Indian Crowd / How Indians have ruined cricket

Well you have matches being played in other countries where people would appreciate good cricket. OK not clapping/chanting as passionately that they would normally do for their teams, but still they cheer for others.

But the Indian crowd? :nahi:

It is dead silence if a boundry is hit or a wicket taken by the opposite team.

Whats up with you my Indian friends? Learn to appreciate good cricket.

re: Indian Crowd / How Indians have ruined cricket

I know eh. They ought to learn from their neighbours i.e Pakistan=US. But i have a feeling they wl remain sour all their life and whine no matter what.

Kya bol rahey ho bhai ZareenKhan? Compare this with Sri Lanka, Bangla Desh and even Pakistan, they at least are not as partisan as this crowd, this is really pathetic!

Well WI Crowd behave similar and i've seen South African Crowd at times were similar ..... I think there some articles regarding this on espncricinfo urging the PPL to cheer good cricket and not only when ur team is doing well

But on the other hand u can sense that players can enjoy when they simply stun the crowd to silence with a single shot or delivery :D

To me it's more supporting results than team which is poor i think ..... and we've a few of them here on GS as well (not only Indians)

Angoor Khatte hai :smiley:

:indiaflag:

^^ Arey yaar ham Tareef bhi to kar rahey haiN Indian field or Z. Khan's bowling ki.. :D

Arre y shud the crowd cheer for every 4 that thw opposition hits. F that. Some cheer for a centurian or when the opposing team wins is reasomable and i have seen that in all 3 countries this wc.

Stop your whining

Ok dont cheer but then dont boo either. That's totally retarted and says so much abt yr manners. A winner doesnt always have a winning attitude and you guys prove that.

Short memory u have … ponting hit a wonderful fighting century Against India only to booed by the crowd :smack:

PPL Started Leaving the Stadium when it looked like England was winning the match

Enjoy the Cricket and less the results

Just Stating the obvious :wink:

Zero. There are idiots everywhere. Stop using the words 'you guys' for over a billion people because of a few guys.

Punter should be booed everywhere he goes. I have no problem with that.

I have not seen any other significnt booing. No need to cheer for every good shot he opposition hits.

Indian crowds are indeed poor. Havent seen any crowd not letting a match being completed bcoz the home team was loosing.

^^ Yaar ab tou rona chor do.
bhaut ho gaya, koi baat nahi haar gaye tou.

Your team might have lost gracefully but you are acting like a sour loser.

But they did not turn against the Lankans…

^They threw a lot of objects on Lankans and Lankans had to leave the field, they came back after sometime and again objects were thrown at them and at that time match refree awarded the match to SL.

How Indians have ruined cricket!

an interesting read…don’t agree with all the observations but some are interesting….the ones related to “non-sportsmanship of Indian audience” and “absolute lack of interest in non-india matches” are true but may very well be attributable to many other nations as well…aussies are not going to be overly amused watching Lee hammerd by tendulkar either…so why blame indian crowd only?

to me, the most interesting observation was “india does not love cricket…India loves India” which is inline with this escalated Indian nationalism of late that has become pronounced to an extent that it has become increasingly difficult to have an objective discussion with Indians on any topic that involves India as their “nationalism” will force them to defend India at any cost…I know Indians are desperate to post their stamp on world’s canvass but the fact remains that this requires time, patience, planning and most importantly character building…otherwise you will keep seeing corporate gurus of rajat gupta’s caliber falling for cheap stuff…

How Indians have ruined cricket — I

By Aakar Patel
Published: April 2, 2011

One of the disappointing things about the World Cup was that it was played in the subcontinent.
It is thought that India loves cricket. This is incorrect. India loves India. Cricket gives us the opportunity to express this affection. The local cricket match in India is unattended. Even World Cup matches featuring two other sides will be played without spectators, no matter what the calibre of the players. This is unlike World Cup football, or American football and basketball. What attracts Indian spectators isn’t cricket, the sport, in that sense.
Let us observe the pattern of crowd behaviour.
Indian spectators express themselves physically, through dancing, screaming and jumping about. This is done communally, in groups often including middle-aged men. It is done emotionally, with strong facial expressions. Sunil Gavaskar says he was amazed to first play at Lord’s 40 years ago because of the way the audience applauded. It was, he said, always three claps. Clap-clap-clap — silence. But that is why cricket is an English sport. We behave like a WWF audience. Strange things excite us. Calcuttans set their stands alight at the end of every match, a Neanderthal fascination with fire.
In the European nations (England, Australia, South Africa, New Zealand), spectator behaviour is more individual. Where communication is visual, it is not through facial expression, but fancy dress.
Instead of screaming, expression is through the written word: Banners.
In India, signs are held up which are either obvious or embarrassingly banal. A decade ago, they were also poorly spelled. These days they’re not, because advertisers hand out printed ones. This defeats the purpose of spectator banners; and that is spontaneity. There is never real humour, which can only come when we are able to laugh at ourselves.
In February 1993, South Africa was chasing 208 against Pakistan at Durban. From 158 for 1, they were all out for 198, five of them clean-bowled by the great Waqar Younis.
As his yorkers were bringing doom to the last few, a South African held up a large sheet on which she had scrawled ‘Waqar the springbok faqar’. So clever, I remember it 18 years later. Indians write rubbish.
Foreign commentators often say that the crowd in Chennai is ‘knowledgeable’. In saying this they mean that they don’t go off on bump balls, like the crowd does elsewhere in India.
One unique thing is how Indian spectators are silent when the other team scores. On television, it’s as if the screen has gone mute. It’s not about enjoying a sport and appreciating the ability of professionals to play it. It’s about nationalism, which in India is narrow and zero-sum. If they score even a little victory; a boundary, our tumescence droops. The Bengali thinks he’s different, but this is untrue. Imminent defeat against the Lankans in 1996’s World Cup resulted in Calcuttans rioting in Eden Gardens, and, as Indians tend to do, damaging the property that they could barely afford.
The Indian team is overrated because our fierce nationalism inflates its capacity. This has been amplified recently because of our economic power. Ten years ago, opponents thought little of us, and rightly. Against the quality team, India’s record is to fold. We regularly get a thrashing from Australia (won 36, lost 61), old enemy Pakistan (46: 69) and newcomers South Africa (24: 40). Even West Indies, 25 years in decline, have a superior record (38: 54).
Usually, Indians are happy to win the skirmish and lose the battle. This is because national honour is often safeguarded by the hero. The astute Ian Chappell noticed that Indians were content if Sachin Tendulkar scored his 100, even if India then lost. In Australia this would never happen, he said, and it would be seen as defeat, which it is. Since his audience telegraphs this, the Indian cricketer plays for himself much more than players of other sides. An analysis of Sachin’s scoring pattern between 90 and 100 will be interesting.
The other thing that separates the Indian audience from the European is the level of security.
Years ago, David Gower speculated on why Indians flung things at fielders on the boundary. The intent wasn’t to hurt, he said generously, just to distract, “Though there were one or two good arms out there.”
Why do we throw things? It’s difficult for others to follow our manner of forcibly inserting ourselves into the action through such simian behaviour.
The Indian is deeply prejudiced against Africans, and Black players have always been targeted (some will be offended by this sweeping allegation. I am open to the idea that the Indian is an equal-opportunity vandal). A bottle hit Vasbert Drakes at Rajkot in 2002, ending the match there. That was the third time in a week that West Indians were attacked in India, the other two places being Jamshedpur and Nagpur. This sort of thing has now stopped. Why? Because Indian spectators are watched over like inmates.
On all Indian grounds, a wire mesh now separates players from the unpredictable Indian audience. This is shameful, but passes unnoticed in our culture. In Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, West Indies and England, this isn’t needed.
The policing here is excessive, but necessary. Geoffrey Boycott was upset after his sandwiches were confiscated by security in Delhi earlier in the tournament. I sympathise with him for being forced to eat the crew’s Mughlai lunch. Sir Geoffrey is working class and sees no appeal in the exotic. I think a bit of racial profiling is fine, and we should be firm only with Indians.
Published in The Express Tribune, April 03rd, 2011.

Re: How Indians have ruined cricket!

A little exaggeration here. Most crowds around the world are like that specially in crunch games.. not much applause for the opposition.

Re: How Indians have ruined cricket!

^ Sharabee I w'd politely disgaree....surely not to this extent! The silence is very unique and peculiar to indian crowds. This topic has been beaten up many times already.

PD bhai I am going to merge it with the other thread

Re: Indian Crowd / How Indians have ruined cricket

Asif.. I guess I've just been ignorant about this since I really haven't notice THAT MUCH OF A BIG differnce between Indian and other crowds as the above posts/articles make it out to be.. the English are the only ones that cheer for opposition 100s etc.. but I don't think they do it as much when the game is tight and England is hurting...

Indian fans are much more passionate. It's our only sport. All our retards love cricket .... Whereas in England and Australia their retards are more involved with soccer, rugby etc.

IMO unsporting crowds are which boo every player who does well (exception punter, punter being booed is always OK for me). I don't think they are unsporting just cuz they did not applaud a guy who just beat their team. Just my opinion.

Re: Indian Crowd / How Indians have ruined cricket

janab badhai ho..world champion ban gaye app log...didnt see you in the WC final thread...