Ind vs Pak - 2 ODIs in Abu Dhabi/Pak Squad announced (Merged)

Uthappa brought in for Gambhir
Cricinfo staff
April 3, 2006

India’s selectors made one change to their 15-man squad for the remaining four ODIs against England, bringing in Robin Uthappa for Gautam Gambhir. The squad will remain the same for the two ODIs in Abu Dhabi which immediately follow the conclusion of the England series.

Explaining the decision, chairman of selectors Kiran More said: “Gambhir has not been performing of late, so we thought we will give a chance to Uthappa.” Gambhir, who came into the side in place of the injured Sachin Tendulkar, has only one hundred and one fifty to show from his 16 ODIs, and he has not passed 38 in his last ten games. Uthappa, a 20-year-old right-hand batsmen, impressed in the Challenger Series earlier this season.

“If we win the series against England and we think some players have to be rested then we may consider other names also,” Indian cricket board secretary Niranjan Shah added.

India squad Rahul Dravid (capt), Robin Uthappa, Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Mohammad Kaif, Suresh Raina, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Ramesh Powar, Ajit Agarkar, Munaf Patel, Venugopal Rao, S Sreesanth, RP Singh.

He said the same squad would play the two one-dayers against Pakistan in Abu Dhabi on April 18 and 19 to raise money for victims of last year’s Kashmir earthquake.

Re: Ind vs Pak - 2 ODIs in Abu Dhabi

And Sehwag has performed splendidly of late. What crap !!
I am no fan of Gambhir , but based on current form, any sensible person would choose Gambhir over Sehwag.
Sehwag is the one who needed to go.

who is showing these games?

You are. :clown:

Also, I was looking at the domestic record of Robin Uthappa (chosen in place of Gambhir). Does not seem too great. With an average of 32 from 20 matches, he does not instill too much confidence.

I will if someone shows me :slight_smile: .. hopefully it will be on DN or Sky.. we shalllllll seeee

^^ Ansoon bhai I think the game will be on ARY or 10Sports, Anyways the 2 matches are only a financial stunt, let see how much goes to the victims of Kashmir and NorthEast Pakistan.

Each Pakistani player is promised if they play the 2 games they will be given 1.mil, and after playing you I am sure they will release that there is too much cricket is going on, and jobhi is 13th, 14th and 15th player of the team us-ki to lotto nikal aai hai bhi :smiley: and since Pakistan board hasn’t received the money from the past world cup (1996) there is no need to shake hand with India for any more joint venture’s. its simply stupidity on Uncle S. Khan

and why this thread headline is about Abu-Dhabi and so much information on the current India vs. England series, Utthappa and Gambhir :confused: :stuck_out_tongue: you could have added simply this in the headline about the 2 games as well :smiley:

oh, time for Shoaib to hit on some helmets :D

maybe they announced it at the same time :confused:

and 1 mil for each player for charity match doesnt make sense to me

It will be covered by ATN ;)

^^ lol :hehe: then its all good :smiley:

Both announcements were made in one press release. I highlighted the dates to avoid confusion. Sorry about that - my bad. :smack:

The telecast rights for the ODIs have been bagged by Percept D’Mark. For viewers in India, I think it should share the rights with DD (Doordarshan).

teaser qasam khaoo .. :slight_smile:

if its on ATN then its awesome..

I don't know what you guys think but pakistan and india are playing too much cricket these days.

• Salman Butt has been dropped from the 14-man squad for the two ODIs against India to be played at Abu Dhabi on April 18 and 19. Besides Butt, Umar Gul, the medium pacer and Tahir Khan, the off spinner were also dropped from the senior squad but were included in the ‘A’ team, which will be captained by Hasan Raza. Instead, Abdur Rehman, the 26-year-old left-arm spinner, has been included in Pakistan’s senior squad.

• The selectors also named the Pakistan ‘A’ squad for the six-nation Euro-Asia one-day tournament also to be played at Abu Dhabi between April 22 to May 5.

Pakistan ‘A’ - Inzamam-ul-Haq (capt), Imran Farhat, Shoaib Malik, Younis Khan, Mohammad Yousuf, Kamran Akmal (wk), Shahid Afridi, Danish Kaneria, Abdul Razzaq, Mohammad Asif, Rao Iftikhar Anjum, R Naved-ul-Hasan, Faisal Iqbal, Abdul Rehman.

Pakistan - Hasan Raza (capt), Yasir Hameed, Taufeeq Umar, Mohammad Hafeez, Bazid Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq, Shahid Yousuf, Mansoor Amjad, Zulqarnain Haider (wk), Tahir Khan, Umar Gul, Mohammad Irshad, Yasir Arafat and Samiullah Niazi.

Butt dropped from Abu Dhabi ODIs

I just wanted to see Hafeez’s and Taufeeq’s name in the National squad for once. Now I got my wish fulfilled. :smiley:

Salman Butt droped from Dubia ODI'S

Butt dropped from Abu Dhabi ODIs

April 7, 2006

Salman Butt, the Pakistani opener, has been dropped from the 14-man squad for the two ODIs against India to be played at Abu Dhabi on April 18 and 19. The selectors also named the Pakistan 'A' squad for the six-nation Euro-Asia one-day tournament also to be played at Abu Dhabi between April 22 to May 5.
Butt was part of the Pakistan squad that returned triumphant from Sri Lanka and played in the first two ODIs. Since scoring a century against India at Peshawar, his form slipped, with scores of 0, 0, 13, 26 and 4.
Besides Butt, Umar Gul, the medium pacer and Tahir Khan, the off spinner were also dropped from the senior squad but were included in the 'A' team, which will be captained by Hasan Raza. Abdur Rehman, the 26-year-old left-arm spinner, has been included in Pakistan's senior squad.
While India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka will field their 'A' squads, the other participants, namely, Ireland, Scotland and hosts UAE will field their national teams.
Pakistan - Inzamam-ul-Haq (capt), Imran Farhat, Shoaib Malik, Younis Khan, Mohammad Yousuf, Kamran Akmal (wk), Shahid Afridi, Danish Kaneria, Abdul Razzaq, Mohammad Asif, Rao Iftikhar Anjum, R Naved-ul-Hasan, Faisal Iqbal, Abdul Rehman.
Pakistan 'A' - Hasan Raza (capt), Yasir Hameed, Taufeeq Umar, Mohammad Hafeez, Bazid Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq, Shahid Yousuf, Mansoor Amjad, Zulqarnain Haider (wk), Tahir Khan, Umar Gul, Mohammad Irshad, Yasir Arafat and Samiullah Niazi.

kis is ABC kharab ho gayee hay? "A" is on wrong team :p

crap duplicate post owell mine looks more fun

:hehe: rangeela baboo, GS ke liye ek “filter” bhee bana do taa ke hum log bhee par sakayn :stuck_out_tongue:

all jokes aside, cheetah it will be good if you could post with normal colours in it. It is really useless to submit techicolour posts which we can't read.