India announces squad for Zimbabwe -=shrugs :)=-

India vs Zimbabwe, two comparable teams! It will be a very exciting series since both are evenly matched!

http://www.cricket.org/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2002/FEB/098666_ZIMININD_16FEB2002.html

Indian squad for Zimbabwe series announced
Anand Vasu - 16 February 2002

The Indian selectors announced today a squad that will take on Zimbabwe in the two-Test series beginning shortly. Despite recalling stumper MSK Prasad for the Board President’s XI game, the national selectors thought it best that they stick with Deep Dasgupta, who has performed creditably with the bat if not behind the stumps in the longer version of the game.

Also back in the team are speedster Tinu Yohannan, overlooked for the one-dayers against England and middle-order bat Rahul Dravid who was out due to injury. Importantly, there is no place in the squad for Delhi southpaw Gautham Gambhir, who made a spirited 218 against Zimbabwe in the tour match that is under way.

Offie Sarandeep Singh and all-rounder Sanjay Bangar get a reprise, being named in the squad despite widespread speculation that neither had done enough to warrant selection.

VVS Laxman, who was dropped from the squad that played the one-dayers against England in favour of Mohammad Kaif, makes his way back into the squad. His place in the Test side was never in doubt, despite rumours that Kaif had done enough to replace him.

Zahher Khan, who has done wonders for state side Baroda since being relieved of national duties, has been called up to reinforce the bench. The Baroda left-arm seamer was lethal in domestic cricket, taking his state side to the final of the domestic competition with a 10-wicket performance that impressed more than one selector.

The squad: Saurav Ganguly (c), Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, SS Das, Virender Sehwag, VVS Laxman, Anil Kumble, Javagal Srinath, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Sarandeep Singh, Deep Dasgupta, Sanjay Bangar and Tinu Yohanan.

Is it in India?

Ours is not to reason why;
Ours is but to do and die

Yep, its in India...

I am just eager to see those Indian umpires giving wrong decisions so that India can keep its rep. as being heroes at home (thanks to the umpires) and zeroes abroad.

However, I must salute the English for coming to India and drawing the one day series by winning the last two matches despite the way the umpires were workin!!

apni galli me to bhi sher hota hai
indian team will win couple of matches with big margin ganguly will score a century and all the country will go goo gooo ga ga over the wins
and before the serious concludes zimbabwe will thrash india in a one day match
ganguly will be retained captain for winning a series against the mediocre team like zimbabawe all the humiliation of past will be buried .

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited February 18, 2002).]

Spock - Of all the People - You have got no moral right to talk about Umpiring. Because first you are only mariginally better than India in Test Cricket here is the completeTEST CRICKET RATINGS
Second your win over the West Indies was not without dubious decisions

If your memory has failed then dont blame me - In the first Oneday match one decision went against England and in all other matches it was England who benefited from Poor umpiring. Check the match report of last two one-day games.

Btw I must salute the English team for beating Pakistan in Pakistan team. They indeed are a quality team.

Anyway here are few links to show how Pakistan won last test against England -
Umpiring a disgrace

Bottom line is, umpiring is bad biased in every country and whoever is at the receiving end suffers.

AK

[This message has been edited by Asif_k (edited February 18, 2002).]

Youre so eh? Its not my fault the Indian cricket team is so pathetic which is why they lost two times to Kenya. Didnt you hear what Hussain said in the second ODI? Didnt he say ‘some decisions shouldnt have went the way they did, which lost us the match we should have won’?

Remember that Kumble ten wicket haul? Even Gavaskar (who calls Agarkar as the next Wasim Akram and says Zaheer Khan is as fast as shoib akhter

) was sceptical of those decisions. Did you know this Sharjah Test series was one of the very few neutral test series ever taken place?

As for records, we all know the pathetic record the Indian cricket team has both in test and one day cricket. This is why they have chickened out to play against Pakistan. ‘Hostilities and Host await the Indian cricket team in Zimbabwe’? Changing the article title here wont matter dude, in cricket, either you win or not, and sadly you dont win…

One more thing, your Indian cricket team is so laughable that when Pakistan toured the last time, it lost the test series despite your own umpires raising their fingers when ever the ball touched the pads. When this was not enough, your crowd started throwing things to abandon the match (just like they always do as in 96 against Sri Lanka) which proves what sorry losers you are. Your team obviously lacks talent which is why they keep calling back useless players. Its not my fault you guys lost two times to a team like Kenya; losing once can be acceptable, but twice proves that they are better than you.

Go read my post entitled ‘all about the indian cricket team’; and dont blame me, some australian came up with those jokes.

Yes...lossing to kenya is disgrace!!!
what about loosing to bangladesh!!!! he he he

wel we atleast won test sereies agianst England...and see what the same english team did to your team!!!!! Thrashed at home!!!!

As for empiring !!! here is few facts for you!!!!

Moever as for poor empiring !!!!
Did u foegot Shakoor rana-getting episode!!Did it happen in India!!!

Also here is another fact !!!!
Do you know !!! what percentage of Imrans wicket in Pakistan was as LBW = 27%

Do you know !!! what percentage of Imrans wicket outside Pakistan was as LBW = 15%

Now you will say Empire outside pakistan were not honest !!!
ha ha ha

Jiyo Aur Jeene Do!!!

Ok asif, now coming to your links...

The fox sports link you gave says...

//But the inexperience of the top order and critical umpiring decisions ended any slim hopes the West Indians may have entertained on a good batting wicket.//

If you didnt know the meaning of the word critical, go look it up in a dictionary...

As for the BBC, I didnt read what they said as I know they will be crying over their teams loss in Pakistan as they always do...

Now coming to Pakistan and Indian comparison on test cricket. Why dont you see the statistics instead of the ratings... Statistics are more accurate since they take into account everything, however ratings might be fluctuating from time to time.

Pakistan 283 84 68 131 0 55.26
so Pakistn has played 283 tests, won 84 with a win percentage of 55.26

India 349 68 117 163 1 36.55
India on the otherhand has played 349 tests and won 68 with a win percentage of just 36.55

55.26 compared with 36.55 is not marginal is it? hahah If u want I can come up with the ODI results, but they are even worse for India.

OK spock, what is ur problem. u talked about indian umpiring, Asif asked about pak umpiring. how about australian umpiring. what kind of decisions SRT got in Australia. Do u remembe LBW hattrick of pakistani in Sharjah against india. now u want to change topic and talk about how bad indian team is. But did anyone claim that it is a great team?

OK, let us agree that since india won test against a miserable team like england, it is bad team while since pak won against strong team like bangladesh it is outstanding team.

Originally posted by kabir:
apni galli me to bhi sher hota hai
indian team will win couple of matches with big margin ganguly will score a century and all the country will go goo gooo ga ga over the wins
and before the serious concludes zimbabwe will thrash india in a one day match
ganguly will be retained captain for winning a series against the mediocre team like zimbabawe all the humiliation of past will be buried .

Originally posted by andha_qanoon:
**Yes...lossing to kenya is disgrace!!!
what about loosing to bangladesh!!!! he he he

wel we atleast won test sereies agianst England...and see what the same english team did to your team!!!!! Thrashed at home!!!!

As for empiring !!! here is few facts for you!!!!

Moever as for poor empiring !!!!
Did u foegot Shakoor rana-getting episode!!Did it happen in India!!!

Also here is another fact !!!!
Do you know !!! what percentage of Imrans wicket in Pakistan was as LBW = 27%

Do you know !!! what percentage of Imrans wicket outside Pakistan was as LBW = 15%

Now you will say Empire outside pakistan were not honest !!!
ha ha ha

You seem to be forgetting the recent "White Wash" of bangalis by Pakistan. That match in the world cup was fixed by Wasim, and unlike you the Pakistanis had already advanced into the super sixes before that match so they didn't care even if they lost.

And you definitely are forgetting the ten wickets by Kumble from which four were wrong decisions. What do you have to say about that.

You indians haven't produced a descent fast bowler in the last hundered years. You have nothing else to do but to quote others. Which reminds me of something Boycott said about V.Parsad, he said that "If Parsad only can add a faster delivery to his collection, he would be a complete spinner."

I would love to hear your reply on that..

-------Yaroo Ye He Dosti Hai!!-------

The Boycott joke always cracks me up. Prolly the ultimate cricket quote.

Originally posted by ZZ:
** Do u remembe LBW hattrick of pakistani in Sharjah against india. **

ZZ you have quoted this instance more than once. I don't know what your point is here because the umpires in that match were Sri Lankans and not Pakistanis, so there was no reason for them to be biased in favour of Pakistan. Your batsmen should learn to play with the bat instead of their legs.

What about you ? Do you remember your loss to Bangladesh ? Also, If you are so good then how come Pakistan was holding record for lowest Team Score (43 vs WI 1991-92) untill recently. We are no good and we know that, but you are no better. You say you are better, still you won the world Cup in 1992 - We won it in 1983 itself despite being so pathetic. You lost the test series against Zimbabwe at home (Faislabad Test).

I did hear All his whining, but I didn’t hear it when those dubious decisions went in his favour. Everyone needs a reason to blame the loss. It is very hard to accept that one is not good enough to beat India in India (Steve Waugh will say that, as he is man enough to accept that)

First of all - Zaheer is anyday faster than that CHUCKER Rawalpindi Passenger. Imagine him bowling without chucking, he will be slower than Bishen singh Bedi. Now coming back to Kumble’s 10 wicket Haul - I have heard it n times from Paki friends and read it n times in Paki newspapers they keep cribbing about it. I know it hurts really well when you are defeated by only one bowler. (Also go and check the 7/37 by Aquib Javed, you will see some facts).
About the Current PAK-WI series - Please check my previous post where it saysWI lost one of the tests because of two dubious decisions.

Instead of Ranting about India’s pathetic record, Why dont you look at Pakistan’s record. You have lost 4 back to back series right there in your own HOOD. (SriLanka twice, England Once, Zimbabwe once). In test cricket you are mriginally better and just above us (at 7 we are at 8, that too after win over WI)

First of all - India didn’t lose the TEST series it was a 2 test series ended in a 1-1 Draw. There was no third test. (The test you are talking about is part of Asian cricket Championship which is not recognized by ICC) YOu can assume it as the third test, but the fact in the stats books will be it wasn’t. About the behaviour of Crowd - Well First off all Indians gave Pakistan Team a Standing Ovation in the same series despite being on the loosing side. In 96 Calcutta crowd was mad at our pathetic display, In 1999 it was the way Sachin was given out in second innings. By the way how about this link http://www.gnubies.com/pakistan/pak3.htm - that is really laughable.
with your logic - Even Bangladesh is better than you, coz they proved that in the world cup (you are yet to beat India and Bangladesh in a world cup match). If our team lacks talent - then compare one on one. you will see the reality - we are better in batting and spin bowling - you are better in fast bowling and umpiring (esp. when it comes to LBWs).

About the joke by the Australian - I can understand his pain - Their dream of becoming the world champion remained a dream and it just hurts them too much. I can sympathise with them.

And following are no jokes dude - I dont weather they are laugable or just disgusting.
http://www.thepavilion.com.au/international/20000905/A45906-2000Sep4.html http://www.cricket.org/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2001/MAY/131854_PAK_30MAY2001.html

This is exactly the reason why Our govt doesn’t want to play your team - because there are going to be some rogue members like you in the crowd who are a danger to our players .

AK

ok spock, india did not produce a good fast bowler. now pakistan did not produce a chess grandmaster, leave alone world champion, from ages. so what is ur point.

Originally posted by Asif_k:
** First of all - Zaheer is anyday faster than that CHUCKER Rawalpindi Passenger. Imagine him bowling without chucking, he will be slower than Bishen singh Bedi. (Also go and check the 7/37 by Aquib Javed, you will see some facts).
About the Current PAK-WI series - Please check my previous post where it saysWI lost one of the tests because of two dubious decisions.

Asif:

Firstly, I think to say Zaheer is faster then Shoaib is not correct at all. In all the cricket circles and amongst the commentators there is agreement that the two fastest bowlers currently are Brett Lee and Shoaib. Zaheer is certainly faster but not faster than Shoaib.

Secondly Aaqib's 7/37 still hurts and what all of you conveniently forget that the umpires were SRI LANKANS and not Pakistanis.

Thirdly all you Indians never tire of telling us that Pakistani umpires favour the home team, within the same breath you also never tire of telling us that we have lost a number of series at home. Now we lose at home with the help of the umpires and win abroad without the help of the umpires, surely something is not right in that logic. While on the other hand India is virtually unbeatbale at home and have not won abroad now for over 10 years. Hmmmm!!!!! just think about whose umpires are cheating.

Originally posted by ehsan:
** While on the other hand India is virtually unbeatbale at home and have not won abroad now for over 10 years. Hmmmm!!!!! just think about whose umpires are cheating.**

but then pak won two tests in india. so there are two possibilities a) pak is better than australia b) when it comes to pakistan, indian umpires dont cheat. so choose the right one

Originally posted by ZZ:
** but then pak won two tests in india. so there are two possibilities a) pak is better than australia b) when it comes to pakistan, indian umpires dont cheat. so choose the right one**

my question still stands as to which set of umpires are cheating if the logic of Indians is accepted. How come a team which is so brilliant at home that they beat the world champions, loses even to Kenya and Zimbabwe abroad.

Originally posted by ehsan:
** my question still stands **

so does mine.

Instead of arguing, why can't you Indians just accept it that Pakistan is better than India in cricket, I'm preety sure deep down in your hearts you admit it.
And don't blame us for not sending your team to pakistan, not because the security issue but more of a humiliation issue. Just imagine how your government will be humiliated if they loose to Pakistan.

Reminding us about Kumble taking 10 wickets in a match just shows you to a proof that there is no other decent bowler in the whole team except him who took wickets.
The thought of Zahher Khan being compared to the great "Rawelpindi Express" is a slap on your face.
Just admit it, India will never be able to produce such great fast bowlers as Wasim and waqar.
Stick with Kumble and Harbajhan, because these are the only two guys whose bowling is going to have an effect on the slow Indian pitches.
Just imagine how life would be like for the Indian team when Tendulkur retires in 8 or 9 years.
Cricket is going downhill for India, no other newcomer from India has proved to be hopeful.
you will still have sachin and sauruv, but India will end up like the Westindies.

So in a matter of time, you guys need to concentrate on Bollywood in which you guys are better than us.

Thank you, come again