Indian Cricket Board Wants Resumption Of Pakistan/India Matches

Originally posted by bdsurti: *
**Mr Xtreme Ji

Reason for India taking Part in the World Cricket Cup :

MONEY, MONEY, MONEY.

You will find that Indian Advertisers and Sponsors contribute nearly Sixty Per Cent of the total Money earned through Advertising and Sponsorship during the World Cricket Cup tournament.

NO INDIA - NO FIANACIAL GAIN.

ICC will find it difficult to carry on paying the huge sums and give fabulous perquisites to their English and Australian Committee Members.

Have A Nice Day

If money is the main issue then why doesn't the Indian govt say it outright that they don't want Pakistan to benefit financially from Indo-Pak matches, why does it bring the cross border terrorism everytime there is a talk of Indo-Pak matches.

I doubt there will be resumption of matches between Pakistan and India. BCCI is working on tour dates with the South African and Bangladesh Cricket boards for Tri-Series in Dhaka in the mid of April.

Whatever BCCI suggests, Wahi Hoga Jo Manzoor-e-Vajpayee Hoga!

India, SA teams for Dhaka tri-series

**Indian cricket officials had last week urged the federal government to allow the April tour of Pakistan to go ahead to prevent India from being “totally isolated” on the world stage.

“If India do not play against Pakistan, the equilibrium of world cricket will be severely affected because the World Test Championship cannot be decided,” Indian chief Jagmohan Dalmiya wrote in a letter to Sports Minister Vikram Verma.

Dalmiya said each cricket nation was supposed to play four series against each other every 10 years and that if India did not play Pakistan it “may be totally isolated in the world cricket scenario.” **

Yeah, with the current form of Pakistan cricket, the only thing Indian govt is doing is not granting its team 3 free points for WTC.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *

If money is the main issue then why doesn't the Indian govt say it outright that they don't want Pakistan to benefit financially from Indo-Pak matches, why does it bring the cross border terrorism everytime there is a talk of Indo-Pak matches.

UMAIR316 Ji

I trust that you are aware that Politicians act with Subtlety and not go about it hammer and tongs.

The Indian Govrnment have stated ‘’Until Pakistan stops Cross Border Terrorism we will not have the Indian Team play with the Pakistani Cricket Team in Pakistan’’

Normally Pakistan would have thumbed its nose at India. NAHIN KHELNA HAI MUT KHAYLO.

However, Pakistan can ill afford to take such an attitude. PCB needs the Indian Team to play in Pakistan or have the Pakistani Team to Play in India so they can make USD 30 to 50 Million in Profits.

So Pakistan fulfils India’s requirements on the two above points, Bingo, the Indian Cricket Team plays with Pakistan. PCB makes USD 30-50 Million Profit.

There is no point in accusing the Indian Government. The Australians, New Zealanders and the West Indians also refuse to play Cricket in Pakistan. Why single out India?

You should know that the last three Pakistan Home Series i.e. New Zealand (curtailed) in Pakistan, Australia and West Indies in Sharjah were all loss making prepositions for the PCB. This is why Pakistan and especially PCB are jumping up and down begging, wailing, whinging, and whining for the Indian Cricket Team to play with Pakistan not only in Pakistan but also in India.

Some time back the PCB General Saheb stated some thing like ‘’We will no more ask India to play with our Pakistani Team. Now India must ask us to have our team play with them’’.

I would pay my utmost Respect to the Pakistan Cricket Team, PCB and the Pakistan Government and all the various types of Leaderships if Pakistan now refuses to play with India i.e. NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES.

However this is not going to be the case. PAPI PAIT KA SWAL HAI.

Bhai India to Soney Ki Chirya Hai. Subtlety is required to deal with India – not braggadocio.

Money is not the main Issue. Money is being used to get what cannot be got by ‘’Talking’’.

Have A Nice Day.

yaar, how did all you Indians become so subtle? I mean we have so many Indian well-wishers who wish us to acknowledge that Pakistanis and Indians are one and the same, and Pakistan is but a figment of our imagination. But I personally doubt Indians and Pakistanis are the same or ever will be.

I mean, you guys are much smarter than us not to mention noble and brave too. I feel humbled in your presence o king among men. Just looking at you budsurat uncle, I mean I love how you just assumed as a universal truth that our army is involved in cross-border terrorism. So, I take it your army comprises of people who swear by only the highest of moral standards?

Some of you Indians never fail to amaze me. Keep up the entertaiment boys.

*Originally posted by ehsan: *
So Jind mahi what you are saying it is all about money and not principles. Your country would not boycott Pakistan in World cup because it means big money. What happened to the principle of not playing Pakistan because of its support of so called "terrorism" which your government is so keen to advertise around the world?

At least you can respect England for sticking to its principle and not playing zimbawe and forfeiting 4 points. From the way you have explained, it seems that your country is more concerned about the money than the principles.

ehsan Ji

The Indian Government is an Elected Government and has through its political Sagacity a working Majority in Parliament.

The Indian Prime Minister and President are not one of those Self Elected or Elected by deceit Leaders. Thus they have a right to Govern in the Interest of the Country.

By not playing Cricket with Pakistan India does not gain or lose anything. So if the Indian Government can put the Pakistan Government in a corner and persuade it to meet the requirements of Indian Interests then the Indian Government has a right to do so.

Have a Nice Day

:hehe: Well Said Surti bhai :slight_smile: Also they forget that NZ was not willing to tour Pakistan initially but agreed to tour only when threatened that If they didn’t go to Pakistan, India would not tour NZ. In Paki ehsanfaramoshon ka support karne ke badle hamein kya mila ?? We pissed those guys in NZ for these good for nothing neighbours and they rewarded us with tailored pitches :hehe: in our next tour

Your assertion that Pakistan cricket will choke without the money from the contest between the two countries is a load of bull. The point is that your own board and players are as keen to play our team as we are to play them. It produces the best in both teams, it is a contest which people from both countries look forward to. It is a most ridiclous suggestion that the money from cricket will be used for the freedom fighters movement in Kashmir. Get a life.

*Originally posted by bdsurti: *
There is no point in accusing the Indian Government. The Australians, New Zealanders and the West Indians also refuse to play Cricket in Pakistan. Why single out India?

I don't get it. But New Zealand, Australia, West Indies don't have a problem playing Pakistan anywhere, right? There is no condition of "multi-national tournament" either. Its only India, or is there something I am missing?

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *

I am just expressing what I think about the** coward **Indian govt.

Umair, expressing urself is fine, no problem; there should be healthy discussion, not like gali muhalla fight; Please refrain from using such words.

Peace and Love !

Well it has to do with Indias performance since they have improved they are now capable of facing Pakistan again and Pak’s perfromances are now below par.

Anyways I appreciate this move and hope this turns out to be a good “partnership” between those two countries. At least in sports. :k:

*Originally posted by The_Indian_teen: *
..Umair, expressing urself is fine, no problem; there should be healthy discussion, not like gali muhalla fight; Please refrain from using such words...

Teeny Weeny bhai jaan. App kon kon si gulli or mohallai sai waqif hain? :)

The quicker the people understand the better. The stance the Indian govt took was because they did not want to suffer further humiliation at the hands of Pakistan. Prior to the WC, Pakistan was seen as a much stronger team than India.

2bornot2b - was pakistan a stronger team in 1999 also ?? Or do you mean to suggest that Pakistan team is very strong until the world cup starts, and the moment they start playing in the world cup they become a weak team :hehe:

*Originally posted by ehsan: *
Your assertion that Pakistan cricket will choke without the money from the contest between the two countries is a load of bull. The point is that your own board and players are as keen to play our team as we are to play them. It produces the best in both teams, it is a contest which people from both countries look forward to. It is a most ridiclous suggestion that the money from cricket will be used for the freedom fighters movement in Kashmir. Get a life.

Ehsan Ji

You are taking my post to the extreme. Rest assured Pakistan having USD 10 Billion in Foreign Exchange Reserves cannot be Blackmailed.

It is just that the PCB is in financial Straits and as such the Indian Government has decided to stop the PCB from earning USD 30-50 Million by stopping the Indian Cricket Team from playing Pakistan in India or Pakistan.

The PCB is controlled by the Generals of the Pakistan Army. The Pakistan Army also controls the Pakistani Government. The Pakistani Government through the Pakistan Army supports and provides succour to the Cross Border Terrorism and in convert with the ISI supports and provides sanctuary and haven to the 20 Indian Gangsters-Terrorists.

You say ‘’ The point is that your own board and players are as keen to play our team as we are to play them’’. This is not a fact. i.e. The Indian Team Members are already earning HUGE sums of Money in Sponsorship and through their ‘’Salaries-Allowance’’ from the BCCI. The BCCI is totally Flush with Money. However, even thought the BCCI does not need to have the Indian Team play with Pakistan for Money they have to show the ICC that they are making all efforts to have the Indian Government play Pakistan. So the statement should be ‘’The Pakistani Cricket Team and PCB are keen to play India so that they can earn USD 30-50 Million. They need money badly as the last three home series have actually lost money’’

You also say “It produces the best in both teams,” : Nothing could be more true

You then say “it is a contest which people from both countries look forward to.” :
This is totally true for Pakistan. The Indian Cricket aficionado gets to see all other Teams come to India for the various Home Series and India also go to them. So if India plays Pakistan in India or Pakistan – Fine We are Happy. If not so what? There are so many other teams anxious to come to India and make huge profits.

Finally you say” It is a most ridiclous suggestion that the money from cricket will be used for the freedom fighters movement in Kashmir.” : It should not be far from the realms of reality if Money from Cricket was indeed used for the Kashmir + Cross Border Terrorism as both the PCB and the Cross Border Terrorism is Controlled by the Pakistan Army and ISI. Likely/Unlikely – Could Be. Ridiculous – No.

Bhai the Indian Government has been elected and is doing its job in the best Interest of India. If the people don’t like them they will vote them out at the next Elections. This concept may be difficult for you to understand as such occurrences are not possible in Pakistan. It is in India.

I must admit that I want India to play Pakistan. May the best Team win. However I have to accept the decision of the Indian Government

Have A Nice Day

Asif_k Ji

I agree that the BCCI went out of its way to upset the New Zealanders. It is a point of principle. It is only right thing to do so. One cannot accuse one’s neighbour of similar behaviour. After all the neighbours will do what is in their Interests.

Regretfully I have to be honest with you. I would like to have India play Cricket with Pakistan. Thus I do hope that the Pakistani Government is able to clear the matters and fulfil the Indian Government’s requirements so that the Indian Government can fulfil the Pakistani Government’s wishes and desires to have India play Cricket with Pakistan thereby the PCB making a profit of USD 30-50 Million.

Have a Nice Day

sambrialian Ji

Subtlety comes with Democracy (with all its accompanying faults) and Rule of Law – a concept which is quite foreign to you. It does not come under the rule of ‘’tin pots and I have been appointed by God to Rule the Country’’ type of Dictators.

I would be flattered if you accepted me as an equal. On my part there is nothing in me personally that is superior to you. Like you, if I am cut, I bleed.

The Afghanistan Episode, The Taleban Connection, The Al-Qaida Terrorists being apprehended by the CIA, FBI and the Pakistani Authorities tell all about the Pakistani Army, along with the ISI, which is a law unto itself. The Indian Army is under the Indian Civilian Government.

Enjoy.

Have a Nice Day

Thanks for your positive response bdsurti, nice balanced viewpoint as usual. I think most people on both side of the border will agree with you that they would like to see Pakistan/India matches on a regular basis, win or lose :k:

Mr Xtreme Ji

Dalmiya says “If India do not play against Pakistan, the equilibrium of world cricket will be severely affected because the world Test championship cannot be decided,”](http://www.rediff.com/wc2003/2003/mar/16pcb.htm)

Pakistan to push ICC on India boycott

March 16, 2003 20:39 IST

Pakistan will push for sanctions against India for refusing to play Test matches against it when the Executive Board of the International Cricket Council meets in Johannesburg later this week, a top official told AFP on Sunday.

“We want the matter to be taken up seriously because India’s refusal to play us is hurting the game in the region,” Pakistan Cricket Board director Chishty Mujahid said.

The Executive Board will meet in Johannesburg on Saturday, a day before the World Cup final at the Wanderers.

The Indian government banned bilateral cricket with Pakistan since June 2000 in protest against Islamabad’s support of cross-border terrorism in Kashmir.

But both teams face each other in multi-nation events like the current World Cup where India and Pakistan played in the preliminary league at Centurion on March 1. The match passed off smoothly as India recorded a six-wicket win.

India is scheduled to tour Pakistan for a three-Test series next month, but the visit is unlikely to take place.

India are committed to playing a tri-series in mid-April featuring South Africa and the hosts.

Under the 10-year Test programme of the ICC, India and Pakisan are scheduled to play four series till 2010.

Indian cricket chief Jagmohan Dalmiya had earlier this month urged the government to allow the April tour of Pakistan to go ahead to prevent India from being isolated on the world stage.

“If India do not play against Pakistan, the equilibrium of world cricket will be severely affected because the world Test championship cannot be decided,” Dalmiya wrote to sports minister Vikram Verma.

India last played a Test match in Pakistan in January 1990, while Pakistan toured India in 1999.

Pakistan’s hopes of organising a tri-series with England and Zimbabwe next month to fill the void left by India did not bear fruit, Mujahid said.

“Both teams have told us they are not free next month,” he said.

Now the Ball in in the Government of India’s Court.

Have a Nice Day