Indian Cricket Board Wants Resumption Of Pakistan/India Matches

Indian board asks government to resume Pakistan matches

Reuters - 7 March 2003

NEW DELHI, March 7 (Reuters) - The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has asked the Indian government to allow resumption of matches with Pakistan to prevent their team being isolated from world cricket.

India are scheduled to tour Pakistan next month in line with the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) 10-year programme but the series is unlikely to go ahead because of tension between the neighbours over the disputed region of Kashmir.

“Each country is supposed to play four series against each other in a 10-year period (two at home and two abroad),” Jagmohan Dalmiya, president of Indian cricket board wrote in a letter to Indian sports minister Vikram Verma earlier this week.

“If India does not play against Pakistan, the equilibrium of world cricket will be severely affected because the world Test championship cannot be decided. India may be totally isolated in the world cricket scenario,” he added.

The Indian government banned all bilateral matches between the sides in 2000 but has not been opposed to the teams playing in multi-team events at neutral venues.

Pakistan have said they are willing to host India. The ICC’s executive board is expected to discuss the issue in their meeting on March 21 in Johannesburg.

India and Pakistan played against each other for the first time in almost three years at the World Cup in South Africa last week, when India won by six wickets.

The two countries have fought three wars against each other since independence from Britain in 1947.

© Reuters

============================================

A great move by the cricket board of India. With Pakistan sure to respond favourably, the ball is now in the hands of the hardline government of India, which is happy to participate in all sporting events with pakistan except for cricket. With Pakistan currently in a period of transition, there would not be a better time to play them surely.

Great move by Indian Cricket Board, finally they get a win against Pakistan in such a long time and now they want resumtion, where were they for the past 3 years?

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
Great move by Indian Cricket Board, finally they get a win against Pakistan in such a long time and now they want resumtion, where were they for the past 3 years?

Looks like BBCI feels like kicking few more asses.
Jokes apart...BCCI was always in favour of cricketing Ties in case you dont know.
Its Indian givernment which has problem ;) and they have to follow governments direction.Lets see how government reacts this time. ;)

Umair316 , This is the kind of bigoted view of pakis like you makes me feel that India should never play Pakistan. Did you know that Indian Board has always wanted to Play Pakistan, Jagmohan Dalimya and other BCCI officials have always been voiciferous against Indian Govt's official ban of Indian team playing Pakistan anywhere.

OMG… that will be soemhtingg greattt :hula:

Umair.. dair ay durust aay… :slight_smile:

lets hope that indian government will agreee :~)

Cricket board always wanted to play with pakistan (for that matter even kenya/bangladesh) ..... they dont worry for defeats/victories ...there main concern in money. They meet with government officials many times regarding this.......

I agree with Indians on this, I think BCCI did want to continue but it was Vajpayee / Govt. who were against such matches and I can understand their viewpoint. Cricket teams can play and loose or win but what happens is everybody knows, riots in the loosing country. And this time we have seen that even when Indian team won the game Indian public (mainly Hindus) still went out on streets to kill/burn Muslims, which is very very pathetic and idotic.

This is the main reason, I think Indian govt. is against Pak vs India matches. I don't see any other reason i.e. Indian team afraid of Pakistani team to be true.

Surely indian team is affraid of pakistani team, which has a great fighting spirit (Inzamam and younus are fighters) … :nahnah:

Main reasons why indian govt dont want indian cricket team to play with pakistan cos

1. Pakistan supports,funds and trains millitants
  2. pakistan is deeply involed in c/s border terrorism

I thought I was clear about that… I believe Indian team was not afraid of playing Pakistan, it was purely Govt.'s decision to keep the two teams away. Now, is it clear enough to understand? :stuck_out_tongue:

*Originally posted by maihu_don: *

Main reasons why indian govt dont want indian cricket team to play with pakistan cos

1. Pakistan supports,funds and trains millitants
  2. pakistan is deeply involed in c/s border terrorism [/QUOTE]

In that case shouldn't have played against Pakistan in the WC.

If thats the case than now even if indian gov agree to play PAK should turn it down. moon acha na ho to bunda baat to achi kar le, par nai mat e mari gai teri te.

BCCI seeks approval of Pak-India Series

This is a positive step between resumption of cricket between the two nations…lets all hope it gets approved by the government in time for their april series.

NEW DELHI, March 7 (Reuters) - The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has asked the Indian government to allow resumption of matches with Pakistan to prevent their team being isolated from world cricket.

India are scheduled to tour Pakistan next month in line with the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) 10-year programme but the series is unlikely to go ahead because of tension between the neighbours over the disputed region of Kashmir.

“Each country is supposed to play four series against each other in a 10-year period (two at home and two abroad),” Jagmohan Dalmiya, president of Indian cricket board wrote in a letter to Indian sports minister Vikram Verma earlier this week.

“If India does not play against Pakistan, the equilibrium of world cricket will be severely affected because the world Test championship cannot be decided. India may be totally isolated in the world cricket scenario,” he added.

The Indian government banned all bilateral matches between the sides in 2000 but has not been opposed to the teams playing in multi-team events at neutral venues.

Pakistan have said they are willing to host India. The ICC’s executive board is expected to discuss the issue in their meeting on March 21 in Johannesburg.

India and Pakistan played against each other for the first time in almost three years at the World Cup in South Africa last week, when India won by six wickets.

The two countries have fought three wars against each other since independence from Britain in 1947.

© Reuters

BCCI seeks approval

If they start playing again, we should make it a 6 match series and make sure each win three. I am very fed up with the politicization of these matches and do not wnat to see riots in either country.

But yet the coward Indian govts plays us in hockey, squash, football but not cricket. Why?

Isn’t Pakistan the same terrorist nation who supports terrorisim but when it comes to other sports, the cowards BJP never hesitates to send it players.

Come on there has to be some sort of end to Indian double standards, one day they say something and the other day they do the opposite.

But yet the coward Indian govts plays us in hockey, squash, football but not cricket. Why?

Because they know what hurts most?

or maybe the 52:29 win makes them think its going to get even worst :hehe:

Can someone answer me why India's government didn't pull out of playing Pakistan in the WC if they don't want to have sporting relations?

I've got nothing against the Indian Cricket Board, in fact I'm a big fan of Jagmohan, but don't Indians think that their govt should be at least consistent if they are going to make a stand?

Abhi bhi 52:29 pe ruke hue ho mian ?? Kya 1st march ka game apne book se nikal diya ?? :hehe:

Perhaps, this should give you a hint, Minister of sports - Uma Bharti in 2001 :-

When Minister for Sports Uma Bharti told Board of Control for Cricket in India president Dr A C Muthiah, some months ago, that the government would permit India to play Pakistan provided it was part of some multilateral competition, BCCI officials promptly seized on the opportunity and hastily pushed through a schedule for the Asian Test Championship.

**It is multilateral, in that it involves Sri Lanka and Pakistan as well. But the real key was to get one India-Pakistan encounter going, which could then be used to leverage others. ** :hehe:

*"But as a member of the Cabinet, I am naturally privy to our government’s thinking on the issue. And in this capacity, there are a couple of points that need to be made. Cricket is identified with our country, it is a very emotive game for us. So playing cricket against someone with whom we are on terms of enmity has implications that are greater than playing hockey or football or some other game.

“Also, in the past, when we have played Pakistan,** that country has used it for propaganda, even at the United Nations level. ‘Where is there any problem between India and Pakistan, see, we are even playing cricket together,’ they’ve argued from official platforms. **So when it comes to cricket, the government is very careful about what it will permit and what it will not permit.” *

PS:- Let me know If you still have doubts and want more explanation. And yes if you have any doubts, as an Indian cricket fan and as an Indian Citizen I agree with Indian Govt.s this deision.

*government would permit India to play Pakistan provided it was part of some multilateral competition, BCCI *

Once again my arguement is that Indian govt would only permit India play Pakistan in a multilateral tournament, as far as I can remember Asian Test Championship is also a multilateral tournament also consisting of (Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Pakistan) but Indian govt cowardly backed out or also Sharjah where India has cowardly backed out year after year in another MULTILATERAL tournament.

Is it just me or the Indian Govt is too jaahil to understand what Multilateral means.