India Block Chenab Flow - Water Crises Deepens/India says won't block water (merged)

Re: India Block Chenab Flow - Water Crises Deepens

I say it's time to scrap the indus water treaty. India should keep all the water for itself :-)

^ then dont start crying like wusses if kashmiris demand independence again.

Does anyone have any updates? They were going to take up the matter with them so what happened?

Or nothing is being published, broadcasted upon our 'friendliest' neighbour's request to Pak officials to not make the issue 'high profiled' so that the news wont adversely affect the 'most peaceful country's image if it made it to the international media? Hmm..... clever as always.

ok...india ka dimaghe thek nahi hoa bombings kay baad bhi.. i think paki agencies should create trouble between hindus and muslims on a massive level..this would be the great lesson for indians

^ I think we rather need to 'fix' the traitors among us before blaming them. Nobody cant do sh!t against us only if we learn to be true to our land.

Can anybody answer why our media, tv channels / newspapers have absolutely no updates on this issue? Who's influenced to silence them? It just means that the traitors among us are providing them all the support they need to break us apart.

FYI, there were 5 blasts today in Queta and there are reports that 4 'child' suicide bombers have entered the Punjab province today.

Instead of killing innocents, the only thing Pakistan needs to do is have a sophisticated defence system which would catch any such threats to Pakistan's security (All those much hyped 'aid dollers'. Why cant the fcukin install security cameras all over the country to catch such criminals causing trouble?), have UNITY among them (not kill another Pakistani to satisfy our personal ego / for the sake of money), be loyal to their LAND than anything else.

But I think all of the above is too much for a random Pakistani. An UNFORTUNATE FACT!!!

What Indus treaty? And what's breaking the rules?

Naturally, we'll forget about persuing this matter because of the blast today. Indian influence is stronger in our country than we can imagine.

care to understand what Indus Water Treaty says about this??? 3 Eastern river waters (Ravi, Satluj, Beas) is for india.

3 Western River (Chenab, Jehlam, Indus) waters are for Pakistan use.

so stick to the rules of an International treaty.

Absolutely no updates till today.

Pakistan needs to recognize the neighbourhood crooks. They will NEVER be fair to Pak in any matter.

Do you understand Indus water treaty ...... western rivers can be used by India for agriclutural and other purposes ..... and in case there is any dispute .. it can always be taken to world bank for arbitration. All these modalities are part of the Indus treaty and this has been excercised by Pakistan in the past with Baglihar also.

Yea I know dont twist the facts, Pakistan has exclusive rights to western rivers. India has very limited rights for irigation to Ranbir and Partab Canals. for any hydroelectic projects with limited storage water has to retrun to Chenab for onward flow to Pakistan

http://siteresources.worldbank.org/INTSOUTHASIA/Resources/223497-1105737253588/IWT_Article_III.pdf

I think this is good opportunity to bring peace in the Indian sub-continent. If India is holding water away from Pakistan then we can work out a deal whereby Pakistan stops the cross-border firing etc in Kashmir and other areas if they want water from India. I mean it sounds like paying blackmail but what to do? Pakistan is not going to stop bothering India unless we make them an offer that cannot be refused

This just shows India has no regards for international treaties,and this is a good reason for other countries NOT to enter into similar projects with this country.

Pakistan's whinning will not get it anywhere .... it is an international treay and the modalities are very clear .... if Pakistan feels it has been short changed it can always got to the world bank.

But then that is not what the Pakistan government wants .... they experienced it last time on Baglihar ..... they made a lot of noise about it being against the Indus water treaty and the what happened .... Baglihar stands tall.

The fact is Pakistan is facing a water shortage and they have to blame someone for this .

Now what is at issue here

as per dawn report

The sources said India’s unilateral decision to stop the Chenab flows had put additional pressure on the irrigation system of Pakistan, which used to receive more than 23,000 cusecs a day until last week, but it had now been brought down to almost zero

But the Chairman Pakistan water forum says in APP report September 15

Talking to a delegation of agriculturists here on Monday, he said,under Indus Water treaty India is bound to release 55 thousand cusecs of water in Chenab at Head Marala but it has reduced discharge to 22 thousand cusecs which would badly affect availability of water for crops

Associated Press Of Pakistan ( Pakistan’s Premier NEWS Agency ) - PWF condemns reduction in water release in Chenab

So guys … what is the situation is there no water in the river

Not to miss

Calling for taking steps for construction of dams including Kalabagh dam, he said,”If we had constructed water reservoirs the country would have neither faced power crisis nor had apprehension of experiencing shortage of irrigation water for crops.”

^^ Another representative of the crook nation with the crook views.

The treaty is very clear and can be read with anybody who can read and understand english. How can you justify india violating the treaty???

That also proves that Pakistan has incompetent officials to demand and get their right from the international instituations.

Playing around with quotes and words will not prove the wrongs right.

Kindly provide links for all the passages you have quoted so that everyone knows how you’re twisting info here.

And I am sure that’s exactly how indians are trying to justify their violation of the treaty to the world bank also. Providing them with a wrong picture of the actual facts and since the Pakistani conterparts are so incompetent, the would not go deeper into the exploitation tactics of the indian government.

It’s exactly the same (their brainwashing capabilities) whether at the international level or with Pakistanis.

Regarding cancellation of construction of Kalabhagh dam, every one knows how this project was cancelled by some Pakistanis with specific political agenda upon the insistence of their indian counterparts.

So you can always show me in english what the treaty says about the western rivers and what point you are specifically making ..... links

It still doesn't change the fact that India violated the treaty. Stop trying to twists things around, and apologize for your leaderships lack of dignity and airheadedness.

This will send a good msg to Iran and other countries who would rethink their collaboration with India in future.

So far all that i heard on this board is that Pakistan has exclusive rights to western river … as if India cannot as much take a glass of water for them … But the treay is very clear on what is permissible and when … read annexure C and tell me South Asia - Indus Waters Treaty

Sure since you say it so it is violation .... is it