India in Australia!

India 284/3 at stumps (Tendulkar 73 not out)

The top order has been fairly consistent in this series.
That said, India needs to get to atleast 500 to pose any challenge to the Aussies.

*Originally posted by Some1: *
Chopra and Sehwag did their job... now its for the Indian middle order to deliver... Lets hope Tendulkar starts the new year with a bang...

Yep baby. 2003 is over and he has to makeup for that year too.
At the end of day one,India is in good shape as they were in melbourne. Good Toss to win and good start given by Openers as usual. I hope they dont loose the initiative tomorrow and put a score of 500 by tea time tomorrow.For India to draw or win this match,They will have to score big in first inning then it will be fun watching Aussies on 4th inning if Wicket takes turn.

Yaar ye 500 runs 500 runs ki kya rut laga rakhi hai…let them reach 400 and I’ll eat my hat…

I am amazed at the generosity of the cricketers. To collect funds for the Iranians they signed a T-shirt to be auctioned on ebay. Doesn’t it make you cry? Bet the Iranians are queing up to thank em. :hehe:

*Originally posted by karina: *
Yaar ye 500 runs 500 runs ki kya rut laga rakhi hai....let them reach 400 and I'll eat my hat...

I bet you will eat your words.

^ I said eat my hat. :)

Tendulkar passes 9,000 Test runs](http://uk.sports.yahoo.com/040102/323/ei6p2.html)

SYDNEY (AFP) - Indian batting great Sachin Tendulkar became only the fourth player in Test cricket to pass 9,000 runs during the opening day of the fourth Test against Australia here.

The 30-year-old ‘Little Master’ needed 36 runs at the outset of the Sydney Test on Friday to nudge past 9,000 in his 111th Test match.

At stumps he was unconquered on 73 with V.V.S. Laxman not out 29 and India 284 for three after winning the toss.

The most prolific batsman in modern cricket had failed to reach double figures in eight of his last 13 Test innings and ended 2003 with only 153 runs in five Tests at an average of 17.

It had been an underachieving series up to the Sydney innings and he passed his highest score of 44 posted in the second innings of the third Melbourne Test, which India lost by nine wickets last Tuesday.

Tendulkar fended off a challenge by West Indian Brian Lara (8,916)

to reach 9,000 with Lara due to lead his team into the third Test against South Africa in Cape Town later Friday.

Australian Allan Border holds the world record for most Test runs with 11,174 in 156 Tests at 50.56.

Steve Waugh, who is playing his 168th and last Test in the Sydney match, is currently on 10,807 runs in second place at 50.98.

Tendulkar now has former record holder and Indian great Sunil Gavaskar in his sights with Gavaskar third all-time with 10,122 runs in 125 Tests at 51.12.

That was good day for Indian cricket, with Tendulkar coming back to his form, 284/3 is good score while Ganguly has not come to the crease yet. Congrats to Tendulkar for crossing 9000 :k:

It was good to see Sachin show glimpses of his touch.. too much has been made of his bad run.

Irrespective of how the match goes, India can take a lot of positives from the series.
1. The opening pair has actually averaged better than the Aussie opening pair, I think that really is the key to India's consistent batting performance in this series.
2. The attitude of the Indian team... to see the Indians fight the way they did was heartening at the end of the 3rd day of the second test when India was 2 down for 37, Ravi Shastri that the Indian team was in a tight post but he wasn't willing to write off this Indian team.. and for me that really is the key. They have shown character and the will to fight which is heartening to watch :)

:flower1: Latest score day -2 scorecard :flower1:](http://uk.cricinfo.com/db/NEW/LIVE/frames/IND_AUS_T4_02-06JAN2004.html)

** india r 364/3 (108.5 ov) good start 2 the morning for india, 10di’ reaches his 32nd test ton, in the following fashion, congrats to him :k:!!!

110.1 Katich to Tendulkar, one run, bit of a long hop,
Tendulkar just works it around square quite comfortably,
he punches the air as he reaches the other end of the pitch
to bring up his century!!!

10di’ 100* {16/4} ‘n’ Lax’ 83* {17*4} **

i was watching yesterday when tendulkar came out and he looked very relaxed, that is when he plays well he was smiling at the crease he didnt put n e pressure on himslef and with a good start from openers he didnt have n e pressure on him, with out n e pressure he played well!

This is more like a one sided affair, I never expected the Australians to be dominated in this manner.

The whole Indian batting has had a great time in this tour.

First Test went to Ganguly

Second Test was no doubt Dravid's best with very good support from Laxman.

Thrid Test went to Sehwag, eventhough India lost but he was amazing.

And now fourth test is Tendulkars.

laxman reaches his 7th test ton, like so>>>>

121.5 Lee to Laxman, one run, short ball, played down
behind square onthe on side to bring up his century!!!

india r in a very strong position @ 453/3 (133.5 ov)

10di’ on ** 135 ** {214} ‘n’ Lax’ ** 130 ** {234}

the aus’ bowlers r finding it hard out there, maybe a huge shock is expected this time around , with india beating the aus’ in their own back yard!!!

latest score day - 2 scorecard

• 145.2 MacGill to Tendulkar, two runs, tossed up outside leg,
    swept away through fine leg That’s the Indian 4th wicket
    record against any opponent, beating Tendulkar’s and
    Ganguly’s 281 against New Zealand at Ahmedabad 1999/2000 *

:k: :bhangra: :nuch:
** latest score India 489/3 (148.3 ov) **

10di’ 147* & lax’ 155*

scorecard

**India 533/3 now

Sachin Tendulkar 170 not out
VVS Laxman 175 not out **

Will some Aussie get one of these guys out. Even I am starting to get tired of seeing them on the wicket.

India should step up the run rate a bit... but it looks like these guys are eyeing their double centuries now....

Finally, VVS Laxman b Gillespie 178

164.6 Gillespie to Laxman, OUT: full pitched delivery,
slips through Laxman’s defence and takes his stumps

** India 547/4, Partnership of 353
VVS Laxman b Gillespie 178 (298b 30x4 0x6) **

latest score India 564/4 (167.0 ov)

10di’ 187* :eek: and guli’ 11*

:flower2: scorecard @ day - 2 :flower2:](http://uk.cricinfo.com/db/NEW/LIVE/frames/IND_AUS_T4_02-06JAN2004.html)

167.6 Lee to Ganguly, OUT: done by a quick yorker, Ganguly just too slow to get down to it in time

Goes to show how valuable the Tendulkar-Laxman partnership was for India.

I am not following this match on TV... but from what I read on cricinfo, it looks like Tendulkar is still playing with great deal of caution while Patel is doing the bulk of scoring. Can someone tell me why Tendu can't go berserk.... now that he has got his double century and India is nearing 600.

*Originally posted by karina: *
let them reach 400 and I'll eat my hat...

Was the hat yummy ?