Indian Cricket Board Wants Resumption Of Pakistan/India Matches

BCCI have been pro games for ages, they are seriously a good bunch, they do what best for Asian Cricket, and its reciprocal from the PCB. Problem lies with Hindu fascists in Delhi. Let the sides play.

kkkkk

Ok it’s kinda simple. India generates maximum amount of money when the play other nations.

These articles would further support the idea.

Now if we don’t play pakistan, pakistan looses the money, Not india. Furthermore in other sports we don’t care as money is not involved out here. I have said in the past also and i say now again, the whole issue is about money. Off course cross border terrorism is there, but that’s not the point in case.
As to why we played you pakistan in World cup, there was no way. If we would have boycotted the tournament, we would have lost a lot of money also. We are talking of big bucks.
http://www.zdnetindia.com/techzone/trends/stories/76874.html
http://www.iecctokyo.com/archives/news00.htm
http://www.time.com/time/asia/magazine/2000/0619/cricket.html
“The amounts of money involved are staggering. In India, an estimated $500 million is wagered on cricket annually. Police suspect most betting and match-fixing is under the control of Bombay’s criminal underworld. Since the advent of private TV in India in the late 1980s, sponsorship deals for teams, matches and players have skyrocketed. Team appearance fees for matches often exceed $500,000. Sachin Tendulkar, India’s star batsman and national hero is estimated to have an annual income of around $3 million”

this should be more than anything..any more questions i would really like to answer..
laterz

So Jind mahi what you are saying it is all about money and not principles. Your country would not boycott Pakistan in World cup because it means big money. What happened to the principle of not playing Pakistan because of its support of so called "terrorism" which your government is so keen to advertise around the world?

At least you can respect England for sticking to its principle and not playing zimbawe and forfeiting 4 points. From the way you have explained, it seems that your country is more concerned about the money than the principles.

*Originally posted by ehsan: *
So Jind mahi what you are saying it is all about money and not principles. Your country would not boycott Pakistan in World cup because it means big money. What happened to the principle of not playing Pakistan because of its support of so called "terrorism" which your government is so keen to advertise around the world?

At least you can respect England for sticking to its principle and not playing zimbawe and forfeiting 4 points. From the way you have explained, it seems that your country is more concerned about the money than the principles.

if india boycotts pak in the WC, it will lose 4 points as well as business. that is not prudent. so they play against pak in the WC. if they promote other encounters, it gives a picture that all is well between the 2 countries which is clearly not the case. india has the freedom to decide where to draw the line. the issue is not about principles alone.
england? bull ****. why do other african countries support mugabe? nelson mandela supports zimbabwe. i would go with nelson mandela rather than poodle tony blair.

munna.

So losing 4 points and business is more important than your "principles". Which one do you want, business or principles or as you have stated whatever you feel is right at the time. So one day the Kashmir issue is more important the next day money and business is more important. Some principles, some morals.!!!!!

*Originally posted by ehsan: *
So losing 4 points and business is more important than your "principles". Which one do you want, business or principles or as you have stated whatever you feel is right at the time. So one day the Kashmir issue is more important the next day money and business is more important. Some principles, some morals.!!!!!

and lots of interests.

Munna.

Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
Once again my arguement is that Indian govt would only permit India play Pakistan in a multilateral tournament, as far as I can remember Asian Test Championship is also a multilateral tournament also consisting of (Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Pakistan) but Indian govt cowardly backed out or also Sharjah where India has cowardly backed out year after year in another **MULTILATERAL
* tournament.

Which part of the following statement you didn't understand :-

*"that the government would permit India to play Pakistan provided it was part of some multilateral competition, BCCI officials promptly seized on the opportunity and hastily pushed through a schedule for the Asian Test Championship.

It is multilateral, in that it involves Sri Lanka and Pakistan as well. But the real key was to get one India-Pakistan encounter going, which could then be used to leverage others"*

Is it just me or the Indian Govt is too jaahil to understand what Multilateral means.

It's just you, who has a problem in understanding simple logic.

ehsan bhai, please…last thing we need to hear from you guys is a lecture on Principles and morals…jaise Aap logon ne to misal qayam kiya hai morals or principles me aur jhande gade hain. :disgust:
I will tell you one little secret, The day PCB starts appointing cricketers instead of army generals as its officials, you will see much better response from Indian govt.

Asif bhai it is not a question of lecture. Your countrymen are now posting here saying that money is more important, while your government is saying they are not playing Pakistan based on a point of principle. So which one is it? :confused:

It’s not the first time BCCI has asked the Indian Govt. to resume matches between Pakistan and India. Correct me if I’m wrong.

Accordin’ to the 10 year plan of ICC, Pakistan will host India in April, 2003. India will host Pakistan in Feb, 2004. And this is how both teams will play. Couple of months back, Pakistan won the Blind Cricket World Cup, held in India. When Indian Hockey team can play in Pakistan and vice versa, why not Cricket team? Seems odd. :snooty:

In the end, it all depends on the Indian Govt. how it will respond the actions BCCI has suggested.

Asif, Uma Bharti was the BJP politician who called for muslims to hand over the Babri masjid to be re-built as a temple of Ram. You can agree with her if you like, but I do not really take her seriously as a Minister for Sport.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *

But yet the coward Indian govts plays us in hockey, squash, football but not cricket. Why?

Isn't Pakistan the same terrorist nation who supports terrorisim but when it comes to other sports, the cowards BJP never hesitates to send it players.

Come on there has to be some sort of end to Indian double standards, one day they say something and the other day they do the opposite.

UMAIR 316 Ji

You will agree with me an India-Pakistan Series will Generate at least USD 100 Million and Pakistan's Share of Profits will be at Least USD 30 Million.

So the Indian Government by not allowing the Indian Team to play with Pakistan is ''DEPRIVING'' the PCB, and thereby the Pakistani Army, of USD 30 Million.

Since the PCB is under Pakistan Army Control this is another way of telling the Pakistani Army Leadership ''Stop Cross Border Terrorism and we play Cricket and you aern USD 30 Million in Profit. Continue with Cross Border Terrorism and you lose USD 30 Million as Profit.

It may not be Sportsmanship but it is definitely Coercive Politics.

Have a Nice Day

Co-ercive politics won’t work, it is more than likely to be counter-productive. More than that India is depriving it’s own public which is cutting off it’s nose to spite it’s face. Anyway, either it is a moral issue or a financial one. If it is a moral one and Pakistan is supporting cross-border terrorism, then the decision to play against Pakistan in the WC for the sake of 4 points was disgusting.

Once again, I would like to praies the Indian Cricket Board for remaining consistent unlike ‘Hand-over-the-Babri-Masjid’ Sports Minister, UMA BHARTI :nook:

Xtreme, your eagerness to bring Uma Bharti’s backgound and her statements about Babri Masjid shows yor frustration yet again and also proves your inablity to continue any argument. Whether we take her seriously or not is not the issue here. The issue here is that she was the minister of sports and had the authority to take such decisions.

And yeah Bharti is really worried that you dont take her seriously.

PS :- Keep your moral lessons for someone else Please. so much for morality and ethics. :disgust:

ehsan Bhai - I dont think Uma Bharti has the brains and intelligence to understand the financial aspects of the game. Infact it’s not even bharti’s decision, its the decision by Ministry of External Affairs.

Xtremeji, to put it in a better way, india decides its policies based on what is best for the country.
playing WC is in our interest. that we had to play against pak in that is immaterial. but engaging in bilateral ties with pak is not the same.

Munna.

It was you who posted the original article by Uma Bharti, the well known Hindutva fundo. It’s your government which has decided that such a person should be Minister of Sport for India. Anyway, good luck to her in her mosque-demolishing efforts.

The question still remains, if Pakistan is indulging in crosss-border terrorism, why play against them in the WC? Is there a valid reason or not to play cricket matches with ‘terrorists’?

Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
It was you who posted the original article by Uma Bharti, the well known Hindutva fundo. It's your government which has decided that such a person should be Minister of Sport for India. Anyway, good luck to her in **her mosque-demolishing efforts.

I quoted Ms. Bharti as a sports minister of India and not as a Hindu leader which is so hard for you to understand.

The question still remains, if Pakistan is indulging in crosss-border terrorism, why play against them in the WC? Is there a valid reason or not to play cricket matches with 'terrorists'?

The question is already answered by myself and once again by Munna bhai.

Mr Xtreme Ji

Reason for India taking Part in the World Cricket Cup :

MONEY, MONEY, MONEY.

You will find that Indian Advertisers and Sponsors contribute nearly Sixty Per Cent of the total Money earned through Advertising and Sponsorship during the World Cricket Cup tournament.

NO INDIA - NO FIANACIAL GAIN.

ICC will find it difficult to carry on paying the huge sums and give fabulous perquisites to their English and Australian Committee Members.

Have A Nice Day