Re: India Bollywood’s Plagiarism of Pakistani Music
Lol there are like 10 combined Pakistani songs. You can’t expect them to have a show based on such narrow genre.
what do you mean by 10 combined songs? 50 years of Pakistan film Industry didn’t produce enough songs to based a stupid show like Pakistan Idol. Besides that we are richer than India in Ghazal, Folk, Qawwali and even in Pop music.
You can’t have a show in 2014 with songs from half a century ago. It has to cater to younger audiences. We all know that Pakistani songs were good but they were good in a period. Imagine American Idol but with only songs from 1950s-60s. No one would watch it.
Pop Industry of Pakistan kept on revolving from 1970s todate in spite of all the challenges and absence of concerts. Junoon, Vital Signs, Nazia Zohaib, Strings, Ali Haider, Ali Zafar, Shafqat Amant Ali, Hadiqa Kiyani herself, are not 50 years old story. BTW, Pakistani film Industry produced musicals like Jeeva, Sargam, Sangam, ChoRiyaan during 1990s.
As far as viewership of third class Pakistan idol is concerned, its running more on controversies than on content. We had music contest from NTM in 1990s providing singers like Shazia Manzoor, Waris Baig, etc. They all came into limelight by singing Pakistani songs. The world has not chnaged in one decade.. Pakistani songs (which you consider not popular today) have been copied in last decades Indian movies, which prove that our music still have relevance and popularity. Moreover, Pakistani singers like Atif Aslam, Ali Zafar, Shafqat Amanat, Shiraz Uppal, Ali Haider all got opportunity to work in India due to their earlier work in Pakistan.
Hasan Jahangir back in 80s…
Yes his Hawa hawa was copied in bollywood as well.
:mirch: inna ghussa?? :nono:
where is ghussa? I’m just putting forth facts that have been conveniently ignored
well i think pakistan idol was a good platform (and still is) to bring pakistani music (film/non filmy) back to lime light. they could easily do rounds where contestants can only sing pakistani songs or judges only gives them pakistani songs. but doubt that will happen.
While you cite great references for singers a question still remains. If Pakistan had such great Pop pedigree why aren’t our stars as famous as Indian stars? How come no one knows about Shaan but a granny in Louisianan has heard of Shahrukh khan. I agree that there were songs that were copied by India but they improved on them like arabs creating Algebra thus paving the way for Europeans to use it to create new inventions. The fact will always remain that there was a time where some brave souls came forth and tried to create a name for themselves but the Pakistani film industry was ruined by the whole “Jatt Film” movement. Which created movies entirely on punjabi culture. There are only a handful of movies that you can cite that were block busters in the 80s and 90s for Pakistan while India continued to produce blockbusters well in 100s since the 60s up til the present day. And the reason why Waris Baig and Shazia manzur didn’t sing Indian song during the 90s was because of the intense political tension between the two countries. We weren’t even allowed to talk about India or Bollywood on “PTV”. Since the advent of private channels such as GEO and ARY people can now freely sing bollywood songs.
Yaar, in 60s and 70s, we were copying their movies left and right. In fact I think it was waheed murad who mentioned in his tv interview that producers used to send people across the border to watch Indian movies (this is before vcr invasion) to come back with stories, so Pakistani producers could produce a CHARBA. In fact I remember him mentioning that a producer sent an agent to go and watch a hit Indian movie named Raja Rani, but agent by mistake ended up going to a flop movie Raja Jaani and came back with that story and they produced it in Pakistan which obviously failed.
You are right that Gandasa Culture movies ruined film Industry in Pakistan, but again these gandasa flicks were copied in India (Maula-Jatt has been copied in India. Sunny Deol in Gadar does what Sultan Rahi used to do in 1980s Punjabi movies).
But the point here is Pakistani music which kept on flourishing even during gandasa movie period. When Pakistani movies stopped producing good movies, at same time Pakistan’s pop industry started taking pace, which was equally popular across the border instead of all the restriction put on Pakistani content in India. If Pakistan has not allowed Indian content in Pakistan and put same restrictions here, Indian movies would be popular in Pakistan, but not at the cost of local cinema and industry. One Aurangzeb disturbed music scene in India, but Pakistani were creative enough to tackle reincarnation of Aurangzeb in the shape of Zia ![]()
Lol… on Raja Rani and Raja Jaani ![]()
I personally like any good music but will favor Pakistani songs and music be promoted in Pakistani Media and Idol.
Any channel promoting Indian songs especially on repeated basis or out of nowhere should be reprimanded in some ways.
Like I have said before, this can be because of ‘Indians’ employed by ‘Pakistani’ channels. Next time read the names of employees contributing to a Pakistani program.
One major problem is that Pakistani music or film industry is full of illiterates and those who are at their positions based not on skill but on braadari-ism.
These people lack formal education and keep selecting actors and singers out of similar background.
At some point Pakiatan had Nadeem, Zeba, M. Ali, Waheed Murad, Santosh, Sabiha type actors and now… ![]()
Indian songs or movies do come more frequently with quality material and this is where they do have an edge over Pakistani industry.
Their music by far has balance and soothing touch (more commonly). They have music as part of religion and that makes it hard to compete against.
While they experiment more often than Pakistanis… they on the other hand do copy others a lot including Pakistani music without any doubt.
Few more points: (Just my observation)
Indian musicians more often make music combination on simple mathematical relation or pattern of notes, but for some reason Pakistani musicians try to combine too many different notes randomly and singers also keep going up and down (low and high) so randomly that the composition loses its charm.
Pakistani musicians also select very odd music instruments and those which are not even tuned right which makes sounds clash with each other.
Ever listened to Coke Studio?
Everyone in that studio wants to play his instrument and wants to show ‘his talent’ and the background music becomes “choon choon Ka Murabba”! ![]()
^^^ Indians even copy the whole concept of coke studio from Pakistan. ![]()
In addition to what diwana mentioned, I like to point out the lack of professionalism in our music.
First of all, in our film industry at least, we don’t have musicians like Sohail Rana and Robin Ghosh anymore. We don’t have poets like Qateel Shifai, Munir Niazi and Habeeb Jalib writing songs for us. So if no one is copying us any more, then it’s a proof that we are no longer copying worthy.
The saddest part is that the same Pakistani singers who perform hit song for India, generally fail in Pakistan in terms of producing a hit song. Adnan Sami, Rahat Fateh and probably even Shafqat have more popular Indian songs than Pakistani songs.
It’s because Indians know how to use a voice. They won’t let anyone sing any song, no matter how big the singer is. For instance, they used Reshma for lambi judai, not lata.
Also, our downfall is because everyone in our industry wants to become a master of all. Every other singer of Pakistan is also a poet and a musician. They just don’t want to share credits with anyone for a hit. India does not do that. Behind a hit, they have a hit poet, a hit musician and a hit singer.
I agree with all you wrote to great extent but the bold part. Indian musician Pritam is copying our Waqar Ali (Theme song of drama Mera Naam hai Muhabbat was copied in Indian movie Metro as ‘Kar le Muhabbat’). Even songs of movie ChooRiyan (KaraN main Nazara whose Music Director’s name is not know to many) has been copied in Indian movie Indian Babu (the story was copied scene to scene from ChooRiyan). Madam Sangeeta’s movie Nikah (which was a copy of Pakistani movie Aaina to great extent) was a hit in Pakistan so was the music and copied in Inida (Main yun milun tujhe tera libaas ho jaoon - penned by Riaz u Rehman Saghar and music was given by M Arshad who himself copied lot of Indian tunes, was copied in Indian movie Hawas). They even copied Boohay Bariyan of Hadiqa Kiyani in movie ‘Dil hai Tumhara’.
Interesting part is when Waqar Ali copied Indian movie Zubeida’s track as an OST for Hum TV’s drama ‘Durr e Shahwar’, it was replaced when audience in Pakistan criticized the channel.
IMO biggest problem with Pakistani Industry is they don’t promote local talent properly. To be a star, people want to see our singers getting recognition in India. This happened not only to new singers like Rahat Fateh Ali Khan (Rahat was quite popular for his song ‘Kisi roz milo hamen sham dhale’ and Amjad Islam Amjad’s nazm 'Maine use dekhe hai before going to India) or Shafqat (whose first album Fusion and songs like Khamaj were hit in Pakistan), but also to legends like Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan and Abida Parveen as well.
Atif Aslam started out with rehashes of his own popular Pakistani songs in India.
Oh My ![]()
And all this time I jived on Munni badnaam hui :(.