st article)

^ It was Team India vs the "monster pitch". Pakistan team had no part in the victory. Don't you know that?

becharay , give them a break man. They had the victory in '04 but now things are going back to the way they have historically been. Pak on top.
Though I dont want to be overly critical of India. They are a decent team, excellent batting and decent bowling. Its just that our team has really grown and I think we are ready to play with the best and compete with Australia now.

There are some absolute buffoons and sore losers in the media, who just don't want to admit they (their team) has been beaten squarely.I mean why act in this childish manner, it's just a game and just admit the opposition has a better team or played better and get on with it.
Thankfully there are sane voices in the media as well.and we do need these elements for comic relief.:D

team india:hehe::cb: :cb: :cb: Burst of confidence. :rolleyes:

Jerald Ratnam said... I would like to ask the selectors that if Sourav has been relegated to the sidelines due to his present form then why is Sachin still being adorned as a national Icon.

Sourav at least was a great captain and moulded the modern Indian cricket team with his aggresive captaincy and Rahul dravid was a consistent performer and played wholeheartedly for the Team. Where does Sachin fit into either of this category.

Sachin not doubt was, repeat was a great batsman but we can count only a few innings he played that helped India win. He largely helped himself pile on records after records but what did he give the team? He could not become an ideal idol for the masses thru his off field antics by pleading to get his dues waived for his car even when he should well afford it.

Even if we look at his on-field performance, off late his performance is nothing to write home about. Abdul Razzak can clean bowl Sachin even in his deep sleep and Sachin knows this.

Faisal, I can't believe that the author was serious in that article. It must have been written in jest.

brahmachari uncle... I don't have a deep understanding of the emotional state of the writer. The article, at its face value, is trying overly hard to cheer up the Indian fans. You should read the whole thing. I just posted excerpts.

yar, is par aik shair ho jaye :hehe: