Greg Chappell, India’s coach, will not be seeking an extension of his contract, which expired at the end of the World Cup. Chappell informed the board president of his decision on Wednesday, citing “family and personal reasons.”
Re: Indian cricket coach Greg Chappell resigns!
He already knew that his contract wolud not be renewed and was going to be fired.Senior cricketers loby is too strong to kick him out.Tendu,s interview yesterday summed up his future. stay with a local coach india.
Yep. Just read it on BBC as well. Right thing for him to do given that the mental wave length of the team, BCCI management and his own would never really match. Get out yourself instead of being thrown out.
Although I believe his draft to the team was never really beneficial in the first place. A not so equal comparison to Pakistan's results from Woolmer. Who in the end also proved less effective.
BCCI and Team India thugs don't deserve a great coach such as Chappell.
Greg Zindabaad!
Appropriate decision if true...He was the worst..I hope nobody hires for this job again.
There is too much politics in Pak and India for these goraz. Desi coaches will be better for both teams
Agar Sachin mai thorri see bhi sharam hay tau he should also announce retirement. He broke poor Greg's heart by his insensitive remarks in the media. Shame on you Sachin.
^ you are right. However Chappel is a control freak. A Mr. know it all. His body language in interviews says everything about his royal attitude. Combine that with old guns of India and you have what you call " yeh kanixan tau ph-yooj uraay ga yaron" if I got it right.
To me Chappel looks like almost saying to the Indians 'Look guys I am leaving because you are simply not good enough, I gave it my best shot but I can't get you to improve beyond a certain average level plus I really don't want to endager my life given some of your overzealous over the top crazy fans. What happened to Woolmer so could easily have happened to me, so no thank you!''
^ Sorry GA. That is not at all what he has said thus far. If you have followed all of his statements recently, they don't line up with your conclusion. It was as if he was saying, I want to continue, but you have to give me 1) the players that I want, 2) the captain that I want 3) and complete control over the team.
He has shown to BCCI that he demands control where as even in the England, SA and Aus setup, a coach is a widget in the whole machine and not the driver.
When he saw he would be made the escape goat and the senior players would have more weight then himself with BCCI, he decided to duck out gracefully.
^ yeah you maybe right but I think Chappell (a great batsman of his time with 7110 test runs at 53.86, 24 hundreds) being a proud cricketer himself has also been greatly hurt by the perennial tendency of the Indian batsmen (in particular Tendulkar) to underperform when the team really needs their runs and feels helpess to do anything. A coach (and captain) is only as good as the team. If Chappell can't motivate the Indians then I am afraid nobody can. The players alone are responsible for this shameful exit.
The same goes for our team btw........
I have’nt seen any chalu langur coach like Greg in my life… isko chapplo se maar maar kar bhagaana chahie ![]()
Chappel as a batsmen was one of my favourite, as a coach :nono:
However if he has been hounded out because of player power and players who were responsible for India’s exit from the world cup in the first round than it is not a good day for Indian cricket. The loser in such scenario will be Indian cricket.
Ganguly kay kalaijay may aaj THAND parh gaee hogi.
Do Bangladesh and Sri Lanka have local coaches or foreign coaches?
^ Both have foreign coaches, Sri Lanka has Tom Moody (Australian) and BD has Dav Whatmore (Sri Lankan Australian)
Ganguly kay kalaijay may aaj THAND parh gaee hogi.
yeah Punjabi film "badlay dee aag" ka End scene ho gaya...
Gangu ko to acting karne ka mokka hi nahi mila ![]()
^ mila na...
made a come back and then batted Chappell out with his slow runs.