Indian economy related folder

Re: Outsourcing - Most Popular Destination

Dell did not close their call centers in India, it was only two product lines, I believe the latitude and optiplex which they had to move back because the customers paid more for the support on these lines. They didnt attribute the closing to any specific reason or deficiency, just said that the rapid devlepment of those product lines caused them to bring it back to the Us for now.

I hate indians trying to speak english.

http://www.ebaumsworld.com/2006/08/microsoft-support.html

I really hate this. They give us a bad name. What morons.

check this out

US consumers should demand that their confidential information is safe in the Indian call centers. You don’t know who’s selling your personal details.

Thanks for the info. I wish they close call centers and move some where else. These guys don't understand what you are saying, don't solve customer problems and charge you for things you don't need.

Yes corruption in India is high but lower than Pakistan. Check TI findings and Governance Indicators published by World Bank if you believe those numbers. If a company has to do business in a country which is as honest as Finland (I wish I could write either India or Pakistan here) then it would be simply committing suicide by restricting its market. One can still do business with corrupt countries if one knows how to play the game right and has proper risk assessment and risk mitigation practices in place.

By the way who told you that China is an honest country..? MNC’s are still doing business in China.

Dell has three key focus areas of business in India, R&D, assembly and call centres. The increase in manpower will be in all the three areas. Call centre deficiency is not a criteria for getting out of a country. This deficiency is the easiest to correct. If managment of a company decides to get out of a country just because of this trivial issue then they would probably never succeed anywhere in the world. Data theft happens in all the countries. Disgruntled employees can be found in any organisation and in any country and India is no exception.

Read this to know about data security related issues.

http://sify.com/news/fullstory.php?id=14335326

*Media to catch attention will always have screaming headlines about scandals corruption etc. on the front page. Majority of us relish such reportage. When I posted a thread about some people denigrating Islam…it got so much of attention. But when I posted a thread about a good deed done in Egypt..hardly any reactions…It probably is self explanatory that we all like sensational reportage and because of it negative news spreads like wildfire. *

Dell recalled millions of batteries.. did Sony get out of business for making those defective batteries…were there Indian engineers in Japan..did Dell get out of notebook business…such things do hit the bottom line of a company but product recalls are not new in the industry. When you buy such a product you always finance a part of the contingency provisions put in place by the company.

China became an attractive manufacturing base for several global organisations because of cheap labour and other attractions like better infrastructure and climate quite conducive to FDI.

Texas Instruments started with 20 people in India and today they have about 1200 engineers working on R&D projects.

Check these links to know more about it.

http://www.ti.com/asia/docs/india/dsp-universities.html#elite

Instead of singing hosannas to the Chinese, you guys should talk about your own country. BRIC unfortunately has no brick for Pakistan at the moment. In future..propably Yes.

Pakistan has quite a mature cement industry…why do they choose to buy machinery from European suppliers and not from the Chinese suppliers…Any answers…don’t tell me that some of them have bought from Chinese and claim they are running those factories efficiently.

When jobs move from one country to another country there will always be people who will loose jobs in the home country while those left behind will complain about the quality of job done in other countries…nothing new about it. (Has any one of you ever watched English movie ‘How Green Was My Valley’ based on a novel by Richard Llewellyn, if not then watch it to know about cost cutting and job losses.).

Shareholders of a company want profit at the end of the day and they would go to any part of the world to ensure profits. Nationality, religion or colour of the skin doesn’t play any role.

And now Pakistanis will drink Indian Coffee!!
http://www.dawn.com/2006/12/17/top11.htm

It is all about money honey :). Victims of religion, nationality, caste, and colour of skin cannot attract money which has no such traits.

Nope we don't because nothing burns Indians like China. :D

Arre yaar aisa kuchch nahin hai. There are several Indian companies which have started their operations in China. China is no doubt making huge progress but would slow down a bit in the next 2-3 years. To avoid overheating.

Let me tell you one thing we Indians will always be happy if our neighbouring countries also make good economic progress. There is no question of jealousy here.

Does anyone know what prominent companies have call centers in Pakistan? I know of some companies who are outsourcing their database projects to Pakistan, and from what I have heard they are handling it rather well. And keep in mind, this work is much tougher than running a call center and answering customers, as it involves alot of design and development.

LI a trip for you, whenever you call, just tell them you want level 2 support, since level 1 couldnt help you last time you called (about the same problem) and level2 is usually in the US and is a gora/gori..

Cool, thanks. :)

Small companies that make huge monies, mostly manhattan, wallstreet types have outsourced incredibly innovatively in pakistan. One example being of hot looking secretaries being outsourced among other examples of specialized outsourcing. While Pakistani entrepenuers do not have the capibility to compete with well established (but indeed inferior) competitors as of YET, they do have better brains. I didn’t bother looking for newer articles, this one was saved on my bookmarks. Check it out.

Will India destroy the United States?

Are American in panic mode?

Will India destroy the United States?

By: Simon Jones | Submitted on: 12/29/06

http://www.smallgovtimes.com/story/06dec29.india.destroy.us/

EDITORIAL - The title to this article may sound extreme. You be the judge. After responding recently to articles about the Indian invasion of America, I was finally encouraged to write an article about my experiences in the high-tech industry. Because of severance agreements, the names of my former company and former coworkers have been changed.

I am a computer programmer, and have been for 15 years. I worked for a company TechnoDataCode in California for 6 years, and I was the director of one of the R&D projects.

About a year ago, most of the other American employees and I were fired and replaced with people from India on H-1B and L-1 visas. The people from India were making only a fraction of what we Americans were making. I was making $110K a year; my replacement, $37K. The people under me were making about $75K; their replacements, about $29K.

To keep my severance pay, I was required to stay on for an additional six months (after the other Americans were fired) to train the replacements. This was probably the most humiliating experience of my life.

What I describe above is happening now every day. Many of my friends in high-tech have also recently been fired, and are being replaced with cheap imported labor from India or China. Microsoft says there is a “high-tech shortage,” which is a lie. Almost every American programmer I know is now unemployed and has been replaced by a cheap import. There is not a “shortage.” Big business only wants more cheap labor.

But the story only gets better…

You would think that the Indians would be appreciative of being allowed to work in the United States, but this was very far from the case. Most of their conversations involved extreme hatred of America, Americans, and anyone of European descent.

Here are some examples of their daily conversations:

• Indians are the real “Aryans.” The Human Genome Project shows that Indians are closely related to Africans. Thus Indians and Africans are the real “Aryans.”

• All people of European descent (i.e. all whites) must be exterminated

• Blond hair and blue eyes are inferior traits. By the year 2090, all people with blond hair and blue eyes will either be bred or executed out of existence.

• One day India will invade and take over. It is India’s destiny to rule over whites.

• Christianity is a disease that can only be cured with a bullet

Although most of the Indians were Hindu, a few were Muslim, and they were quite openly fond of Bin Laden. The Hindus, however, seemed to hate white Americans just as much as if not more than the Muslims. On this they could agree.

And then there is the story about Praveen.

Praveen, a Hindu from Northern India, was often very “touchy” with me and the other Americans. He was always shaking our hands and patting us on the backs. I noticed too that after touching me he often left “red marks” on my clothes, and on others’ clothes.

There was also a break room that only a few Americans frequented. (Indians never visited it.) And Praveen was always in there tampering with the coffee machine.

After seeing him one day pricking himself with a safety pin to make himself bleed, it all came together. He was trying to transmit his blood to others - either by direct contact or by putting it in the coffee machine.

Come to find out, he was HIV+ and was trying to transmit it to the Americans.

Praveen went back to India shortly after that, so no criminal action was able to be taken. But a few of the other Indians did transmit HIV to a couple of the American women - and seemed very proud of it.

Management of the company was informed of this, but they did very little to look into it. When I told our CEO that I suspected that the Indians were spreading HIV around the workers, he called me a “racist” and told me to be quiet.

I’m sure he was aware of what was going on - but simply did not care. Cheap labor is cheap labor, that that is the bottom line for big business.

The only loyalty of big business is profit, and they could care less about American workers, American values, or the well-being of the United States.

And what about the future of America?

Are we going to auction off every American job to low-paid imports until there are no good American jobs left? Are we going to let third-world hordes take over our high-tech sector until not a single American is left in any important position?

The only effective and patriotic way to stop this is by massive deportations of all the cheap labor from India and China. Otherwise, with the help of big business, we are well on our way to becoming a third-world country.

Re: Will India destroy the United States?

:rotfl: funny :smiley:

I was making $110K a year; my replacement, $37K. The people under me >>were making about $75K; their replacements, about $29K.

This is BS. I have been in the Bay Area long enough to know this.
Indian working offshore may earn a lot less in comparison but not H1Bs/L1s based in Bay Area. Plus I dont know if anybody can survive in the Bay Area earning $37K/yr.
The writer is obviosly exaggerating to make his point.
btw, I remember reading this same column about 4 years ago...so obviously this is being recycled.

Never mind...I just read the later portion of the above "column" and realized it is just trash and not even worth commenting on.

Rubbish!

May be by the smell of curry and B.O.

^ lol... paneer will kick you. This was funny. Some one is paranoid. lol

there should be a silly jokes section to which this thread should be moved