India / Pak tensions

Updated at: 1119 PST, Monday, December 22, 2008
JAISALMER: India started deploying troops along Rajasthan border. Security in and around Indian defence airstrips has been tightened.

Indian Air Force(IAF) sources said security around places of strategic importance has been stepped up. They said more radars and QRTs have been deployed along the India-Pakistan border.

IAF had initiated these measures to strengthen its air defence to face any eventuality at a short notice. Additional hangars and runways have been prepared and all the radars have been put on high alert. Sources said tight radar surveillance is being maintained to keep a watch on any suspected movements along the border.

Indian forces were on regular firing exercises at locations like Lathi Firing Range in Jaisalmer, Mahsan in Bikaner, Suratgarh and Ganganagar.

=================================

Report: India may attack Pakistan

Indian military has prepared operations against targets in Pakistan and awaits the signal to go forward, a US intelligence report says.

“These most likely would take the form of unilateral precision strikes inside Pakistan-administered Kashmir, along with special forces action on the ground in Pakistan proper,” Global Intelligence Service, Stratfor said in its latest report.

“Sources have indicated to Stratfor that New Delhi is going through the diplomatic motions in order to give Pakistan the opportunity to take care of the militant problem itself - but the Indians know that Islamabad has neither the will nor the capability to address their concerns,” the agency said.

============================

PAF Mirages, F-16’s and F-7P’s have been launched (hot mode) in the Lahore, Pindi and Islamabad airspace. All commercial flights suspended for the time being over the airspace of these cities. More information to follow

Re: India / Pak tensions

From my own sources, an attack on Kahuta was feared. People were on their rooftops with Pakistani flags in the twin cities and were chanting slogans for the Pak Airforce.

Friends , nothing will happen , inshallah.Just pressure tactics and diplomatic war , to gain maximum from Pakistan. They know that such Foolish people are in Pakistan external affairs ministry and now they are using it successfully.Nukes will not bring 2 countries to war plus UK specially is between 2 countries to calm down.

If India tries to carry out a little surgical strike against Pakistan, that will unite the country for sure. We may have differences, but apart from maybe Altaf's party, pretty much everyone's got the same sentiments against India. India knows this as well.

All day , PAF fighters flew in airs of Lahore and Rawalpindi/Islambad today. We are ready if anything happens :)

If light surgical strikes, then who can guess how massive would be the counter-surgical strikes. You can start a war but when you start it once, its not in your hands to stop it.And after aerial then surely ground forces will move and eventually a full fledge war. I dont think India is so foolish to do all that. They are just winning thier people hearts and countering BJP immense pressure which is saying do something otherwise BJP will defeat Congress by playing with sentiments of common janta of India as usual.

:jhanda:

:jhanda:

Yeh surgical kiya cheez hai bhai? Strikes will be treated with counter strikes and then who is to say what weapons will be deployed or not.

Indians know that any military action will result in them being the net loser. Yes, Pakistan probably does not have the means to sustain a long war but then again, in a nuclear scenario there will not be a long war. Every realistic scenario that experts foresee ends with a stalemate, which by definition is a defeat for India (being the first strike party).

This is why there will be no war. Full stop.

^ These are just tactics to get US to put more pressure on Pak - diplomatically, economically or millitarily.

If India goes for any strike (precision or whatever) they will lose supporters from Pakistan who have condemned Mumbai carnage, I know India will not care about that but it is highly likely more people will join the ranks of LeT.

^ Hopefully, Pakistan will act against the terrorist groups operating against India from its boundaries and we will avoid any escalation in the situation.

Let them come... We only have to defend.

We shouldnt do anything under threat of war...

I think you mean - We never do anything without the threat of war. We U-turned in 2001 after being threatened to be bombed into Stone Age. We banned LT and Jaish-e-Mohammad after the 2002 war drama. We started acting in FATA after US stepped up the bombing runs and even sent troops across. We took out jihadis at Lal Masjid after they launched war on Islamabad. We all but made LOC as some sacred line after US threatened us during Kargil.

Yes, we will issue some brave statements and enact some dramas for public consumption but trust me - a climbdown is coming. There will be no war.

I am hoping that you/Pak does what is right and beneficial for it in the long run :)

GEO reported that Ahle-Lahore went to thier roofs ,raised slogans ,waved hands when PAF fighters were roaring in the skies of Lahore today.The people of Lahore witnessed famous dog fight of 1965 when Sq.Leader Syed Sajjad Haider and his squardon attacked indian tanks approaching Lahore and people threw thier shoes from thier roofs :smiley:

We are used to these things. Koi tension nai :smokin:

For newbies and jazbaati types - "There will be no war"

Think about it.

1. India is rattling the sabre

2. US military chief Adm. Mullen is again in Islamabad just two weeks after his previous visit.

3. He meets with Pak NSA Maj. Gen. (retd) M.A.Durrani first

4. Durrani just returned from US after getting 3-4 days of "ragRa" from everyone from Condi Rice to the Pentagon Head Hawaldar

5. Then Mullen meets with COAS Gen. Kayani and DG ISI Lt.Gen. Pasha. The statement released says that Mullen asked for army to help with "prosecution" of captured Lashkar-e-Tayba members. In other words he told our Army and ISI to release all our secret details of LT kaarnaamay. Meanwhile a drone attack kills several people as Mullen is talking just to drive home the message.

What we are seeing is a Good-Cop/Bad-Cop routine. As long as things are being "managed" I'm sure there will be no war.

^add one more thing

India asks US to Supply Cluster Bombs in Fast-Track :smiley:

aren't cluster bombs banned internationally in a convention recently?

It says “India wants…” there is a difference between wanting something and actually getting it. The war, if India starts, would be long over before these bombs are even approved by US DSCA.