India is a bogus and flawed democracy.

Most Indians here are proud how India is the largest democracy in the world. Here is a slap in their face. Economist says, India a flawed democracy.

November 22, 2006 21:47 IST

India has been categorised as one of the ‘flawed democracies’ in the world and figures 35th in the democracy rankings unveiled in the prestigious magazine The Economist.

The magazine, in its annual publication, The World in 2007, featured a new democracy index developed by the Economist Intelligence Unit, which graded 167 countries around the world according to their degree of democracy.

Twenty-eight countries are listed in the category of full democracies, 54 flawed democracies, 30 hybrid regimes and 55 authoritarian regimes.

Among the 54 flawed democracies, India is seventh and overall 35th. South Africa, Chile, South Korea, Taiwan, Estonia and Italy are ahead of India in the category of flawed democracies.

While India scored 9.58 out of 10 for its electoral process and pluralism and 8.21 out of 10 for functioning of government, it scored lowly in the category of political participation (5.56 out of 10) and political culture (5.63 out of 10). It got 9.41 out of 10 for civil liberties.

http://www.economist.com/index.html

Pakistan has been listed among authoritarian regimes and it comes 113 in the democracy index.

Among the full democracies, Sweden tops the list with US coming 17th and the UK 23rd.

According to the report, “although democracy-promotion is high on the list of American foreign-policy priorities, there is no consensus within the American government on what constitutes a democracy.”

As an observer recently put it, “the world’s only superpower is rhetorically and militarily promoting a political system that remains undefined – and it is staking its credibility and treasure on that pursuit.”

More than half of the world’s population lives in a democracy of some sort, although only 13 per cent reside in full democracies.

Despite the advances in democracy in recent decades, almost 40 per cent of the world’s population still live under authoritarian rule.

Sweden leads the pack with a near-perfect score followed closely by Iceland and the Netherlands.

By contrast, the United States (17th), Britain (23rd) and France (24th) are near the bottom of the full democracy category.

A decline in civil liberties and malfunctioning of government account for the US position.

In the UK a shock decline in political participation, alongside some erosion of civil liberties, is the main reason for the comparatively modest ranking.

North Korea ranks last at the bottom of the list of authoritarian regimes.

Re: India is a bogus and flawed democracy.

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA-HAHAHHAHHAHAAHAHHAHA

… but atleast they have democracy. We are far far away from this word.

Thanks for sharing it . I knew that Sweden is a welfare state & stuff but had no idea about their political process.
As for US, the govts here are familiar with all the flaws - sometimes its better to keep it this way (from govt point of view) :hoonh:

Yes, the most FLAWED DEMOCRACY.

It’s foolish to think that the FLAWED DEMOCRACY is the only way of governance.

India the land of poooping poor at the road sides. :hehe:

http://ia.rediff.com/news/2006/nov/22eco.htm?q=np&file=.htm

it is flawed but u can see it scores well in several areas, very well actually. So lets set aside Pakistan's differences with India and learn from what tey are doign right as well as what they are not doing right.

interesting to see that while we are the champions for global democracy, we are ranked towards the bottom of the full democracy list as #17 and #24. (we reflects 2 countries that I call home)

Where? BO? :hehe:

Now now firadiyay don’t write a long email detailing the virtues, I am just messing withcha. :smiley:

Here is the List

http://www.economist.com/media/pdf/DEMOCRACY_TABLE_2007_v3.pdf

Dang it, Czech Republic is 18 & US 17!

Also stupid canadians are 9, how come?

Pakistan has been listed among authoritarian regimes and it comes 113 in the democracy index

India is at 35th position out of 167 countries far ahead of pakistan.look at yourself first and then mock on others.

^ are u saying that once he has looked at himself then he can mock (on) others?
abay...luxury item..iss say pehlay chintu bhai tujhe discount merchandise mein daal dein zara aik mirror ghor say dekh lay. Then its open season :)

damn..itni lambi post likhi thi..challo naheen post kartay

Pir sab, aap tau kafee hoshiyar hon yeh samazhne ke liye ke yeh sab hain pet-dukhee. Kayi logon ka pet bahot jor se dukhta hain Hindustanki tarakki dekhake. Aur aisen guppies yahan un-ginat hain.

expat bhai

i see unginat pakistanis on this site who can not appreciate anything good that india has done or is doing, I alsoi see unginat indians on this site (forget indian sites) who are never positive about Pakistan.

sad thing is these ppl really are cream of the crop. educated people, rich...per the standards of both countries. if the educated and well off crowd can not move beyond this petty sibling rivalry, how can we expect the masses to do that.

It worries me.

well...usko discount main dalne se bhi kuch nahin hoga...usko dustbin main hi dalna padega.:D

agree:biggthumb

Israel is a flawed democracy :eek:

Pakistan shouldnt be critisizing India on this.. While I love to get in a few jabs at India every now and then, calling them a sham democracy from our side of the border is just childish...
Lets focus on their social imbalances, their mass orgies of violence, their abuse of Human rights etc instead.

Imran Khan on Indian Democracy ----

I think your real democracy has come about since the last 16 years. When I first came in the 70s your democracy was not really functional. Your regional parties came into being, the coalition, the BJP came in, and suddenly we saw this huge country holding elections and nobody talking about rigging.

The key to democracry was your election commission; the judiciary seems more assertive and more independent than ours. In 16 years you’ve seen an evolution of the Indian democratic process and remember this is a long process of evolution. Because to reach the stage that Switzerland and Sweden have reached, it’s still a long way to go. The American democracy is very discordant, because the more money you have in fighting elections, the less democratic you are. When money speaks, it’s less of a democracy, because lobbies come in.