India is 2nd-most corrupt country in study of asian countries

HANOI: A survey of foreign company executives has found that most believe corruption in Asia is getting worse, a research group said.

Hong Kong-based Political & Economic Risk Consultancy Ltd (PERC) said corruption in more than half of the countries covered in a survey was deemed to be worse this year than last year.

“Corruption is perceived to have worsened as a problem in the past year in seven of the 12 Asian countries covered,” the group said.

The survey of 1,072 expatriate executives working in Asia found Indonesia was seen as the most corrupt country, with a score of 9.33 out of a possible 10, although that was better than last year’s score of 9.92.

Corruption was seen to be getting worse in India – dubbed the second most corrupt after Indonesia – China, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, Taiwan and Vietnam, the group said.

Singapore maintained its billing as the least corrupt, with its best ever score of 0.38 in the PERC survey, which was first issued in 1997. The city-state, known for its efficient bureaucracy, scored a rating of 0.90 last year.

PERC said the survey only measured perceptions among business people, and was not necessarily a reflection of reality.

PERC said corruption in Asia should be weighed against misdeeds in the West including the Enron accounting scandal. Compared with such cases, “much of the corruption in Asia is penny ante stuff”, it said.

At the other end of the scale, corruption in India “affects people’s daily lives in such basic ways”, including paying fees for admission to better schools and to get electricity installed.

Indonesia might not be Asia’s most corrupt nation but “the perception of this problem is the worst, and this poses a major problem for a government that is heavily dependent on foreign aid”, the group said.

PERC said the grades may have slipped either because graft increased or because respondents might be more aware of the problem and its impact.

Countries where corruption was seen to be growing less serious, apart from Indonesia and Singapore, were the Philippines, South Korea and Thailand.

There appeared to be a link between income levels and corruption, PERC said. Developed countries such as Singapore tended to fare the best, while those perceived to be most corrupt had the least developed economies.

The second-least corrupt place behind Singapore was judged to be Hong Kong, at 3.61, followed by Japan at 4.5.

A battle by communist Vietnam to clean up graft, including the prosecution of an alleged crime gang leader, apparently bore little fruit. It was dubbed the third-most corrupt in the survey, with a grade of 8.83 compared with 8.25 in 2002.

Source/Courtesy: TimesofIndia
And also

http://www.expressindia.com/fullstory.php?newsid=28958

Grade

Indonesia 9.25

**India 8.9 **

Vietnam 8.67

Philippines 8.33

Thailand, Malaysia, China 7.33

South Korea 6.67

Taiwan 6.1

Hong Kong 3.6

Japan 3.5 Singapore 0.5

Re: India is 2nd-most corrupt country in the world

As One Indian put it,...

India has most of the criminals as leaders, except president, 1 or few politicians are all criminals. Spending crores of money for election. How did they get that money? Why they are spending that much? Political life is like business for them. They are investing now to get profit later.
When the Supreme court ordered to clean the corrupted politicians, all the political parties gathered together and took a firm dicission against Supreme court and Election commission. Poor President 1st time rejected to approve the all parties request against the Supremecourt but later he dont have any other option other than approving it.
Even president couldnt able to do anything against the criminal politicians what the people of this country can do. We have no options other than electing a leader from the criminals. If we refuse to vote somebody is going to vote on behalf of you.
First thing we need to do is educate the people, people should understand how thier vote is going to cause serious part in Development of our country. Most of the politicans are buying thier vote. Politicians decided to hang on poor people because they will give vote for any cost.
We educated people will also playing a big role in this corruption. All the officers, collectors etc are well educated good earning people. Still we are taking money to do our work. Unless a big revolution comes it is very difficult to change the Status of our country.

Re: India is 2nd-most corrupt country in study of asian countries

thread title changed to reflect content of the study.

what the hell is PERC? this "survey" included only 10 countries. i never knew Asia was comprised of only 10 countries. As far as that particular selection of countries, i wouldn't be surprised if it's an accurate conclusion....but throw in the desi countries and India suddenly looks like Switzerland.

the most prominent and credible annual corruption report is the Transparency International Index

as of 2004...

Least corrupt; Finland, ranked 1st
Most corrupt; Haiti and Bangladesh, ranked 145th

USA ranked 17th
Netherlands ranked 10th
Turkey ranked 77th
Pakistan ranked 129th
India ranked 90th

^ yaani andhon main kana raja :)

N25,

I have posted this news from Time of India & Indian Express Just read it and find out,…Because,..INDIAN here love to discuss Pakistani Politics and problems,..I had to bring something to the table to discuss to see how good is,…**India,…THE LAND OF MILK & HONEY **

FOR ALL INDIANS HERE ON GUPSHUP,…

IF YOU INDIANS CAN’T TAKE THE HEAT ABOUT YOUR COUNTRY,…THEN DON’T DISCUSS PAKISTANI POLITICS OR PROBLEM,…FROM NOW ON THERE GONNA BE TWO TOPICS,…INDIA vs PAKISTAN,…WHETHER ITS POLITICS OR any other issue…

lets stay on topic here folks. why must it always be about india - pakistan for you folks.

lol, why are you yelling?

anyways, i didn’t question your source…and i certainly am not questioning whether or not these Indian news sources carried this article. the Indian media standard procedure is to sensationalize and create grabbing headlines.

however,

given this reality, why is this “study” making you excited?

care to show me the topic? all i see is a copy paste of an article, no comments from the thread starting cyberjihadi. lets compare corruption levels of allegendly asia's most corrupt country india with its dingy neighbour whose prodigies think they have a right to mock india. there's a legit discussion.

No yelling buddy,

Well,…sensational news,…:slight_smile: Good point,…from now on i can just ignore these papers,…:slight_smile:

hey its a discussion forum, while you may wish for better quality threads my guess is its probably because your eye is coloured a bit by patriotism.

it a perfectly valid thread, if your only objection is that the initiator is a pakistani. given how many indian opened threads there are in pakistan affairs. we dont encourage tit for tat slanging there, no reason why it should be allowed here.

the objection is not that Tariq bhai is simply a pakistani. the reality is that Tariq bhai is consumed with the India-Pakistan rivalry, and based on his posting history, a thread like this is clearly a product of an agenda.

again, if having an agenda disqualies him from posting on indian issues, then pretty much all of the indian regulars in PA should be barred too.

quit playing the fool ravage. in any case, i have made my point.

India might be corrupt when compared to the rest of the big economies in asia, but just look at its neighbours, especially pakistan and bangladesh. given the geopolitics of the region, india's position is understandable if not commendable. if only the next door would learn a thing or two instead of always whining india this india that.

who said he should not post about Indian issues? however, you would be naive to suggest that Tariq bhai’s posts regarding India are not implicitly malicious within the context of the India-Pakistan rivalry. as such, there is no reason why an Indian cannot discuss Pakistan’s relation to the same issue.

queerio, you've made your point, whether or not it sticks is another thing. IMO theres nothing wrong with this discussion in world affairs by itself, and any attempt to divert the thread by bringing other countries in will be removed. please try to stay on track.

nikhil, i dont understand your point? are you suggesting that the indian posters in PA are motivated by love, not malice?

tariq, please avoid flaming.

Hey Queer,

Don’t jump to labels,..ok,…I shall bring what’s needed ti discuss against India,..if you don’t like it,..then too bad,..you are IN for a big surprises,..then,…:eek:

tariq, please stay on topic, the review forum mods dont like seeing the same poster's posts appearing there too often.

they're scary :s

Ravage,

I shall bring anything,..which has do with India,..if they don’t like then,..too bad,…they can stay away from political discussions then,…

fair enough, then discuss the topic, not the posters.