India rejects F-16, FA-18.its between Rafale vs Euro fighter Typhoon $10 billion deal

NEW DELHI — The United States lost a hard-fought competition to supply a new generation of fighter jets to India, which has listed two European manufacturers as the finalists for an order estimated to be worth $10 billion.

The decision was a blow for President Obama, who had pushed hard for this and other defense deals during his visit to India in November as part of his agenda to deepen and broaden the United States’ relationship with India. The American ambassador to India, Timothy J. Roemer, who separately announced on Thursday that he would resign from his post for personal reasons, said the United States was “deeply disappointed by this news.”

While political and economic relations between India and the United States have been warming for years, American arms makers have struggled to win big contracts here. After decades of frosty relations during the cold war, which pushed India to rely extensively on the Soviet Union for military hardware, many in the Indian defense establishment are still wary of American intentions and United States military aid to Pakistan, India’s main adversary.

The American bid to build the fighters came from Boeing and Lockheed Martin. Boeing had offered its F/A -18 jets, and Lockheed Martin pitched its F-16 planes. But India instead narrowed the list to the Rafale fighter from Dassault and the Eurofighter Typhoon jet made by a consortium of European companies. Russian and Swedish bids were also turned down.

The 126 planes are meant to replace aging Russian jets. A spokesman for the Indian Defense Ministry said the country hoped to make a final decision by the end of March 2012.

Both American companies are also looking to sell other military hardware to India, which unlike much of the Western world has been sharply increasing its defense spending. Some analysts say India could spend $50 billion to $80 billion on equipment in the next five years.

One Indian international affairs analyst, C. Raja Mohan, played down the significance of the American companies’ loss of this deal. He said that the Indian government was buying more from United States contractors than ever before.

“One deal doesn’t make everything,” said Mr. Mohan, a senior fellow at the Center for Policy Research in New Delhi. “There has been a lot of hype about this deal. We are doing things with the U.S. that we never did before.”

But another analyst, Nitin Pai, argued that India’s decision would hurt relations with the United States, at a time when the country needed stronger ties with America to advance its interests in Afghanistan and Pakistan and the United Nations Security Council, on which India is seeking a permanent seat.

“This move will most certainly reduce India’s geopolitical leverage with the U.S. military-industrial complex, at a time when India needs it most,” Mr. Pai wrote on his blog, The Acorn. He added, “Is the United States more likely to be sympathetic to India’s interests after an $11 billion contract — which means much needed jobs for the U.S. economy — is awarded to someone else?”

Dinesh Keskar, president of Boeing’s Indian operation, said that while the company was “obviously disappointed” about not making the cut for the fighter jets, it was “quite excited about the opportunities in India.” He added that the company was seeking a meeting with Indian officials to find out why its planes were not selected.

Boeing said the company and the Indian Air Force were in the final stages of negotiating a contract for C-17 cargo planes that was announced by Mr. Obama and Prime Minister Manmohan Singh in November. And it is hoping to win orders for attack and heavy-lift helicopters.

“We are quite engaged with and will continue our partnership with India,” Mr. Keskar said in a telephone interview.

SOURCE

Re: India rejects F-16, FA-18.its between Rafale vs Euro fighter Typhoon $10 billion

hmmm

is it good to reject us deal???it could hurt relation in long run.

having said that.us planes are little overpriced :slight_smile:

here is Rafale vs Typhoon

Typhoon

Rafale

Re: India rejects F-16, FA-18.its between Rafale vs Euro fighter Typhoon $10 billion

merceedes khreednay se banda acha driver nahi ban jata hay (:

PAF will have fun shooting them down with their F-16s.

you guys do live in ur little dream world

wake up :)

jiyo mere la’l… :hehe:

Luckily we have learned an important lesson, thanks to our neighbor. First is never trust America in terms of arms supply in the hour of need and second is dont be dependent on another country for your arms. make sure you get the technology and license to produce it locally.

F-16 and 18 are old platform and dont cut it. lets buy what best our money can get us.

**TRUE...i remember, India wanted to buy subway cars for it's Delhi Metro and Bombardier provided a good deal BUT India demanded that they set up a factory in India to produce those subway cars and they did. now, there is a Bombardier factory in India producing cars not just for India but they also export to other south asian countries like Malaysia, Singapore. It's a World Class product.

this is called a good business strategy and a good business sense...learn how to fish rather get fish cooked for you...right? :)**

also pakistan has access to F-series since the cold war days,they would have all the key information.india would be newbie for the first time

whats the use in buying it.

IAF believes Rafale & Typhoon are better aircraft, and with Pak already possessing F-16s the US deal does not give us any competitive advantage. Since we have the luxury of a larger defence budget, we should make the best use of it.

:D On Wii ?? or PS3 ??

The only real chance was with the F-18s, but I think the US wasn't willing to transfer as many technologies as IAF wanted, though that is a plus for Pakistan considering how HAL operates! :D

IAF might actually be the first customer for Rafale, hence it might get a sweet deal along with kaveri engine already promised by france. The saudis also fly the typhoons so IAF must also have factor that in somehow as a pilot exchange program might exist as it does with Turkey now.

I am surprised that there aren't any Russian contenders in the race, as Russia can give a f*ck you to india by being more involved in chinese / paf projects.

Russia dont have a product in the category india is doing shopping for i believe. Though Russia is developing its fifth gen aircraft PAK-FA jointly with India. So whenever it is ready we get 200 of those and share in sale of 800 to other countries.

This is pure business though. India used Amrica to sweeten its deal with europeans.

on Atari…they asked for tech transfer on the game consol…MSFT Nintendo and Sony all said no

oh, that's sweet. So we can sell some of that to Pak as part of their chinese/russia fu project

Indians turned MIGs to flying coffins. Leave it to indian pilots (read rickshaw drivers) to spoil the reputation of a plane. Great news for Americans perhaps our planes reputation will stay intact.

^^ Whatever makes you happy man. aap khush ho le, hamara kya jata hai.
btw the planes you are referring to is mig 21 which is from 60s. they got outdated decades ago. the new deal is to replace them.

MKIs have been grounded in the past as well and the maintenance is pretty high on the platform. As for the order, I was thinking more MiG-29s with upgraded israeli avionics and western weapons, but I guess india will go for the whole package with europe which might be expensive.

oh, that's sweet. So we can sell some of that to Pak as part of their chinese/russia fu project

Chinese only need a nudge in the engine department and they will get their stealth plane flying. Even if technology is not on the side of the chinese, time and money is and I am wondering how long it will take for russians to go work in chinese factories just like how ukrainian and serb ex-military are serving at his majesty Qadaffi's service in Libya now. Russia has tried to play hard ball with china but not being as open on ToT but Russia is declining slowly with its declining population; the problems of the country seem too vast for the current government to handle with all the oil and gas wealth, which russians had hoped would kick start the 'new Russia'.

I feel sorry for the Indian Taxpayers, this Maha Chor Dassault Systems is the same Company that sold submarines to Pakistan and over Invoiced them by 400 million dollars!

These rip off artists got to those people at the top and gave them kickbacks!

wait for the real scandals to be uncovered soon!