In-laws brining 'eid' before the wedding...?

Re: In-laws brining 'eid' before the wedding...?

my last eidi was an outfit with a small gold set....
this year i dont think my inlaws are getting me anything since my mil had gone to pakistan and gotten me a couple designer suits. =(

It really is such a lovely tradition. By far one of my favorites. Such a feeling of butterflies when they bring eid and such a sweet feeling when you wear the things :)

I got a ready made suit from my saas, she lived in a different country so she sent it through someone...
and my husband's aunts lived in our neighbourhood, so his aunts each also brought a little something as "first eidi" for me...i had only 1 eid during engagment.
one of the aunts brought a purse
and the other one an unstiched suit, and a small artificial jewlery set...

no gold shold (i wouldn't have wanted any either), the suits (the ready made one, and the unstiched one) weren't even all that much either(fabric was completely ghatya polyester type that would scratch your body, so i didnt even wear the suits), but i guess its the thought that counts...

didn't get any thing from kanjoos fiance (now kanjoos husband) at the time....

but yeah, they did do the rasm of eid le ke jaana, and did fulfill the tradition...

so my advice, don't just do it as rasm/tradition, if you are going to give eid to your future bahoo, give little, but atleast something that she can use/wear...a simple cotton suit would have been fine with me, as i love cotton...

p.s. have gotton nicer eidi (appropriate amount of money) from inlaws after getting married so far.

so true :slight_smile: and its not about what they bought, its the fact that they thought of you buying it…

I got quite a few things… oh and my sisters also got chuRhiyaN too :cb:

but thats not what I liked best… its the fact that a lot of the girls in my in laws family actually put so much effort into decorating it so well! complete with frills, laces, wrapping paper, satin linings and all… it was so nicely done! I didn’t want to open anything up just coz it looked so nice!

???

I can't wait to get mine.. this is the first time I'll be getting it Inshallah =) but my MIL-to-be is always sending me clothes according to the season.. lawn, linen, and chiffon's! It's the bangles I adore! This year I get eidi from my MIL, FIL and BIL is another case! He has the most generous heart and the worse taste on this planet!

Aww, that’s so sweet. Mashallah.

Re: In-laws brining ‘eid’ before the wedding…?

My sister got eidi. The elder one was married a month after her engagement and no eid fell in between but for the other one she had an eid and eidi too. I think it was bangles, an outfit, a perfume and roses. yep bhai sent her 2 dozen roses if i remember correctly. Awwww, the joys of being engaged :hula:

^ That's sweet. Are you married FF? :)

wow I’ve never heard of this before but it sounds so cute
so anyways nope my MIL hasn’t mentioned it… my in laws are quite slow with rasams :chai:
ok thats it i’m gonna go and ask my mom about it :smiley:

^ You must! haha... Some of the girls on here had some heart warming stories about their experiences -- others - not so much :p.

^I guess the fact that my in laws and I live in different countries makes it hard for them to give anything to me , but still I'd like to know why noone has ever mentioned this before
ps the stories I just read here are cute
and your pres do let us know what you get for eid :D

Will do :)

hey can some of u girls post pictures of the "packing" used for eidi? when u get it?

i would wanna do it for my future sis in law... and wanna see what is the traditional/fashionable way to do it...

if its possible, if not then its ok, i guess i can try packing it in a very nice gift box with nice gift wrap, ribbons and laces...

from my inlaws when it came it was not packed in any special way, was in a normal shopping bag.

I think it’s nicer if you ditch the regular wrapping paper/ ribbon and use
fabric, pearl strings (can be bought at any craft store), silk bands, flowers
and gift baskets.

My sister in law did that and it looks so warm and more personal.

Here’s a sneak peak at mine :slight_smile:

^ Thats beautiful twinklee..!
I agree. Use traditional colors and materials. That's more personal and "rasam-like"! :)

what happens on the girl's first eid!

^ After the wedding?

nope.