Indian husband , pakistani wife .... potential issues ..

Hey , anyone knows of what possible complications one can face when the husband is holder of an indian passport while the wife is a pakistani?

Re: Indian husband , pakistani wife .... potential issues ..

You can not name your child Kashmir.

^^ lol!

When the husband visits Pakistan, he will need a visa and security clearance upon arrival. Same with her when she goes to India.

Other than that, there will be tension at home during cricket matches.

Bas. Aur kuch nahi.

Re: Indian husband , pakistani wife … potential issues ..

hmmm yeah totally :smilestar:

Now on a serious note , i need to know some stuff coz both countries have a risky relationship and i heard spouses have issues going into the countries …

nikki thanks buddy , I heard chances are that either spouse might not be granted visa ... I mean it cant be taken for granted that he/she will be granted visa along with family to the opposite countries ....true?

I had a friend who married an Indian. Both were American born. Actually, I don't think he was American born, but eventually got his citizenship, or a green card or something. Spent most of his life here.

Anyway, there were issues. The family has a thing against Pakistanis, which I knew from personal experience before this marriage even happened. However, they've married all their kids to Pakistanis and their business flourishes only because of Pakistanis, and every dawat they go to is Pakistani.

After she married him, granted there were other issues, but one was that her MIL told her and her family that our Indian girls are not like "her". They're more submissive and listen to their in-laws. Issue had come up that she was continuing her job as a medical resident and paying off her loans and the family wanted her to stop working and have babies. She was like "well i have loans to pay off and I worked for this career and I like it, thanks".

So, they got into her face and her family's, stating that muslims from India do not behave this way, they listen to their elders, that Pakistanis are cheap and selfish, and they should have known better than to marry with a Pakistani family. A couple of other galian about people from Nazimabad and how Karachi-walay are trashy, before the girl's father was like, seriously, there is no need to get so insulting.

Husband didn't stop the comments, and quite agreed with them.

shrugs

You have to be careful, because there are indian muslims who dislike Pakistan, dislike Pakistani policies, and dislike Pakistani culture.

They may not make it evident, because in any given area, if there are more Pakis, they'll try to marry their kids in Paki families, because its the next best option to an Indian muslim.

I know another couple - wife is Indian, husband is Pakistani. Hubz keeps his mouth shut on these issues, because he knows how she gets. But we went to a dawat and the singer there sang Made in Pakistan, a spinoff on Alisha Chinoi's Made in India. Cheesy, but whatever. She got really enraged, and started mouthing off Pakistanis. I was like...Uh with all due respect, you are outnumbered by Pakistanis here. Can you be more polite about our culture? Thanks.

To which she didn't respond. Still meets with us, but keeps better control over her mouth.

Indians can go into Pakistan alright, very smooth visa process. It’s a little bumpy on the Indian side. Lazy bums I tell ya :emmy:!

PCG, Those things happen in Indian families and Pakistani families also. I know of similar fights between couples where the husband is from Karachi, wife from Lahore or between Shia and Sunnis.

It’s all in the head.

Where there is love…:wub: there are rainbows :@:

or banglaDesh

i've people in my extended family [mostly men] who have married girls in pakistan and then moved to pakistan. its no problem for indian muslims to get a permanent resident status in pakistan but for a pakistani to marry and move to india is out of question. india never grants a pernmanent visa to even pakistani girls. i haven't seen that ever.

Yeah, Indian immigration sucks :naraz:

I don't think it's a big deal anymore, my Dad had a Pakistani passport and my Mum had a Bangladeshi one, around the time of the war when both countries hated each other :(

The passport issues aren't difficult to deal with nowadays, these marriages are more common than ppl think. They've both been to India and not had any problems..

agree…but, in Toronto the workings of the Indian Consulate is much better than Pakistan’s and this i’m telling you from my own experience and it happend not just once but twice and very recently…within the last year involving my bhabhi’s very old parents who have travelled to pakistan almost every year in the past. so, it wasn’t an isolated case. sad!**

We are Pakistani.

My sister married an Indian...they have a child and are happy Mashallah.

Its as simple or comlplicated as you make it.

So true..

My "very successful at career" girl-cousin married an Indian Muslim (also quite successfull in academics and career) after he begged her for three years. She finally said yes much to dismay of his mother who still to this day doesn't talk to either of them. Her loss.

Oh O.

Lots of problems predicted whenever there'll be a Pakistan vs India cricket match...

Humarey ghar mein toh kabhi aisa nahi hua :snooty:

Awww, that is the sweetest thing I’ve heard in ages..

I know a local couple with the same issue. They are actually related, but the boy's side migrated to Pakistan. THe wife is from Bombay. The last time the wife booked an airline ticket through PIA, the Indian embassy or consulate (not sure) made her change the ticket to use an Indian airline. She said she had to lose $1700 but had no choice because she needed to see her family. She said she ended up taking a flight to Delhi then to Lahore. Another thing she said was that when other spouses from other countries apply for Pak citizenship, it doesn't take long, but if the spouse is from India it can take years and years. Most people just give up.

However if both of you guys have American citizenship then obviously you wouldn't have such problems, and the cultural differences are really dependent on the family and their cities of origin.

Ex. a couple with origins in Delhi and Lahore will have more in common than one from Peshawar and Karachi.