A bilateral series between Indian and Pakistan seems unlikely, but another high-pressure one-day match between the two sides looms as both have been drawn in the same group for the Champions Trophy tournament, to be held in England between September 9 and 26 next year. The two teams will clash in a pool D match on September 20.
According to a report in the Times of India, the International Cricket Council (ICC) is expected to make a formal announcement of the tournament schedule later this week, following its annual meeting.
Pool A comprises Australia, New Zealand and Zimbabwe, while South Africa, West Indies and Kenya are placed in pool B. England have been slotted along with Sri Lanka and Bangladesh in pool C, while the third team in pool D is Holland.
The format of the tournament remains the same – the three teams in each group play one another with the top side from each pool qualifying for the semi-finals. However, unlike in the previous edition, there could be a reserve day for all 15 matches in the tournament. Also, three venues are likely to be used for the competition, one more than the number used in Sri Lanka in 2002.
The dates are a bit strange - September isn't the best time to hold a major tournament in England. I think we will have established a pretty strong team by then so it will be a great game which I predict Pakistan will win.
Pool is semm to be the toughest. I agree with Xtreme's prediction (I'm sure Asif wont agree so easily) I predict the four semi finalist will be
Autralia from Pool A (that was a no brainer)
South Africa from Pool B
Srilanka from Pool C
Pakistan from Pool D
Unless there is some drastic improvement made by any of the teams Australia will end up with yet another trouphy.
*Originally posted by LahoriMunda: *
(I'm sure Asif wont agree so easily)
I dont make stupid predictions. Since you already know the Semifinalists, why not go ahead and declare Pakistan a winner like your Pal Xtreme has done.
Read carefully, I predicted Austrlia will win it. I never claimed I knew the semi finalists, I just *predicted * based on current performance/form of the teams.
I didn't declare Pakistan as winners of the tournament, I just said I think Pakistan will win that match against India, based on my asessment of the current team. Rightn now India is a pretty strong one day unit, but in a year's time some of these young Pakistan players will be well-established and with 3 or 4 genuine quality all-rounders in our side Pakistan have the basis of a potentially excellent team. That's my opinion yaar, you don't have to like it or agree with it.
I agree here.As long as People dont make inflamatory statements.There is Nothing wrong in saying that your or my team will go to Semifinal just dont disrespect people or country.
As for me looking at current team I see India has clear advantage,But who knows.It is the day that matter.
*Originally posted by Sadiyah: *
I pray that Pakistan thrashes India, ameen!
poor sadiya :( ..there will be more ameens in favor of India and god will favor the majority. Pray that your team plays well instead of saying something about India :)
Yeh kya baat hoi??...Do u really think Indian Muslims will pray for Hindu Banyaas?? I don't think so...Indian Muslim will pray for Pakistan...
Pak will Inshallah beat India ..and will make us zaleel or Kahwar against Aus w/ their Kamenne performance
Yeh kya baat hoi??...Do u really think Indian Muslims will pray for Hindu Banyaas?? I don't think so...Indian Muslim will pray for Pakistan...
noo brother.. they pray for their country.. u wont find alot of indian these days who are in favour of pakistan :)