Indian Crowd Behaviour & Responces

Re: Indian Crowd Behaviour & Responces

I have reading the replies to this thread and couldn’t just sit back after reading some ingnorant comments. You have to keep in mind one thing and that is during the last year’s matches on most of the grounds there were some Indian spectators along with the Bharat Army( desi Barmy Army replica). Off course we didn’t see many indians around Peshawar or something like that. Matches around Mohali were off course appreciated because of the punjabi population. during the partition, north and north western India had to go through the trauma. People down from Central India were not affected that much considering what went in these parts. My grand father used to teacher in Govt. college of Lahore in those times. For us people in mohali and dharamshala, it was like we were watching the match with a long lost brother. Off course everyone was pissed that India lost( drawing the match was the same as loss). You would find the change in attitude again when the Pak team visits Delhi because of cultural similarities. As far as I know and can remember, Indian crowd has been like this. We don’t appreciate other team, to heck we don’t appreciate if our own players don’t play nicer. You all know how crowd goes numb when tendulkar is out. Should they stand up and give him standing ovation everytime or to the bowler who got the batsmen out to whom they came to see and are gonna spoil the day for. this is how cricket is played in our country and that’s the beauty of it. That’s the reason all the big teams hate the indian crowds because they get so worked up and 80,000 people screaming at u, does creates some probs…

Instead of bickering and taking this war of words around religion and country is not right. You guys gotta control the emotions, and mods need to come and chill everyone over here…hats of to Kaka_in_usa, your reply was well thought..

peace..//

:rotfl::rotfl::rotfl:

Who cares about their crowd man and how can you even forget Chennai crowd when you talk about Indian crowd's behaviour?????

So what if Calcutta crowd acted like morons??
So what if Banglore crowd didn't appreciate our performance??
So what if spectators at Kochi were rude enough to stay quiet when we hit a boundary or took a wicket??
So what if Mumbai crowd booed the whole Pakistani nation when Aleem dar gave a bad decision against them???(it wasn't even a bad decision in the end)???

Whenever Indian crowd behaves badly, just remember the Chennai crowd :)

****. you guys sure whine a lot.

with u amongst us sure they do:D

beleive it or not i love the way INDIAN responded man. one boundry and all of them r shut shut and INSHALLAH they will be shut for rest of series:dhimpak:

:jhanda:

Oh do you really call it whinning???:crying:

I remember Sanjay going crazy about crowd’s pathetic reaction when Pakistanis took a wicket or hit a boundary and actually Aamir Soahil had to calm him down. It’s because Sanjay knew that Indian crowd was pathetic and unsporting.

** Where are the tickets?**

Two Pakistan-India one-dayers are gone; four are left. But there seems to be no information even now on when, where and how fans in Pakistan can purchase tickets for the one-day series.

The way the Indian high commission in Islamabad has dealt with the matter has not helped. Instead of accepting receipts for tickets, the high commission staff are insisting that visa applications to watch any cricket match must have the actual ticket.

This was not the case last year when the Indian team toured Pakistan and fans wanting to visit Pakistan were issued visas on the basis of a receipt. In fact, at that time, and to its credit, the Pakistan Cricket Board had placed a sizable chunk of the tickets for sale on the Internet, something that had obviously greatly helped fans both in Pakistan and especially in India.

The number of Pakistani fans who saw the first Test in Mohali was supposed to be around 5,000 but in the end it transpired that around 3,000 were able to obtain visas and a good number of the tickets were returned by the PCB to the Indian board.

The second and third Tests, perhaps because of distance and unavailability of direct flights to either Kolkata or Bangalore from any city in Pakistan, saw only a handful of Pakistani fans in attendance.

The fact that the Indian high commission was offering visas only for one particular match might also be a disincentive to fans since the visa holder is expected to return to this country the day after the match ends.

Whatever the case might be, the Indian Cricket Board has to be a bit more forceful with the respective cricket associations hosting the next one-day matches. The local cricket associations provide tickets to the Indian board which will in turn provide them to the PCB for sale in Pakistan. But when that will happen remains to be seen.

And it's not as if the PCB hasn't brought this to the notice of its Indian counterpart. According to several Indian newspaper reports, PCB chief Shaharyar Khan was quite unhappy with what he called the "frustrating" delay in issuing tickets to Pakistani fans for the one-day series.

For the last match in New Delhi the PCB has reportedly sought 5,000 tickets (compare this with the 8,000 tickets the Indian board was provided for the Lahore ODI last year).

Mr Khan told the Indian Express that the PCB had asked the Indian high commission in Islamabad to give visas to fans even if they had not yet bought their actual tickets so that they could at least travel to India.

What has or will become of that request however remains to be seen. He had also said that local cricket associations hosting the various matches should have given the tickets "at least 10 days in advance" but this has not happened either, much to the chagrin of cricket fans in Pakistan.

According to the PCB, in the case of the Bangalore Test, the Karnataka State Cricket Association had delayed things to such an extent that the PCB had to send one of its own officials to Bangalore to bring the tickets to Pakistan.

The PCB chief said they had "repeatedly" asked the Delhi and District Cricket Association (hosting the last ODI in New Delhi on April 17) for tickets to accommodate 5,000 fans from Pakistan but the request had yet to be honoured.

For followers of the game in Pakistan, nothing can be a more mouth-watering prospect than an ODI series between arch-rivals India and Pakistan. And there are many who, provided that they can get visas on time, will want to make the trip to India.

One can only hope that the Indian board is able to impress upon the various cricket associations hosting the remaining one-day matches to act with the same promptness and efficiency so fans this side of the border can watch cricket.

A CRICKET FAN

Karachi

--------------------x-------------------------
So you are implying that 'East & South Indians are a pathetic lot ? and we should stick to West Indian venues next time? :rotfl: ,
Ohhh, Bhai, Its the question of ‘People’s generocity’ ‘Friendlyness’ ‘Appreciative’
nature. We heard so much of myth about this that the reality speaks otherwise.

Each year and on each occasion we (Pakistanis) are always debating whether its true in reality or just the ‘pocket of incidents’.

After all every conversation about Pakistan in India ends on ‘Terrorism & Cross border infilteration’. Sour but true. :devil:

I was actually expecting you to say these things so that I can reply back to you. First things first. If the conversation ends with Terrorism & cross border infilteration than there might be some truth. We can both fight all the time over here and no one would win. I am not saying what’s happening over here is only Pakistan’s fault. Coin has two sides and both the parties are at fault.

Going to the issue of East, West, north , south. Except in north and western India people don’t appreciate you guys. You just have to get over with it. They don’t like you. They have no cultural, ethinic similarities with you guys.

And please just don’t quote some things and reply to them. At the end of the day we are playing cricket here and making money. Crowd plays a big part in today’s game. I remember watching some games early in the 90’s and pakistan crowd wasn’t that enchanting either. and who cares.

anyway’s keep on replying and keep this board hummingg..
peace..

Hi ppl, I am a new one on this forum and have been reading comments posted by both sides. I tried my level best not to post any comment but couldn't help myself anymore. First of all I dont know why it is too hard for the indians friends to observe on their TV screens the one sided behavior of the indain crowd, the only reason coming to my mind is they are not watching it on TV and they are following it on radio. Even the indian commentators have realized that and they have openly commented on that. The only thing which is pissing me is that why can't you guys admit that the crowd behavior is not supporting and plz don't tell me that they are supporting. some one really has to be deaf and blind to say that. Okay for a moment i accept that crowds are different every where but then you people simply should accept that they are not being a supporting crowd unlike the pakistani crowd last year. Believe me I am from Karachi and I know the karachi crowd. It use to be freakingly hostile in Pakistan against India matches. There were things happening last year in karachi match which you could have never ever expected in your dreams. You cant imagine Indian people running in the National stadium karachi with indian flags and karachi crowd applauding them thru out the whole match and even after losing a match and where karachi crowd saw one of the greatest run chase by their own team. Just imagine the disappointment when you are so close but still so far in a normal match, but with that match i guess you can easily mutliply the disappointment by 1000000 times. If a hostile karachi crowd was willing to change then plz don't give me crap that thats the way indian crowd is and thats the way the behave every time . If we can change you can also and if not then accept the fact and don't be a whinner.

Sorry to disappoint you dude but this is how supporters all over world react. They support their team and boo the oppositions. Be it Yankees playing in Boston OR Brazilian playing in Argentina.
This is what makes sport great. Problem with you guys is that you guys went overboard ( not that it is bad thing) when India last visited you and now you expect same from us. Sorry to disappoint you but We are gonna cheer for our team and make life miserable for opposition. I havve paid money to see my team win.

to add to that, if you end up playing in venues like kochi, where cricket isnt a popular game (soccer takes first priority) and majority of the crowd cant appreciate finer aspects of the game, its gonna be one sided cheering.

Well really glad to have some one who is openly admitting and accepting the indian crowd behavior. FYI, we were never expecting the indian crowd to reciprocate especially after watching the golden jublee match last november in kolkatta, so believe me there is no disappointment. The only problem was that there was no indian who was accepting the fact on this forum. I don't think the paki crowd went overboard last year, but if the indian crowd continue to behave like that, then pakistani crowd will defenitely think that they went overboard in 2004 and they need to act differently. But believe me it will still be 1000 times better then the current crowd performance. And as far as crowd and supporters reaction all over the world is concerned, believe me you don't often see such reaction in cricketing world , specially pin drop silence and maintaining it consistently thru out the whole series (wow). You do see it in soccer and other sports but then crowd in such sports are often very very hostile and often are involved in other abnormal acts like bloddy fights and stuff and believe me you dont want that in cricket.

WOW, there were 80,000 screeming fans in Cochi ( and cricket is unpopular??????) and continuing with the tradition they were cheering the indian team and booing the pakistani team just like the crowds in Kolkata n banglore. And you came up with the excuse that they probably are not aware of the finer aspects of the game. Does that logic of yours apply to the banglore and kolkata crowd as well because i found nothing different in the crowds of banglore kolkata and cochi. Probably ppl in all these 3 cities are not aware of the finer aspects of the game.

^ What do you say bade mian ;) did you hear the loud cheering on century of Salman. :)

it was very good! :k:

I sincerely hope (again) when Pakistani team is fielding there is no pathrao...

That was nice indeed!

The Indian crowd is not to blame. The blame should be put on our crowds for treating the Indian players like freakin' bhagwans and bending ass backwards in appreciation. Not only did that personally sicken me, it also took away any kind of home advantage that we had. Stupid Pakis and their non-serious attitude towards Test cricket just sickens me. Atleast the crowds across the border love and appreciate the real form of the game.