Re: Increasing vulgarity in pak dramas
TMI : To much information - which is not needed.
What the point calling your channel a "family channel" when people cant watch the prime-time show with siblings, parents and others? (unless they consider Miaan-BV a family)
But are they showing it is apart of our culture? Or are they trying to educate people on the effects of it and how it can destroy a persons life and family? Social media can be a powerful tool if it is used wisely. People in Pakistan do drink and they do drugs. It happens everywhere. The only difference is that people in Pakistan don't talk about it (or want to acknowledge it). They could do talk shows, but what are the chances of people watching a talk show versus a drama?With my own eyes, I have seen parents act like they have no clue where their beta goes, when he is standing outside of the house smoking .... and he does this for several years. Nobody will acknowledge it, or wants to acknowledge it, cause that will bring it out into the open where they will be forced to talk about it.
in pul sirat they showed the evils of alcohol which was good , in abdul qadir they also tried to teach a lesson but mostly they just show ppl drinking it as a routine. well elite in pak do drink or go clubbing and some lower class do it too (i mean drinking) but its not everyday man n r all dramas just for upper class? for instance wat was the point of zip... bus chup reho? in meray qatil they show sajjal dancing in a club like environment do girls from normal, conservative families mostly do that in pak? the way neelam is living in a low class neighbourhood and doing upper class things in jal pari i'm not sure how many gals r actually able to live like that in pak? in ek nazer they showed how rubab paid for her extramarital affair but after showing them so openly??? again wats the point. also will showing it more will resolve it or make ppl more immune to it? and new generations will do it more openly? but yes a country whose own president n his son does these things may b the tv thinks everybody must b doing the same.
as for smoking at least its not haram. it is injurious over a period of time but not against our religious values. i think talk shows r a better idea but then these will b sooo boring for many n might not bring tv the needed rating.
The only problem I see in this thread is that as a society we are not willing to admit that our country is not as pious as we would like to think it is. Most of the blame obviously goes to the fact that we only had one state run tv channel for decades with censored and controlled programming.
Our country is riddled with problems. It has people that do drugs, drink, go clubbing, date, have premarital and extramarital affairs. Pretty much just like any other society. It's just that the media is holding up a mirror to us now and we don't want to see it.
EXACTLY!!! we all just love living in denial and reminiscing the good old days of censored PTV and Door Darshan. It's so annoying when ppl comment "IS THIS OUR CULTURE!?!?!" yes my dear it IS. If it's happening on tv it's happening in real life too. In fact in real life, the drinking, drugs, pre and extra marital relationships are far more common, especially more so at the lower end of the spectrum whether they reside in the villages or in "mizaars".
in pul sirat they showed the evils of alcohol which was good , in abdul qadir they also tried to teach a lesson but mostly they just show ppl drinking it as a routine. well elite in pak do drink or go clubbing and some lower class do it too (i mean drinking) but its not everyday man n r all dramas just for upper class? for instance wat was the point of zip... bus chup reho? in meray qatil they show sajjal dancing in a club like environment do girls from normal, conservative families mostly do that in pak? the way neelam is living in a low class neighbourhood and doing upper class things in jal pari i'm not sure how many gals r actually able to live like that in pak? in ek nazer they showed how rubab paid for her extramarital affair but after showing them so openly??? again wats the point. also will showing it more will resolve it or make ppl more immune to it? and new generations will do it more openly? but yes a country whose own president n his son does these things may b the tv thinks everybody must b doing the same.
as for smoking at least its not haram. it is injurious over a period of time but not against our religious values. i think talk shows r a better idea but then these will b sooo boring for many n might not bring tv the needed rating.
Well it is not haram in Pakistan, but other countries like Saudi Arabia it is Haram. There is fatwa from the Grand Mufti about it is Haram.
Anything that hurts the human body is against Islam, including smoking, but that is a whole other topic.
There was a big hawww-hawww when Geo began airing in North America and we got a taste of some of the dramas that were being shown. These are private channels and they aren't government regulated. PTV does not make dramas anymore .... or do they? If they don't, why don't they?
I haven't watched half of the dramas you mentioned .... but one thing I am pretty confident in saying is that majority of these dramas don't glorify these images just for the heck of it. There is usually a moral reason behind it.
The talks shows and morning shows (Nida, Shaista) are busy promoting themselves and aren't really interested in discussing social issues.
If the public wants discussion on this, then why aren't they doing shows? I know they do a few talk shows here and there, but they aren't that popular. Aamir Liaquat likes to talk about social issues, but then again, people prefer to hate him as they are incapable of separating the person from the message.
@ Ali Usman r u sure?? it wasn't haraam in KSA a few yrs back. ppl do it in public even ladies smoke there n which grand mufti gav this fatwa?
V r taking about Pakistan n it's drama so it doesn't matter whether it's haram or not outside Pakistan
@ Ali Usman r u sure?? it wasn't haraam in KSA a few yrs back. ppl do it in public even ladies smoke there n which grand mufti gav this fatwa?
It is not illegal in KSA but it is said Haraam by the last Grand Mutfi Sheikh Bin Baaz.
The question is: are these vulgar dramas that popular? if not then why make them more by talking about them? I’ve only seen people talking about Humsafar and Maat lately. If these vulgar drama producers have any sense, they will start copying Humsafar, because afterall, these talentless creeps are really just sheep! ![]()
In one scene in Kaafir, they show Humayun Saeed making cocaine lines and then snorting it. In another drama, quite a few lately, they show both female and males drunk.
Does this offend anybody?
'
it is quite offensive and i think it should offend everyone....if people are watching these dramas with their kids then the kids will think its okay to do all this, since its being show in dramas...
what these people need to understand is, that pakistan is an islamic republic and all this stuff in HARAM in islam...just because the elite or drama stars do it DOESNT make it okay!!
i hate the fact that they show all this nonsence in pakistan.
and more importantly i am surprized at a lot of you who are okay with all this being a norm in pakistan....just becaiuse the rich do it or bcause its shown on tv doesnt mean all of a sudden the act isnt haram anymore and it should be considered okay cause its the reality.
why not work together and try to get rid of such dirtiness from the country.
how dare you wonder why pakistan is the way it is now?....Allah ka azab hai...natural disasters, poverty, terrorists attacks....dont look too far to wonder about such things! =)
ashykh, I am not offended because H.S. is playing the role of a villain/coke head. Same with Fahad Mustafa and Sana Askari playing the role of alcoholics ....
No where do they glorify it and say, "this is cool".
Also, it's your job to teach your child - it is not the job of a television program to educate your kids. If you really want to expose your kids to Pakistani culture, a drama is not the best way to do it. You should get books, show them pictures and watch documentaries. Even a PTV drama from the 70s is not an accurate portrayal of Pakistani culture. In fact, the best way to expose your kids (if raised in the West) to Pakistani culture is to get a copy of that series that followed that British man who immersed himself into the culture and the cameras followed him all over Pakistan (I can't remember the name - it was really popular when it was being aired on GEO a few years ago).
This is the same debate that occurred after the Columbine shootings. So many parents blamed Marilyn Manson, heavy metal music and movies for what the two kids did when they went on a shooting spree.
As easy as it is to blame t.v., if someone watches a show and then goes out and becomes a druggie or starts sleeping around thinking it is normal, there are other psychological issues going on and it would be a mistake not to recognize that.
There's also a reason why these dramas come on at 8:00 p.m. / 9:00 p.m. (when your kids should be asleep). I don't watch any television with or in front of my son other than Treehouse or one of his children's movies. But that comes down to individual parenting ....
^Mehnaz media does effect the youth and it has over the period. ever since dramas hav become more liberal kids in pak hav changed a lot too. u'll openly see college kids dating in restaurants, smoking, using Sheesha etc .as for parenting, i'll repeat that since ur son is 3 he'll watch tree house but he won't at age 8 n onwards. he'll start exploring other places and its easy to say make them watch documentaries but in fact how many kids do watch educational series ? also don't most of us watch desi channels/pak tv etc just coz our moms watched it?
Mabrook, we are girls. How many boys do you know who watch desi t.v. just cause their moms did? Frankly, I am enrolling him in sports and extracurricular activities so that he is more focused on other activities other than t.v. I don't want him to be a couch potato. Again, I reiterate that I only watch t.v. (English or Desi) when he's in bed - on my laptop which he isn't allowed to touch.
Dramas becoming more liberal and people in Pakistan having more access to the internet came at the same time. I know SMS texting was available in Pakistan long before it was available in Canada. Everybody in Pakistan has a cell phone where they can chat. We only just caught up to that standard recently. People in Pakistan also watch more Indian movies than dramas. I am pretty sure of that. When I was there a few years ago, most people I met said they do not watch Pakistani channels as they prefer watching StarPlus (Indian dramas). Has that changed? Maybe.
They are being exposed to all sorts of things. Really, how responsible are dramas and how responsible are the parents of these people doing these acts? If they stopped producing these dramas, do you really think things will change?
There was also an article posted here on GS a while ago stating that Pakistan (and other Muslim countries) are on the top of the list when it comes to viewers of pornography.
Now what does that have to do with dramas? Or are there other issues going on that people are not addressing?
Also, if kids in pak are openly dating what role do you think bollywood films have in this? Why is there no campaign to stop importing, promoting and watching indian films? We all know what the dress code is in bolly films. Are these films not more destructive as they Promote immorality and glorify the bf/gff relationship? A lot of pakistani families watch indian films together and even go to the movies, as a family, to watch .... Why aren't tHese banned in pak?
Chalo I have a good excuse now that I am staying away from sin by staying away from dramas!
Btw, how does one gets role like shamoon in pakistani dramas? ![]()
i agree Mehnaz boys r mostly not that interested in dramas at least mine weren't but indian movies yes and i was very strict with that since most movies r crap. so u r lucky in that u won't hav any issues with dramas in future regarding ur son. as for outdoors seriously my kids r active or i push them to be n i don't let them sit in front of tv/comp that much . even in winter we keep on the go but then still there's always some downtime and tv does kick in at some point.
n yes ppl in pak watch indian soaps/movies more coz they find pak dramas boring n not portraying pak culture anyways. when i was in pak past summer few ladies i met at a summer camp told me how pak drams r not watched in their homes coz they live in joint family and they r not for family anymore. and one of the ladie's nand wanted to watch one show but since the younger kids were hovering around and she tried to make them go away her bhabi forbade her to watch it too as that will put a negative influence on kids and they'll b more curios as y they r not being allowed.
lot of times indian channels n movies hav been banned but they keep coming back(public influence). the funny thing is pak channels r not available in india n nobody can watch them on tv.
anyways i'm outta this discussion now.
I saw a new group on FB established this month about this very issue - remove vulgarity from Pakistani channels. I also read a BBC article earlier this week on the fact that Pakistani media is going through “growing pains” due to the fact that there are no guidelines or code established for news channels, reports, journalists, dramas, etc.
If you feel strongly about the vulgarity issue, then you should lend your support. I don’t agree with spamming all the actors/actresses Fan Pages which is what this user is doing … perhaps people here who are not happy with the current state of dramas should participate and encourage dialogue instead.
Here is the group:
Why Pakistan’s Media needs a Code of Conduct: