India lost Kargil war: confesses Indian general

Pakistan won the war … but lost diplomacy.
It was a well executed plan.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/Not-convinced-India-won-Kargil-war/Article1-550936.aspx

Eleven years after having led troops on the ground during the Kargil war, a retired army general has claimed **India had actually lost the war in strategic terms **as it failed to consolidate tactical gains.

Lt Gen (retd) Kishen Pal, who headed the Srinagar-based 15 Corps during the 1999 conflict, told television channel NDTV in an interview broadcast on Sunday that he had never been convinced that India had won.
“We did gain some tactical victories, we regained back the territories we lost, (but) we lost 587 precious lives,” he said.
“I consider this loss of war because whatever we gained from the war has not been consolidated, either politically or diplomatically, it has not been consolidated militarily,” he added.
The Armed Forces Tribunal recently indicted Pal for showing bias against his junior Brigadier Devinder Singh and falsifying accounts during the Kargil war.
Asked if the army was under pressure then to give quick results, Pal admitted it was so. “It was a big embarrassment to everybody. The then vice chief (Lt Gen Chandra) Shekhar told me that there is lot of pressure we have to clear this very fast,” he said.

Re: India lost Kargil war: confesses Indian general

who you want me to believe an Indian General **or two time **prime minister nawaz shareef ?

lets accept it, Army Generals f*** it !

Firenze: Kargil, was a 'darpook' way of capturing territory, sneak in and occupy vacant territory. If you want to claim this as victory - than you are more desperate, than I thought you were.

“We did gain some tactical victories, we regained back the territories we lost, (but) we lost 587 precious lives,” he said.

How does this statemant transform into "India lost Kargil war"!!

^ how about this one: "“I consider this loss of war ..."?

even if we lost ,tumne kya ukhad liya?

Uncle ji.. thought you have beter reading comprehension skills.... Read it again...

He "considers'' the war is a loss eventhough we have won b/c of reasons (he mentioned in the news)......

Some Paki is tryin to rub it in...

Just replace the word "Kargil" with "Siachin" in the statement above, and you will have Aussindian talking about his own country's 'darpook' way of capturing a vacant territory.

pakistan has never agreed that it lost any war.....re 1971 war...this chapter is out of histiry syllabus in pak schools and colleges....

Funny thing is that Indian GENERAL is admitting that the claims were all wrong and under pressure. But here is our friend from across the border lecturing us on our false claims hahaha "Khisyani billi khamba nochay"

yar its just a matter of historical significance. why get so touchy about it.

haha. so 'i consider this loss of war' somehow needs to be parsed into interpreting it as different to what I or other posters are understanding. you may believe 'we have won b/c of reasons', he considers it a loss. the thread title is accurate. it does not concern your feelings about the issue.

/\/\if it is head..i win...if tail...i win...if the coin falls on angle...i win...and if by chance it remains in the air....i win...

LAMO...you do not have patinece to read..As usual you are jumping up and down for no reason. You Pakistanis ran many times keeping your tails b/w the legs. You are incapable of direct wars.

He said ' I consider this loss of war" ( who cares his personal opinion) . You must read the line above the statement. He was talking about lives (as loss).

""We did gain some tactical victories, we regained back the territories we lost, (but) we lost 587 precious lives,” he said.

“I consider this loss of war because whatever we gained from the war has not been consolidated, either politically or diplomatically, it has not been consolidated militarily,” he added.""

xephyr:

He said ' I consider this loss of war" ( who cares his personal opinion)

His personal opinion is important because he was the Indian general actually running the affairs at that time.

haha too bad all the other generals in india and pakistan disagree with him.

I don't think so.

the difference is that kargil was recaptured in less than 2 months. siachen is still indian territory 25 years later. :)

You missed the point about 'darpok' attack.

Oh paa jee, whom are you trying to reason with? What Indians are taught in their schools is very different.. Case in point.. e.g. lets take 62 when Indians won hands down.. Their text book and media tells ya that Shri Chini Bhai was the agressor BUT the Henderson Brooks report which Indian govt. supresses for obvious reasons but was leaked to the British press tells you a very different story.

Neville Maxwell A British Journalist wrote a book "India's China war" which was also banned in India.

oh boy, why wouldn't i walk into my country,